Fiction Books - Magical Realism

New Releases
 
More Magical Realism Books
Flights Cover Image
By Olga Tokarczuk, Jennifer Croft (Translated by)
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525534198
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Riverhead Books - August 14th, 2018

WINNER OF THE MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL PRIZE
AS FEATURED IN THE NEW YORK TIMES

A visionary work of fiction by "A writer on the level of W. G. Sebald" (Annie Proulx)

"A magnificent writer." --Svetlana Alexievich, Nobel Prize-winning author of Secondhand Time


The Melody: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385543712
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Nan A. Talese - June 19th, 2018

From the Booker Prize-shortlisted author of Harvest, Quarantine, and Being Dead, a tender new novel about music, celebrity, local intrigue, and lost love--all set by the Mediterranean Sea


The Stolen Bicycle Cover Image
By Ming-Yi Wu, Darryl Sterk (Translator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781925498554
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Text Publishing Company - April 18th, 2018

Longlisted for the 2018 Man Booker International Prize. A writer embarks on an epic quest in search of his missing father's stolen bicycle and soon finds himself ensnared in the strangely intertwined stories of Lin Wang, the oldest elephant who ever lived, the soldiers who fought in the jungles of South-East Asia during World War II, and the secret world of butterfly handicraft makers in Taiwan.


Staff Pick Logo
Men Without Women: Stories (Vintage International) Cover Image
By Haruki Murakami, Philip Gabriel (Translated by), Ted Goossen (Translated by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101974520
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Vintage - May 1st, 2018

Coming this October: Killing Commendatore, the much-anticipated new novel from Haruki Murakami


A Secret History of Witches Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316508582
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Redhook - May 1st, 2018

Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters, and the power of witchcraft - perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman.
Brittany, 1821. After Grand-m re Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her.


What Should Be Wild: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062684134
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harper - May 8th, 2018

“Delightful and darkly magical. Julia Fine has written a beautiful modern myth, a coming-of-age story for a girl with a worrisome power over life and death. I loved it.”  —Audrey Niffenegger, author of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Her Fearful Symmetry


The Emissary Cover Image
By Yoko Tawada, Margaret Mitsutani (Translator)
$14.95
ISBN: 9780811227629
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - April 24th, 2018

Japan, after suffering from a massive irreparable disaster, cuts itself off from the world. Children are so weak they can barely stand or walk: the only people with any get-go are the elderly. Mumei lives with his grandfather Yoshiro, who worries about him constantly.


What Blooms from Dust Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780785217411
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Thomas Nelson - June 26th, 2018

"The closer he got, the brighter that red became. It was a rose--a rose that had no earthly business growing there, right in the middle of all that dust."


Veiled Memory Cover Image
$15.49
ISBN: 9781626948990
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Black Opal Books - April 21st, 2018

Thirty-eight year old Dr. Madeline Alleyn is a successful professor of Celtic History in upstate New York, but she is haunted by her past and the decision she made years ago to abandon her husband after learning of his strange heritage. When she discovers that she's pregnant with triplets, she makes the decision to run to protect her children and, inexplicably, her husband also.


The Hawkman: A Fairy Tale of the Great War Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781944995676
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Amberjack Publishing - June 5th, 2018

What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735211032
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Riverhead Books - April 3rd, 2018

A PBS NewsHour/New York Times Book Club Pick

A NATIONAL BOOK FOUNDATION "5 UNDER 35" HONOREE

WINNER OF THE 2017 KIRKUS PRIZE

WINNER OF THE NYPL'S YOUNG LIONS FICTION AWARD

FINALIST FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE LEONARD PRIZE

SHORTLISTED FOR THE ASPEN WORDS LITERARY PRIZE


Staff Pick Logo
The Seas Cover Image
By Samantha Hunt, Maggie Nelson (Introduction by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781941040959
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Tin House Books - July 10th, 2018

Moored in a coastal fishing town so far north that the highways only run south, the unnamed narrator of The Seas is a misfit. She's often the subject of cruel local gossip. Her father, a sailor, walked into the ocean eleven years earlier and never returned, leaving his wife and daughter to keep a forlorn vigil.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-9pm Fri-Sat 10am-10pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs