Nature Books | Northshire Bookstore

Nature Books

Staff Pick Badge
Dark, Salt, Clear: The Life of a Fishing Town Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635576153
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - December 1st, 2020

From an adventurous and discerning new voice reminiscent of Robert Macfarlane, a captivating portrait of a community eking out its living in a coastal landscape as stark and storied as it is beautiful.


Olive, Mabel & Me: Life and Adventures with Two Very Good Dogs Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781682686645
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Countryman Press - December 1st, 2020

The story of Olive and Mabel, Labrador retrievers who rose to internet fame as the subjects of Andrew Cotter's BBC sports parodies.


Yellowstone Wolves: Science and Discovery in the World's First National Park Cover Image
By Douglas W. Smith (Editor), Daniel R. Stahler (Editor), Daniel R. MacNulty (Editor), Jane Goodall (Foreword by)
$35.00
ISBN: 9780226728346
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: University of Chicago Press - December 7th, 2020

In 2020, it will have been twenty-five years since one of the greatest wildlife conservation and restoration achievements of the twentieth century took place: the reintroduction of wolves to the world’s first national park, Yellowstone.


Staff Pick Badge
Ghostways: Two Journeys in Unquiet Places Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781324015826
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - November 24th, 2020

A hauntingly beautiful diptych of works inspired by Robert Macfarlane’s travels with celebrated collaborators to two eerie corners of England.


Big Dog, Little Dog Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9780593183663
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Plume - October 27th, 2020

The perfect gift for dog lovers of all sizes: a new irresistibly cute photo book featuring tiny dogs and giant dogs side by side, from the bestselling photographer behind Underwater Dogs and Underwater Puppies.


Giants of the Monsoon Forest: Living and Working with Elephants Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780393358445
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - October 27th, 2020

“No one who loves elephants or how humans interact with wildlife should pass up Jacob Shell’s remarkable book.” —Dan Flores, author of Coyote America


The Natural Navigator, Tenth Anniversary Edition: The Rediscovered Art of Letting Nature Be Your Guide Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781615197149
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: The Experiment - November 24th, 2020

“A truly vital book for any outdoor adventurer.”—Cabin Life

Before GPS, before the compass, and even before cartography, humankind was navigating.


World Wild Vet: Encounters in the Animal Kingdom Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250314482
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - October 27th, 2020

From Dr. Evan Antin, America’s most popular veterinarian, comes a wild look at our natural world. Perfect for fans of Steve Irwin, James Herriot and Bear Grylls.

Star of Animal Planet’s Evan Goes Wild, Dr. Evan Antin takes readers beyond his viral Instagram posts right into the wild world with him.


An informative and eye-catching reference book for beginner and intermediate backyard bird enthusiasts
 
The Backyard Birdwatcher’s Bible is that rare type of book, one that is as packed with information as it is pleasing to look at.


AMNH Birds of North America Cover Image
By DK
$40.00
ISBN: 9780744020533
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: DK - November 10th, 2020

Ideal for the armchair bird enthusiast or dedicated bird watcher, this book includes stunning full-color photographs, revealing each species with unrivaled clarity.

A lavish introduction describes bird characteristics and behavior, while stunning full-color photographs reveal individual species for easy identification.


A Cat's Tale: A Journey Through Feline History Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250217721
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - November 10th, 2020

"Charming, funny, and informative . . . Even cat aficionados will learn something new—and have fun doing it."
Publishers Weekly

The first comprehensive history of felines—from the laps of pagan gods to present-day status as meme stars—as revealed by a very learned tabby with a knack for hunting down facts


An Elephant in My Kitchen: What the Herd Taught Me About Love, Courage and Survival (Elephant Whisperer #2) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250756503
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: A Thomas Dunne Book for St. Martin's Griffin - November 3rd, 2020

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

"Malby-Anthony offers a book of great inspiration and wide appeal to nature-loving readers." —Publishers Weekly

A heart-warming sequel to the international bestseller The Elephant Whisperer, by Lawrence Anthony's wife Françoise Malby-Anthony.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs