aturon@northshire.com's blog

Chirp by Kate Messner - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Chirp Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547602810
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - February 4th, 2020

When Mia moves to VT, she's still mentally - and physically - recovering from a broken arm and a past she'd rather much forget. Bouncing between making new friends, convincing people to introduce crickets into their palates, and unraveling the mystery behind her grandmother's cricket farm sabotage, will Mia be able to overcome her fear, and muster enough courage to speak up?
A compelling story about friendship, family, and finding your voice, Chirp is full of heart, honesty and the courage to do what is right. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


96 Miles by J. L. Esplin - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
96 Miles Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250192301
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Starscape - February 11th, 2020

Two brothers embark on a perilous journey across 96 miles of desert toward their only hope: the Ranch - a safe place - after a worldwide blackout leaves them homeless, and stripped of the survival stockpile their father once had set aside for them. Can the two squabbling brothers overcome their differences and survive? Or will it be the very thing that tears them apart?

Perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen's Hatchet, 96 Miles is a story of survival, adventure and the resilient, sometimes unstable bonds we share with the ones we hold most dear to us. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Frankly in Love by David Yoon - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Frankly in Love Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984812209
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 10th, 2019

Frank Li - a Korean-American teenage boy - finds himself caught between his parents' traditional Korean expectations and following his heart. When he falls in love with a "white girl," Frank must navigate societal themes of race, acceptance, and complex family relationships as he figures out what love truly means, and why his parents behave the way they do.

Being a Korean-American myself, I unsurprisingly found much of these struggles relatable. Frankly In Love is a quick but worthy read. It's heartfelt, insightful, and offers a peek into actual expectations given by both society, and the traditional backgrounds of each represented race present in the novel. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Imaginary Friend by Stephen Chbosky - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Imaginary Friend Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781538731338
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Grand Central Publishing - October 1st, 2019

Christopher is... missing.
Christopher is... different.

After disappearing for six days, a little boy named Christopher reappears unharmed.. but not unchanged. So begins a terrifying spiral into an imaginary world, where monsters and creatures blur the line between reality and imagined. Will Christopher - with the weight of two worlds on his shoulders - be able to save them both, the people he loves, and live to remember it?

Reminiscent of a much darker version of Neil Gaiman's Coraline, Chbosky's horrifying novel devoured me from beginning to end. Its twists and turns left me questioning my own sanity as I delved deeper into the nightmares, which, if you read this terrific book - are just dreams gone sick. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Monstrous Affections: An Anthology of Beastly Tales by Kelly Link - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Monstrous Affections: An Anthology of Beastly Tales Cover Image
By Kelly Link (Editor), Gavin J. Grant (Editor)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781536206418
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Candlewick - August 13th, 2019

From lonely vampires to satanism and legendary creatures, the tales in Monstrous Affections are sure to satisfy every common (and uncommon) theme present in creepy stories. This anthology is bursting with engrossing darkness and humor that tips the scales of morality in this epic collection written by some of the most popular YA writers to date. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - aturon@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs