arestifo@northshire.com's blog

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Sleeping Giants (The Themis Files #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101886717
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Del Rey - January 24th, 2017

If you were to take character elements from Battlestar Galactica and conspiracy-theory-driven tension from the X-Files, you'd end up with something like Sleeping Giants. Gigantic humanesque body parts have been found underground around the world. Presuming that they were put there by aliens, the U.S. government enlists the help of a linguist, pilot, and physicist to assemble the parts and determine their purpose. Lots of tension between members of the top-secret team plus the thrill of testing The Thing will keep you turning the pages. A wonderful debut! ~ Reviewed by Aubrey Restifo


Death's End by Cixin Liu - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Death's End (Remembrance of Earth's Past #3) Cover Image
By Cixin Liu, Ken Liu (Translated by)
$27.99
ISBN: 9780765377104
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - September 20th, 2016

An exquisite finale to the best sci-fi trilogy of our time: Liu's exacting command of the technical nature of dimensionality delivers a compelling and unrelating argument for both the character of a multiverse and the smallness of humanity in the face of time and space. Fans of hard science fiction should bump the whole trilogy to the top of their TBR pile for 2017: in a year sure to be complicated by fraught politics and shifting conceptions of unifying ideals, Liu reminds us all of our relative (in)significance and our primary responsibility to protect the Earth. ~ Reviewed by Aubrey Restifo


The Warden's Daughter by Jerry Spinelli - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Warden's Daughter Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780375831997
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - January 3rd, 2017

A tender tween story about a girl who finds herself looking for a mom through forming friendships with inmates at her dad's prison. A bizarre yet convincing living arrangement (they live at the prison!) makes this coming-of-age story different and particularly heartfelt. Nice for readers of Judy Blume and Jerry Spinelli, and for those just beginning to explore themes of growing older and needing-yet-not-needing parents. Recommended for ages 8-11. ~ Reviewed by Aubrey Restifo


Not for Profit by Martha Nussbaum - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Not for Profit: Why Democracy Needs the Humanities - Updated Edition Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780691173320
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Princeton University Press - November 8th, 2016

A healthy democracy begins with our schools—all of them. Nussbaum illuminates the dependence of our system of governance on the philosophical and methodological underpinnings of liberal arts education in short, accessible, and powerful prose. Not to be missed, Not for Profit awakens and invigorates the citizen-activist in all of us. ~ Reviewed by Aubrey Restifo


Dear Couch, We're Through! by Jenn Benson - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Dear Couch, We're Through! Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780996484237
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Shirespress - August 19th, 2016

Giving up the couch in favor of arduous first-time jogs or frustrating morning drives to the regional gym can be daunting, unpleasant, and seemingly near-impossible. Dear Couch, We're Through! proves that Jenn Benson not only understands this and all the other reasons we tend to resist exercise, but also how our approach to "getting fit" itself impacts what we actually get out of it. With an accessible format, spot-on humor, and plenty of real stories (triumphant and non), beginners and old pros alike can lean on Benson for all the quick advice and long-term strategy you'd expect from a personal trainer. Add it to your gym bag and feel free to mark it up—this is the perfect place to start your year (or month, or week) of exercise! ~Reviewed by Aubrey Restifo


The Association of Small Bombs by Karan Mahajan - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Association of Small Bombs: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143109273
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - October 18th, 2016

An unflinching heart-stopper of a book, Mahajan's portrait of a "small bomb" blast begs us to reconsider notions of terrorism, victimhood, and scales of impact. As a market bombing transforms a community of victims, instigators, and bystanders into figures wrought with grief and paranoia, intelligent prose delivers shades of relief and disappointment to readers seeking simple answers. Hang on to every word: this is a brilliant novel. ~Reviewed by Aubrey Restifo


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - arestifo@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs