aturon@northshire.com's blog

Dark Waters by Katherine Arden - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Dark Waters Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593109151
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - August 10th, 2021

The stakes have never been higher in this third installment of the Small Spaces quartet by Katherine Arden. Dark Waters takes us to a seemingly inescapable deserted island that’s haunted by ghosts and monsters. Can Ollie, Coco, Brian, and their new friend Phil figure out a way out of the Smiling Man’s next terrifying game? Or will they find themselves and their parents trapped there forever? ⁣⁣ ⁣⁣
Chilling and tense, this next read is sure to get your skin crawling as the dark game continues... until next time. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

Do you want to read something that is light hearted, sweet, and charming? Then look no further! In this uplifting story, Linus Baker, a caseworker who lives by-the-book is assigned a particularly unusual case to investigate an isolated orphanage which houses “dangerous” children. It is looked after by a peculiar man named Arthur Parnassus. But things rarely go as outlined in his trusty guidebook, and what emerges is a beautiful story teaching us to accept and love ourselves, believe in hope, and fight for what is right. ⁣⁣⁣
⁣⁣⁣I absolutely loved this one! Highly recommend. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Clanlands: Whisky, Warfare, and a Scottish Adventure Like No Other by Sam Heughan - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Clanlands: Whisky, Warfare, and a Scottish Adventure Like No Other Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781529342000
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Quercus - November 3rd, 2020

“Clanlands” follows actors Sam Heughan and Graham McTavish as they explore Scotland’s culture, cuisine, warfare, and whisky fueled past. Perfect for fans of Outlander, the book is rich in details about castles, clans, wars, and even the infamous Lochness Monster. Filled also with amusing banter between both actors, I thoroughly enjoyed this nonfiction read and highly recommend it. Slàinte Mhath! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Thrive (The Overthrow #3) by Kenneth Oppel - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Thrive (The Overthrow #3) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984894809
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - May 4th, 2021

I absolutely enjoyed this epic, heart-pounding conclusion to the Overthrow series. The cryptogens arrive in full force, following the trail of the rebels determined to stop their invasion. Anaya, Petra and Seth are forced to choose which side they’ll fight for, ultimately testing their bonds and loyalties. The war and its aftermath will change all their futures forever, if they can find a way to survive and Thrive. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


These Silent Woods: A Novel by Kimi Cunningham Grant - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
These Silent Woods: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250793393
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Minotaur Books - October 26th, 2021

This emotionally charged novel follows the journey of a single father who raises his young daughter in the isolated woods of the Appalachian mountains. Visited only by an eccentric neighbor, and annually by an old friend, all is quiet and peaceful for years. But when an unexpected stranger ventures into their woods, and sets off a series of irreversible events, everything Cooper has done to ensure a safe life for him and his daughter is suddenly at stake, and may end up costing them everything. Warning: you will not want to put this one down, and you will need tissues! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - aturon@northshire.com's blog