aturon@northshire.com's blog

Beetle & the Hollowbones by Aliza Layne - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Beetle & the Hollowbones Cover Image
By Aliza Layne, Aliza Layne (Illustrator), Kristen Acampora (Colorist), Natalie Riess (Colorist)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534441545
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - August 4th, 2020

Beetle is a young goblin-in-training. Blob Ghost is her best friend - a sticky floating entity that's physically bound to haunt the mall forever. But when a new threat looms, and plans to destroy the mall and all it holds within its walls, Beetle must find the true power within herself to save Blob Ghost, and fight for all she loves in this enchanting, funny debut graphic novel about friendship, family, love, and the power of good magic. A perfect read for Halloween! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


This Is Not a Ghost Story by Andrea Portes - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
This Is Not a Ghost Story Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062422446
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: HarperTeen - November 17th, 2020

In this chilling, psychological tale we meet Daffodil, a teenager who takes a summer job house sitting for a rich professor and his wife. Staying in the house all alone doesn't really bother her, until mysterious things begin to happen and the secrets regarding the house - and all the strange characters around her - start to unravel themselves. Filled with dark humor, wit, and a shocking tragedy, This Is Not A Ghost Story is an unputdownable book with a satisfying twist that you won't see coming until it's too late. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Don’t Turn Out the Lights: A Tribute to Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Jonathan Maberry - Book Review

In this terrifying tribute to Alvin Schwartz, featuring some of the most popular horror writers, I thoroughly enjoyed the creepiness of these tales, the terror that some - like the Tall Ones - created for me... and the genuine classic horror feels that makes a good scary story - scary! Sometimes you don’t need blood and gore.. sometimes all you need is a bump in the night, something scratching against the windows, a growl in the dark...⁣ ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Deadly Curious by Cindy Anstey - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Deadly Curious Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250252272
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Swoon Reads - June 23rd, 2020

Nothing is as it seems in Allenton Park. When a young man is murdered in the woods, his death hangs like a dark cloud over his family. Sophia, an aspiring detective, and sister to the victim, arrives to help piece together the unsolved mystery. With the help of Jeremy Fraser, a Bow Street Runner, can the two catch the murderer before they strike again? And again?
Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, this novel is a solid sleuth thriller with dark tones of murder and mystery, as well as a budding subplot of romance. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (A Hunger Games Novel) by Suzanne Collins - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (A Hunger Games Novel) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781338635171
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scholastic Press - May 19th, 2020

Here in this book, we see the rise of a young man who would eventually become President Snow in the Hunger Games trilogy.
A fresh perspective, I thoroughly enjoyed getting into Snow's head and seeing how he thinks, how he rationalizes, and how he views both the districts and the Capitol. Also, seeing the crossovers between this book and the Hunger Games trilogy was like finding that final missing puzzle piece that reveals the whole picture of Snow's dislike for Katniss, his disbelief in love, and his persistent desire for chaos control.
A must read for fans of the Hunger Games! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


My Jasper June by Laurel Snyder - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
My Jasper June Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062836625
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Walden Pond Press - September 3rd, 2019

A beautiful coming-of-age story about Leah and Jasper - two young girls who've both faced tragedy and loss at such an impressionable age. Drawn to each other through the desperate need for friendship, a powerful, unbreakable bond forms between the two that is full of understanding, love, and healing.
Jasper and June is a moving read with topics that tackle death, grief, loss, homelessness, family, and friendship. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - aturon@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs