Graphic Novels - Nonfiction - New Releases Page 3

More Non-Fiction Graphic Novels
Smahtguy: The Life and Times of Barney Frank Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250191588
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Metropolitan Books - May 3rd, 2022

Eric Orner, the acclaimed cartoonist of one of the country’s most popular and longest-running gay comic strips, The Mostly Unfabulous Social Life of Ethan Green, presents his debut graphic novel—a dazzling, irreverent biography of the iconic and iconoclastic Barney Frank, one of the first gay and out congressmen and a front-line defender of civil rights.


Verissimus: The Stoic Philosophy of Marcus Aurelius Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9781250270955
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - June 14th, 2022

In the tradition of Logicomix, Donald J. Robertson's Verissimus is a riveting graphic novel on the life and stoic philosophy of Marcus Aurelius.


Gender Queer: A Memoir Deluxe Edition Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781637150726
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Oni Press - June 21st, 2022

2020 ALA Alex Award Winner
2020 Stonewall — Israel Fishman Non-fiction Award Honor Book


In 2014, Maia Kobabe, who uses e/em/eir pronouns, thought that a comic of reading statistics would be the last autobiographical comic e would ever write. At the time, it was the only thing e felt comfortable with strangers knowing about em. Then e created Gender Queer.


The Men Who Created Gundam Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9781634429740
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Denpa Books - June 7th, 2022

In 1978 animation director Yoshiyuki Tomino set forth to change the Japanese animation industry. For decades prior, Japanese science fiction had churned out numerous tales of semi-autonomous robots that would often come to the aide of humanity, but as someone who worked on a number of those works, Tomino came to the realization that he wanted to see a more realistic robot narrative.


Those Who Helped Us: Assisting Japanese Americans During the War Cover Image
By Kiku Hughes (Illustrator), Ken Mochizuki
$19.95
ISBN: 9781634050210
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Chin Music - June 28th, 2022

Basketball-loving Sumiko Tanaka, then 11, narrates this graphic novel about the World War II incarceration of Japanese Americans. Through her eyes, we watch as her family is forced from their home and subjected to indiscriminate racism as they are shipped off to the concentration camp called Minidoka in Idaho.


The Comic Book Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Shows You How to Make Comics Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984858436
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Watson-Guptill - July 5th, 2022

An aspiring young creator learns the fundamentals of visual storytelling from three comic book mentors in this charming illustrated tale—a graphic novel that teaches you how to turn your stories into comics!


Yellow Cab Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781684058921
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: IDW Publishing - May 17th, 2022

A burnt out filmmaker finds new inspiration behind the wheel of an iconic New York City taxi cab, exploring a world where he is the stranger and the city his new workplace.


Wake: The Hidden History of Women-Led Slave Revolts Cover Image
By Rebecca Hall, Hugo Martínez (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781982115197
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 21st, 2022

A Best Book of 2021 by NPR and The Washington Post

Part graphic novel, part memoir, Wake is an imaginative tour-de-force that tells the “powerful” (The New York Times Book Review) story of women-led slave revolts and chronicles scholar Rebecca Hall’s efforts to uncover the truth about these women warriors who, until now, have been left out o


The Pass Cover Image
By Espé, J. T. Mahany (Translator)
$21.95
ISBN: 9781637790236
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Graphic Mundi - June 21st, 2022

The only way out is through.

Camille and Bastien are overjoyed at the birth of their second child. But their happiness is short-lived. Soon after Louis is born, he is diagnosed with severe heart defects. Because of his young age, he must wait for surgery--and the operation itself could prove fatal.


Joseph Smith and the Mormons Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781419749650
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Abrams ComicArts - July 26th, 2022

Decades in the making and already generating advance praise, an original graphic novel biography about the life of Joseph Smith, founder of the Church of Latter-Day Saints

In Joseph Smith and the Mormons, author and illustrator Noah Van Sciver, who was raised a Mormon, covers one of history’s most controversial figures, Joseph Smith—who founded a religion which is pract


The End: Revised and Expanded Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781683965633
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Fantagraphics - July 12th, 2022

Assembled from work done in Anders Nilsen’s sketchbooks over the course of the year following the death of his fiancée, Cheryl Weaver, in 2005, The End is a collection of short strips about loss, paralysis, waiting, and transformation — a physical manifestation of grief.


Wired Up Wrong Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781785788376
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Icon Books - May 17th, 2022

A new graphic memoir, from the award-winning author of Quarantine Comix.

Hoping to better understand her own brain, award-winning comic-creator Rachael Smith set about documenting her experiences and struggles with anxiety and depression through comic strips.