History Books

Staff Pick Badge
Vanderbilt: The Rise and Fall of an American Dynasty By Anderson Cooper, Katherine Howe Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062964625
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper Paperbacks - September 20th, 2022

Now in paperback, the #1 New York Times bestselling chronicle of the rise and fall of a legendary American dynasty, from CNN anchor and journalist Anderson Cooper and historian and novelist Katherine Howe.

One of the Washington Post's Notable Works of Nonfiction


Staff Pick Badge
The Cause: The American Revolution and its Discontents, 1773-1783 By Joseph J. Ellis, Ph.D. Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781324092346
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Liveright - September 27th, 2022

New York Times Book Review — Editors’ Choice • Chicago Tribune — "60 Best Reads for Right Now" • St. Louis Post-Dispatch — "50 Fall Books You Should Consider Reading"

Challenging conventional wisdom, The Cause offers a “necessary” (John S. Gardner, Guardian) account of the origins and clashing ideologies of America’s revolutionary era.


The Mosquito Bowl: A Game of Life and Death in World War II By Buzz Bissinger Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780062879929
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper - September 13th, 2022

“Buzz Bissinger’s Friday Night Lights is an American classic. With The Mosquito Bowl, he is back with a true story even more colorful and profound. This book too is destined to become a classic. I devoured it.” — John Grisham


Prisoners of the Castle: An Epic Story of Survival and Escape from Colditz, the Nazis' Fortress Prison By Ben Macintyre Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780593136331
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Crown - September 13th, 2022

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The “entertaining yet objective and often-moving account” (The Wall Street Journal) of one of history’s most notorious prisons—and the remarkable cast of POWs who tried relentlessly to escape their captors, from the author of The Spy and the Traitor


Children of Ash and Elm: A History of the Vikings By Neil Price Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781541601116
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Basic Books - September 13th, 2022

A “thrilling” (Wall Street Journal) history of the Vikings by a pre-eminent scholar

The Viking Age saw an unprecedented expansion of the Scandinavian peoples into the world. As traders and raiders, explorers and colonists, they ranged from eastern North America to the Asian steppe.


Conquering the Pacific: An Unknown Mariner and the Final Great Voyage of the Age of Discovery By Andrés Reséndez Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063269064
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Mariner Books - September 27th, 2022

The story of an uncovered voyage as colorful and momentous as any on record for the Age of Discovery—and of the Black mariner whose stunning accomplishment has been until now lost to history
 
It began with a secret mission, no expenses spared.


The Light of Days: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos By Judy Batalion Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062874221
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - August 2nd, 2022

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

Also on the USA Today, Washington Post, Boston Globe, Globe and Mail, Publishers Weekly, and Indie bestseller lists.


The Color of Time: Women In History: 1850-1960 By Dan Jones, Marina Amaral Cover Image
$39.95
ISBN: 9781639362851
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Pegasus Books - September 20th, 2022

Bestselling historian Dan Jones and the brilliant artist Marina Amaral have combined their talents to create a illuminating visual history of women around the world.

Dan Jones and Marina Amaral, the acclaimed team behind The Color of Time, combine their talents again to explore the many roles—domestic, social, cultural and professional—played by w


The Fifth Act: America's End in Afghanistan By Elliot Ackerman Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593492048
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Press - August 9th, 2022

“The American betrayal of Afghanistan took twenty years. Elliot Ackerman, a participant and witness, tells the story with unsparing honesty in this intensely personal chronicle.” —George Packer

A powerful and revelatory eyewitness account of the American collapse in Afghanistan, its desperate endgame, and the war’s echoing legacy


Covered with Night: A Story of Murder and Indigenous Justice in Early America By Nicole Eustace Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781324092162
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Liveright - July 26th, 2022

WINNER • 2022 PULITZER PRIZE IN HISTORY
Finalist • National Book Award for Nonfiction
Best Books of the Year • TIME, Smithsonian, Boston Globe, Kirkus Reviews


The Happiest Man on Earth: The Beautiful Life of an Auschwitz Survivor By Eddie Jaku Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063097698
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper Paperbacks - August 23rd, 2022

A New York Times Bestseller

In this uplifting memoir in the vein of The Last Lecture and Man’s Search for Meaning, a Holocaust survivor pays tribute to those who were lost by telling his story, sharing his wisdom, and living his best possible life.


Hitler’s Girl: The British Aristocracy and the Third Reich on the Eve of WWII By Lauren Young Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9780062936738
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper - August 23rd, 2022

A timely, riveting book that presents for the first time an alternative history of 1930s Britain, revealing how prominent fascist sympathizers nearly succeeded in overturning British democracy—using the past as a road map to navigate the complexities of today’s turn toward authoritarianism.