History Books

Vanderbilt: The Rise and Fall of an American Dynasty Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780062964618
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Harper - September 21st, 2021

New York Times bestselling author and journalist Anderson Cooper teams with New York Times bestselling historian and novelist Katherine Howe to chronicle the rise and fall of a legendary American dynasty—his mother’s family, the Vanderbilts.


Travels with George: In Search of Washington and His Legacy Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780525562177
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Viking - September 14th, 2021

Travels With George…is quintessential Philbrick — a lively, courageous, and masterful achievement.”Boston Globe
 


Staff Pick Badge
The Cause: The American Revolution and its Discontents, 1773-1783 Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781631498985
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Liveright - September 21st, 2021

A culminating work on the American Founding by one of its leading historians, The Cause rethinks the American Revolution as we have known it.


Staff Pick Badge
The Real Valkyrie: The Hidden History of Viking Warrior Women Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250200846
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: St. Martin's Press - August 31st, 2021

In the tradition of Stacy Schiff’s Cleopatra, Brown lays to rest the hoary myth that Viking society was ruled by men and celebrates the dramatic lives of female Viking warriors


The American Experiment: Dialogues on a Dream Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9781982165734
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Simon & Schuster - September 7th, 2021

The capstone book in a trilogy from the New York Times bestselling author of How to Lead and The American Story and host of Bloomberg TV’s The David Rubenstein Show—American icons and historians on the ever-evolving American experiment, featuring Ken Burns, Madeleine Albright, Wynton Marsalis, Billie Jean King, Henry Louis Gates Jr., and man


Countdown bin Laden: The Untold Story of the 247-Day Hunt to Bring the Mastermind of 9/11 to Justice (Chris Wallace’s Countdown Series) Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781982176525
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - September 7th, 2021

#1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Following Chris Wallace’s “riveting” (The New York Times) and “propulsive” (Time) first book Countdown 1945 comes a deeply reported, revelatory, and thrillingly told account of the final months of the hunt for Osama bin Laden.

On August 27, 2010, three CIA officers ask for a private meetin


Staff Pick Badge
The King of Confidence: A Tale of Utopian Dreamers, Frontier Schemers, True Believers, False Prophets, and the Murder of an American Monarch Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316463607
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 21st, 2021

The "unputdownable" (Dave Eggers, National Book award finalist) story of the most infamous American con man you've never heard of: James Strang, self-proclaimed divine king of earth, heaven, and an island in Lake Michigan, "perfect for fans of The Devil in the White City" (Kirkus)

New York Times Book Review Editors’ Cho


Staff Pick Badge
Reaganland: America's Right Turn 1976-1980 Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781476793061
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Simon & Schuster - August 17th, 2021

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2020

From the bestselling author of Nixonland and The Invisible Bridge comes the dramatic conclusion of how conservatism took control of American political power.

Over two decades, Rick Perlstein has published three definitive works about the emerging dominance of conservatism in modern American politics.


If Then: How Simulmatics Corporation Invented the Future Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781324091127
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Liveright - September 14th, 2021

From the best-selling author of These Truths, an “exhilarating” (New York Times Book Review) account of the Cold War origins of our data-mad era.


The Afghanistan Papers: A Secret History of the War Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781982159009
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Simon & Schuster - August 31st, 2021

The groundbreaking investigative story of how three successive presidents and their military commanders deceived the public year after year about America’s longest war, foreshadowing the Taliban’s recapture of Afghanistan, by Washington Post reporter and three-time Pulitzer Prize finalist Craig Whitlock.

Unlike the wars in Vietnam and Iraq, the US invasion of Afgha


Hero of Two Worlds: The Marquis de Lafayette in the Age of Revolution Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781541730335
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: PublicAffairs - August 24th, 2021

From the bestselling author of The Storm Before the Storm and host of the Revolutions podcast comes the thrilling story of the Marquis de Lafayette’s lifelong quest to defend the principles of liberty and equality

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A #1 ABA INDEPENDENT BOOKSTORE BESTSELLER
 
Few in history can match the revolu


Fallout: The Hiroshima Cover-up and the Reporter Who Revealed It to the World Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982128531
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Simon & Schuster - August 10th, 2021

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2020

New York Times bestselling author Lesley M.M. Blume reveals how one courageous American reporter uncovered one of the deadliest cover-ups of the 20th century—the true effects of the atom bomb—potentially saving millions of lives.