Fiction Books - Urban

More Urban Books
Angel & Hannah: A Novel in Verse Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593134320
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: One World - May 11th, 2021

The sweeping, unforgettable story of an interracial couple in 1990s New York City who are determined to protect their love against all odds—a reimagining of Romeo and Juliet

“Triumphant . . . sensuous, tender, and faceted like cut glass.”—Cathy Park Hong, award-winning author of Minor Feelings


Thug Matrimony Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781496732903
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Dafina Books - June 29th, 2021

Who They Was Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781635577662
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - June 29th, 2021

Longlisted for the Booker Prize
Named a Most Anticipated Book of Summer 2021 by Entertainment Weekly, Time, and CrimeReads

An astonishing, visceral autobiographical novel about a young man straddling two cultures: the university where he is studying English Literature and the disregarded world of London gang warfare.


At the Edge of the Haight Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781643750231
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Algonquin Books - January 19th, 2021

The 10th Winner of the 2019 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction, Awarded by Barbara Kingsolver

“What a read this is, right from its startling opening scene. But even more than plot, it’s the richly layered details that drive home a lightning bolt of empathy.


Open Water Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802157942
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Grove Press, Black Cat - April 13th, 2021

"Open Water is tender poetry, a love song to Black art and thought, an exploration of intimacy and vulnerability between two young artists learning to be soft with each other in a world that hardens against Black people."--Yaa Gyasi, author of HOMEGOING


Life After Death: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982139131
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Atria/Emily Bestler Books - March 2nd, 2021

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller
Instant USA TODAY Bestseller

The long-anticipated sequel to Sister Souljah’s million copy New York Times bestseller The Coldest Winter Ever.

Winter Santiaga hit time served.


Staff Pick Badge
Hot Stew Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781643751559
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Algonquin Books - April 20th, 2021

FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE BOOKER PRIZE FINALIST ELMET

Named One of the Most-Anticipated Books of 2021 by: The Millions, BuzzFeed, The Stylist, The Guardian, and more

“With masterful prose, through over a half-dozen point-of-view characters, [Mozley] tells a story about money and power, love and art, sex work


These Women: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062656391
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Ecco - April 13th, 2021

SHORTLISTED FOR THE EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL

AN LA TIMES BOOK PRIZE, MYSTERY & THRILLER FINALIST * AN INTERNATIONAL THRILLER WRITERS FINALIST, BEST HARDCOVER NOVEL * A MACAVITY BEST MYSTERY NOVEL FINALIST

A Recommended Book From


Obliteration: An Awakened Novel Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062869005
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Harper Voyager - March 30th, 2021

“Scary amazing fun.”—Brad Meltzer


UTube: Inspector Mislan and the Emancipatist Conspiracy Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781950691425
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Arcade Crimewise - July 6th, 2021

For fans of Jo Nesbo, Ian Rankin, and Michael Connelly, the third Inspector Mislan thriller takes the inspector to a netherworld of vicious crimes against women.
 
In this new thriller, Mislan and Detective Sergeant Johan are called to the scene of an ongoing investigation by D11, the Sexual & Child Abuse Investigation Division, that involves a series of rapes of successful


Eladatl: A History of the East Los Angeles Dirigible Air Transport Lines Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780872867703
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: City Lights Books - April 6th, 2021

A breathtaking free fall into the long-buried (and fictional) history of a utopian era in American lighter-than-air travel, as told by its death-defying, aero-acrobatic heroes.


We Are Watching Eliza Bright Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781538717639
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 13th, 2021

In this thrilling story of survival and anger, a woman has her whole life turned upside down after speaking out against workplace hostility–and inadvertently becomes the leader of a cultural movement.

Eliza Bright is living the dream as an elite video game coder at Fancy Dog Games, the first woman to ascend that high in the ranks—and some people want to make sure she&