History Books - Latin America

More Latin American History
He Spoke of Love: Selected Poems from the Satsai (Murty Classical Library of India) By Biharilal, Rupert Snell (Translator) Cover Image
By Biharilal, Rupert Snell (Translator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9780674268746
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Harvard University Press - February 15th, 2022

Born to Be Hanged: The Epic Story of the Gentlemen Pirates Who Raided the South Seas, Rescued a Princess, and Stole a Fortune By Keith Thomson Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780316703611
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Little, Brown and Company - May 10th, 2022

Discover the “fascinating and outrageously readable” account of the roguish acts of the first pirates to raid the Pacific in a crusade that ended in a sensational trial back in England—perfect for readers of Nathaniel Philbrick and David McCullough (Douglas Preston, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Lost City of the Monkey God)

The year is 16


Bad Mexicans: Race, Empire, and Revolution in the Borderlands By Kelly Lytle Hernández Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781324004370
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 10th, 2022

“Rebel historian” Kelly Lytle Hernández reframes our understanding of U.S. history in this groundbreaking narrative of revolution in the borderlands.


Beef, Bible and Bullets: Brazil in the Age of Bolsonaro By Richard Lapper Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781526165459
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Manchester University Press - July 26th, 2022

Backed by Brazil's wealthy agri-business groups, a growing evangelical movement, and an emboldened military and police force, Jair Bolsonaro took office in 2019. Driven by the former army captain's brand of controversial, aggressive rhetoric, the divisive presidential campaign saw fake news and misinformation shared with Bolsonaro's tens of millions of social media followers.



Central America's Forgotten History: Revolution, Violence, and the Roots of Migration By Aviva Chomsky Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780807055410
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Beacon Press - May 10th, 2022

Restores the region’s fraught history of repression and resistance to popular consciousness and connects the United States’ interventions and influence to the influx of refugees seeking asylum today.


Our America, Nuestra América, Unsere Amerika: My Family in the Vertigo of Translation By Claudio Lomnitz Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781635422207
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Other Press - June 7th, 2022

NAMED A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS

A riveting study of the intersections between Jewish and Latin American culture, this immigrant family memoir recounts history with psychological insight and the immediacy of a thriller.

 


Unsettled Land: From Revolution to Republic, the Struggle for Texas By Sam W. Haynes Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781541645417
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Basic Books - May 3rd, 2022

A bold new history of the origins and aftermath of the Texas Revolution, revealing how Indians, Mexicans, and Americans battled for survival in one of the continent’s most diverse regions 
 
The Texas Revolution has long been cast as an epic episode in the origins of the American West.


The Inca: Lost Civilizations By Kevin Lane Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781789145465
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Reaktion Books - March 22nd, 2022

From their mythical origins to astonishing feats of engineering, an expertly informed reassessment of one of the great empires of the Americas: the Inca.
 
In their heyday, the Inca ruled over the largest land empire in the Americas, reaching the pinnacle of South American civilization.


Things Are Never So Bad That They Can't Get Worse: Inside the Collapse of Venezuela By William Neuman Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250266163
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: St. Martin's Press - March 15th, 2022

Richly reported...a thorough and important history." -Tim Padgett, The New York Times

A nuanced and deeply-reported account of the collapse of Venezuela, and what it could mean for the rest of the world.


The Beats in Mexico By David Stephen Calonne Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781978828728
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Rutgers University Press - April 15th, 2022

Mexico features prominently in the literature and personal legends of the Beat writers, from its depiction as an extension of the American frontier in Jack Kerouac’s On the Road to its role as a refuge for writers with criminal pasts like William S. Burroughs.


River of Darkness: Francisco Orellana and the Deadly First Voyage Through the Amazon By Buddy Levy Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781635769197
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Diversion Books - April 5th, 2022

The acclaimed author of Conquistador and Labyrinth of Ice charts one of history's greatest expeditions, a legendary 16th-century adventurer's death-defying navigation of the Amazon River.


The Murders of Moisés Ville: The Rise and Fall of the Jerusalem of South America By Javier Sinay, Robert Croll (Translator) Cover Image
By Javier Sinay, Robert Croll (Translator)
$28.00
ISBN: 9781632062987
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Restless Books - March 29th, 2022

Award-winning journalist Javier Sinay investigates a series of murders from the nineteenth century, unearthing the complex history and legacy of Mois's Ville, the "Jerusalem of South America," and his personal connection to a defining period of Jewish history in Argentina.When Argentine journalist Javier Sinay discovers an article from 1947 by his great-grandfather detailing twenty-two m