aturon@northshire.com's blog

96 Miles by J. L. Esplin - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
96 Miles Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250192301
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Starscape - February 11th, 2020

Two brothers embark on a perilous journey across 96 miles of desert toward their only hope: the Ranch - a safe place - after a worldwide blackout leaves them homeless, and stripped of the survival stockpile their father once had set aside for them. Can the two squabbling brothers overcome their differences and survive? Or will it be the very thing that tears them apart?

Perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen's Hatchet, 96 Miles is a story of survival, adventure and the resilient, sometimes unstable bonds we share with the ones we hold most dear to us. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Frankly in Love by David Yoon - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Frankly in Love Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984812209
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 10th, 2019

Frank Li - a Korean-American teenage boy - finds himself caught between his parents' traditional Korean expectations and following his heart. When he falls in love with a "white girl," Frank must navigate societal themes of race, acceptance, and complex family relationships as he figures out what love truly means, and why his parents behave the way they do.

Being a Korean-American myself, I unsurprisingly found much of these struggles relatable. Frankly In Love is a quick but worthy read. It's heartfelt, insightful, and offers a peek into actual expectations given by both society, and the traditional backgrounds of each represented race present in the novel. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Imaginary Friend by Stephen Chbosky - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Imaginary Friend Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781538731338
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Grand Central Publishing - October 1st, 2019

Christopher is... missing.
Christopher is... different.

After disappearing for six days, a little boy named Christopher reappears unharmed.. but not unchanged. So begins a terrifying spiral into an imaginary world, where monsters and creatures blur the line between reality and imagined. Will Christopher - with the weight of two worlds on his shoulders - be able to save them both, the people he loves, and live to remember it?

Reminiscent of a much darker version of Neil Gaiman's Coraline, Chbosky's horrifying novel devoured me from beginning to end. Its twists and turns left me questioning my own sanity as I delved deeper into the nightmares, which, if you read this terrific book - are just dreams gone sick. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Monstrous Affections: An Anthology of Beastly Tales by Kelly Link - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Monstrous Affections: An Anthology of Beastly Tales Cover Image
By Kelly Link (Editor), Gavin J. Grant (Editor)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781536206418
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Candlewick - August 13th, 2019

From lonely vampires to satanism and legendary creatures, the tales in Monstrous Affections are sure to satisfy every common (and uncommon) theme present in creepy stories. This anthology is bursting with engrossing darkness and humor that tips the scales of morality in this epic collection written by some of the most popular YA writers to date. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Song for a Whale by Lynne Kelly - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Song for a Whale Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524770235
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - February 5th, 2019

Iris, a young tech genius who happens to be the only deaf girl in her school, often feels lonely and unheard. When she's not buried arm deep in repairing old radios, she's struggling to find connections with the people around her... until she learns of Blue 55, a whale whose obstacles are similar to hers. Soon, Iris becomes obsessed with finding Blue 55, and will stop at nothing to make sure he "hears" her, and she "hears" him.
Heartwarming and inspiring, Song for a Whale is a moving story that will show you how one simple act can lead to something much bigger than anything you could have ever imagined. A purely enjoyable read! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - aturon@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs