aturon@northshire.com's blog

The Bright & the Pale by Jessica Rubinkowski - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Bright & the Pale Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062871503
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Quill Tree Books - March 2nd, 2021

Rubinkowski’s debut fantasy novel is a grade A, punch-in-the gut adventure. The Bright & the Pale follows Valeria, a young girl who ventures back to her cursed village in the mountains on an unimaginable quest that seems almost impossible to survive. What she will find will change the course of her future - and her past - forever. Unpredictable and unputdownable, this promising duology is perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore’s Graceling books. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


The Shadows: A Novel by Alex North - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Shadows: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250318039
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Celadon Books - July 7th, 2020

Cleverly crafted, The Shadows is a page-turning psychological thriller replete with hometown nostalgia, unspeakable murders, haunting memories, and an unraveling mystery with a shocking twist that’ll leave you speechless, relieved... and then heartbroken. A solid follow-up to North’s The Whisper Man, this novel is satisfying, creepy, and a new favorite of mine! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


The Ickabog by J K. Rowling - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Ickabog Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781338732870
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scholastic Inc. - November 10th, 2020

Surprisingly dark for a children’s folk tale (and in no way related to the Harry Potter series), “The Ickabog” is a terrifying cocktail of death, betrayal, cruelty, despair.. and also love, hope, bravery, and kindness. Its beautiful illustrations were drawn by children, and the moral of the story at the end of the book is a good one that we all, sometimes, need to be reminded of. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Elsewhere by Dean Koontz - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Elsewhere Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781542019859
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Thomas & Mercer - October 6th, 2020

What if you had the key to everything - a device with the ability to jump to hundreds of different timelines, by just clicking one button? In this exciting, heart pounding thriller, father-daughter duo Jeffy and Amity inadvertently end up jumping to a few dimensions, while being pursued by shadow agents who want nothing more than to get their terrifying hands on the device. Fast-paced action, masterful suspense - this book is Koontz at his very best. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


The Whisper Man: A Novel by Alex North - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Whisper Man: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250318008
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Celadon Books - June 9th, 2020

A man and his young son move to Featherbank for a fresh start. Twenty years before, a psychopath murdered five boys. He was captured soon after, and thrown in jail. The town, at first glance, appears safe - until another boy is abducted, and eerie similarities start to bubble to the surface as history seemingly appears to begin repeating itself. Creepy, disturbing, and terrifying, this novel is absolutely difficult to put down, and its nonstop suspense will leave you reeling at its conclusion. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Fire (Graceling Realm) by Kristin Cashore - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Fire (Graceling Realm) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780142415917
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Penguin Books - January 25th, 2011

Move over, Rapunzel, there's a new hair in town! Fire is a "monster" with hair that's capable of causing intense infatuation or murderous rage, and has the ability to infiltrate and control minds. With a war brewing on the horizon across the Dells, Fire ventures out past her home in the North to find adventure, friends, and most importantly - who she had always meant to be. Like Graceling, Cashore effortlessly weaves emotional bonds to the characters so that we deliberately feel every sting, every ache, every ounce of joy. A truly fantastic, worthwhile read! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - aturon@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs