arestifo@northshire.com's blog

Share this

Aubrey Restifo - Bookseller in Manchester

Aubrey is a children's bookseller specializing in books for middle readers and young adults. Before coming to the Northshire Bookstore, she taught languages and literacy to elementary and middle school students as well as served as the Coordinator of the Center for Creative Teaching at Bennington College. In 2014, she received her M.A. from the University of Chicago where she studied linguistic anthropology and--of course--children's literature. She hails from Cleveland, OH, a place with an exceptional grilled cheese bar.

The Three Body Problem by Cixin Liu (trans. Ken Liu) - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Three-Body Problem Cover Image
By Cixin Liu, Ken Liu (Translator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780765382030
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Tor Books - January 12th, 2016

Earth's civilization suffers a massive existential crisis in the wake of making first contact with a faraway life form. As humanity endures the repercussions of one physicist's gutsy act, global chaos reworks geopolitics,invents a new telos of gaming, and reimagines the face of radical extremism. The first of a trilogy, The Three-Body Problem introduces one of the strongest hard scifi series of all time. Don't hesitate to begin! ~ Reviewed by Aubrey Restifo


Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Sleeping Giants Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101886717
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Del Rey Books - January 24th, 2017

If you were to take character elements from Battlestar Galactica and conspiracy-theory-driven tension from the X-Files, you'd end up with something like Sleeping Giants. Gigantic humanesque body parts have been found underground around the world. Presuming that they were put there by aliens, the U.S. government enlists the help of a linguist, pilot, and physicist to assemble the parts and determine their purpose. Lots of tension between members of the top-secret team plus the thrill of testing The Thing will keep you turning the pages. A wonderful debut! ~ Reviewed by Aubrey Restifo


Death's End by Cixin Liu - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Death's End Cover Image
By Cixin Liu, Ken Liu (Translator)
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765377104
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Tor Books - September 20th, 2016

An exquisite finale to the best sci-fi trilogy of our time: Liu's exacting command of the technical nature of dimensionality delivers a compelling and unrelating argument for both the character of a multiverse and the smallness of humanity in the face of time and space. Fans of hard science fiction should bump the whole trilogy to the top of their TBR pile for 2017: in a year sure to be complicated by fraught politics and shifting conceptions of unifying ideals, Liu reminds us all of our relative (in)significance and our primary responsibility to protect the Earth. ~ Reviewed by Aubrey Restifo


The Warden's Daughter by Jerry Spinelli - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Warden's Daughter Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780375831997
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - January 3rd, 2017

A tender tween story about a girl who finds herself looking for a mom through forming friendships with inmates at her dad's prison. A bizarre yet convincing living arrangement (they live at the prison!) makes this coming-of-age story different and particularly heartfelt. Nice for readers of Judy Blume and Jerry Spinelli, and for those just beginning to explore themes of growing older and needing-yet-not-needing parents. Recommended for ages 8-11. ~ Reviewed by Aubrey Restifo


Not for Profit by Martha Nussbaum - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Not for Profit: Why Democracy Needs the Humanities Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780691173320
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Princeton University Press - November 8th, 2016

A healthy democracy begins with our schools—all of them. Nussbaum illuminates the dependence of our system of governance on the philosophical and methodological underpinnings of liberal arts education in short, accessible, and powerful prose. Not to be missed, Not for Profit awakens and invigorates the citizen-activist in all of us. ~ Reviewed by Aubrey Restifo


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - arestifo@northshire.com's blog