Fiction Books - War & Military

New Releases
 
More War & Military Fiction Books
Staff Pick Logo
Varina Cover Image
$22.39
ISBN: 9780062405982
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ecco Press - April 3rd, 2018

Sooner or later, history asks, which side were you on?

In his powerful new novel, Charles Frazier returns to the time and place of Cold Mountain, vividly bringing to life the chaos and devastation of the Civil War


 Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501171406
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Gallery Books - March 27th, 2018

For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family--by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again--tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumu


The Husband Hour Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316394901
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little Brown and Company - April 24th, 2018

When a young widow's reclusive life in a charming beach town is interrupted by a surprise visitor, she is forced to reckon with dark secrets about her family, her late husband, and the past she tried to leave behind.


Staff Pick Logo
A Long Way from Home Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525520177
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - February 27th, 2018

The two-time Booker Prize-winning author now gives us a wildly exuberant, wily new novel that circumnavigates 1954 Australia, revealing as much about the country/continent as it does about three audacious individuals who take part in the infamous 10,000-mile race, the Redex Trial.


Munich Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780525520269
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - January 16th, 2018

From the internationally best-selling author of Fatherland and the Cicero Trilogy--a new spy thriller about treason and conscience, loyalty and betrayal, set against the backdrop of the fateful Munich Conference of September 1938.


The Women in the Castle Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062563675
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: William Morrow & Company - January 2nd, 2018

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - FEATURING AN EXCLUSIVE NEW CHAPTER

GoodReads Choice Awards Semifinalist

"Moving . . . a plot that surprises and devastates."--New York Times Book Review

"A masterful epic."--People magazine


Staff Pick Logo
Frankenstein in Baghdad Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143128793
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Penguin Books - January 23rd, 2018

*Man Booker International Prize finalist*

"Brave and ingenious." --The New York Times

"Gripping, darkly humorous . . . profound." --Phil Klay, bestselling author and National Book Award winner for Redeployment


Sadness Is a White Bird Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501176265
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Atria Books - February 13th, 2018

"Nuanced, sharp, and beautifully written, Sadness Is a White Bird manages, with seeming effortlessness, to find something fresh and surprising and poignant in the classic coming-of-age, love-triangle narrative, something starker, more heartbreaking: something new." --Michael Chabon


Fools and Mortals Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062250872
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harper - January 9th, 2018

New York Times bestselling author Bernard Cornwell makes a dramatic departure with this enthralling, action-packed standalone novel that tells the story of the first production of A Midsummer Night's Dream--as related by William Shakespeare's estranged younger brother.

Lord, what fools these mortals be . . .


American War Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101973134
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Vintage - January 30th, 2018

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK

ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The Washington Post - San Francisco Chronicle - NPR - GQ - Esquire - The Guardian - The Austin Chronicle - PopSugar - Paste Magazine


All for Nothing Cover Image
By Walter Kempowski, Anthea Bell (Translator), Jenny Erpenbeck (Introduction by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781681372051
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: New York Review of Books - February 13th, 2018

A wealthy family tries--and fails--to seal themselves off from the chaos of post-World War II life surrounding them in this stunning novel by one of Germany's most important post-war writers.


The Dark Clouds Shining (Jack McColl Novel #4) Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781616956066
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Soho Crime - April 10th, 2018

In the fourth and final installment of David Downing's spy series, Jack McColl is sent to Soviet Russia, where the civil war is coming to an end. The Bolsheviks have won but the country is in ruins. With the hopes engendered by the revolution hanging by a thread, plots and betrayals abound.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs