Fiction Books - Short Stories (single Author) - Page 3

More Short Stories (single Author) Books
Where the Light Falls: Selected Stories of Nancy Hale Cover Image
By Nancy Hale, Lauren Groff (Editor)
$26.00
ISBN: 9781598536423
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Library of America - September 24th, 2019

Lauren Groff invites a new generation of readers to rediscover the haunting stories of a neglected mid-century master


Driving in Cars with Homeless Men: Stories (Pitt Drue Heinz Lit Prize) Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9780822945680
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: University of Pittsburgh Press - October 1st, 2019

"Unflinching in its portrayal of the violence visited upon her protagonists, Ms.


She Was Like That: New and Selected Stories Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781476799421
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scribner - October 1st, 2019

From Kate Walbert, the highly acclaimed, National Book Award nominee, comes a dazzling, career-spanning collection of new and selected stories.

In these twelve deft, acutely funny and often heartbreaking stories, Kate Walbert delves into the hearts and minds of women. Her characters are searchers, uneasy in one way or another. They yearn for connection.


salt slow Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250224774
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Flatiron Books - October 8th, 2019

A Most Anticipated Book (Time, Esquire, Buzzfeed, Refinery29)

From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link.


False Bingo: Stories Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374538354
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - October 8th, 2019

"Combines the otherworldliness of Jeff VanderMeer’s “Annihilation,” the menacing irony of Shirley Jackson and the cold feminist fury of Margaret Atwood" --The New York Times Book Review

Named a Fall Read by The Boston Globe and the Chicago Tribune


The Lottery and Other Stories (FSG Classics) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250239365
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Picador Modern Classics - September 24th, 2019

One of the most terrifying stories of the twentieth century, Shirley Jackson’s “The Lottery” created a sensation when it was first published in The New Yorker in 1948. "Power and haunting," and "nights of unrest" were typical reader responses.


Hard Ride Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250161291
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Forge Books - September 24th, 2019

Bandits, outlaws, romance, and adventure abound in Hard Ride, a collection of tales of the American West from renowned, seven-time Spur Award-winning author Elmer Kelton


Last of Her Name Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781885030610
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Kaya Press - October 22nd, 2019

Mimi Lok's Last of Her Name is an eye-opening story collection about the intimate, interconnected lives of diasporic women and the histories they are born into.


Maggie Brown & Others: Stories Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316516112
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little, Brown and Company - July 2nd, 2019

In this powerful and virtuosic collection of interlocking stories, each one "a marvel of concision and compassion" (Washington Post), Peter Orner, a National Book Critics Circle Award finalist and "master of his form" (New York Times), takes the short story to new heights.


Metropolitan Stories: A Novel Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9781590510582
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Other Press - October 8th, 2019

“Only someone who deeply loves and understands the Metropolitan Museum could deliver such madcap, funny, magical, tender, intimate fables and stories.” —Maira Kalman, artist and bestselling author of The Principles of Uncertainty


Here Until August: Stories Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781948226073
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Catapult - October 8th, 2019

"Here Until August tracks the shimmer of precarious moments and transient moods with devastating precision. In their steady excavation of intimacy, these spacious stories bring Alice Munro to mind. I underlined sentence after sentence as I read: for their beauty, their clarity, and their wisdom.


Once Removed: Stories (Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction #94) Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780820355696
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of Georgia Press - September 15th, 2019

The women in the linked short story collection Once Removed carry the burdens imposed in the name of intimacy--the secrets kept, the lies told, the disputes initiated--as well as the joy that can still manage to triumph.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs