amackson_40213's blog

Annabelle Mackson - Bookseller in Manchester

A lifelong Vermont resident, Annabelle is a full-time college student who moonlights as a bookseller. Starting at Northshire in the children’s department, she has since been trained on the adult floor and switches between the two on a regular basis.

She loves Gothic literary fiction, mythology, and anything by Edgar Allan Poe. She also loves children’s classics and will always have a soft spot for young adult and adult fantasy.

Passport by Sophia Glock - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Passport By Sophia Glock Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780316458986
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Little, Brown Ink - November 30th, 2021

An excellent debut. Sophia chronicles her mid-teenagehood as a U.S. expat living in Central America in the late 1990s. Her world is shaken when she discovers that her parents don't just have vague government jobs: they work undercover for the CIA. She buries this knowledge with schoolwork, forming and ending friendships, sneaking out to parties, and experimenting with boys. This is a beautiful tale of family and friendship, as well as an exploration into how different relationships make up the definition of home. I would highly recommend this book for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Vera Brosgol. ~ Reviewed by Annabelle Mackson


Borders by Thomas King - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Borders By Thomas King, Natasha Donovan (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Thomas King, Natasha Donovan (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9780316593069
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Little, Brown Ink - September 7th, 2021

A young boy and his mother are forced to remain between the Canadian and United States border when they refuse to state their citizenship as anything other than Blackfoot. His mother is steadfast in her fight for the border patrol to accept their indigenous tribe as proof of citizenship, and her son understands how important this moment is, though he grows tired of sleeping in their car each night. This was an excellent graphic novel and extremely important in today's reevaluations of the rights of indigenous and first nations people in Canada and the United States. ~ Reviewed by Annabelle Mackson


I'll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer by Michelle McNamara - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
I'll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer By Michelle McNamara, Gillian Flynn (Introduction by), Patton Oswalt (Afterword by) Cover Image
By Michelle McNamara, Gillian Flynn (Introduction by), Patton Oswalt (Afterword by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062319791
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper Perennial - February 26th, 2019

Absolutely captivating. As highlighted in the book by her editors, McNamara wrote I'll Be Gone in The Dark with all the precision and suspense of an immaculately plotted thriller—except every detail is fact, and every victim is real. McNamara died in 2016, never seeing the publication of her book, nor the apprehension of the murderer she dubbed the Golden State Killer. He was caught in April 2018, a mere three months after I'll Be Gone in the Dark was published, and nearly two years to the day after she died. This book is worth a read for McNamara's memory and legacy alone, but it is also an excellent study of human behavior and perseverance even when all hope seems lost. ~ Reviewed by Annabelle Mackson


Norma Jeane Baker of Troy by Anne Carson - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Norma Jeane Baker of Troy By Anne Carson Cover Image
$11.95
ISBN: 9780811229364
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: New Directions - February 25th, 2020

A beautiful enmeshment of the stories of Helen of Troy and Marilyn Monroe. Though short in length, the depth it provides about violence toward and the exploitation of women is unmatched. ~ Reviewed by Annabelle Mackson


If Not, Winter: Fragments of Sappho (Vintage Contemporaries) by Sappho - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
If Not, Winter: Fragments of Sappho (Vintage Contemporaries) By Sappho, Anne Carson (Translated by) Cover Image
By Sappho, Anne Carson (Translated by)
$19.00
ISBN: 9780375724510
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Vintage - August 12th, 2003

Gorgeous, gorgeous. Even in their fractured state, Sappho's poems are beautiful, compelling, and absolutely necessary. They are also incredibly accessible for poems written thousands of years ago. A must read for anyone who loves Classics and women loving women representation from the past. ~ Reviewed by Annabella Mackson


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - amackson_40213's blog