Fiction Books - Literary - 2019 Bestsellers - Page 8

Staff Pick Badge
Lilac Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101883082
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ballantine Books - February 28th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.


Staff Pick Badge
Metropolitan Stories: A Novel Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9781590510582
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Other Press - October 8th, 2019

“Only someone who deeply loves and understands the Metropolitan Museum could deliver such madcap, funny, magical, tender, intimate fables and stories.” —Maira Kalman, artist and bestselling author of The Principles of Uncertainty


Staff Pick Badge
The Keepers of the House Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781400030743
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Vintage - November 11th, 2003

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize in 1965, The Keepers of the House is Shirley Ann Grau’s masterwork, a many-layered indictment of racism and rage that is as terrifying as it is wise.


Transcription: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316176668
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Back Bay Books - April 23rd, 2019

A dramatic story of WWII espionage, betrayal, and loyalty, by the #1 bestselling author of Life After Life


Staff Pick Badge
The Topeka School: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374277789
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - October 1st, 2019

A NEW YORK TIMES, TIME, GQ, Vulture, and WASHINGTON POST TOP 10 BOOK of the YEAR


Staff Pick Badge
Barkskins: A Novel Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780743288798
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scribner - April 11th, 2017

Finalist for the Kirkus Prize for Best Novel
A New York Times Notable Book
A Washington Post Best Book of the Year


From the Pulitzer Prize-­­winning author of The Shipping News and “Brokeback Mountain,” comes the New York Times bestselling epic about the demise of the world’s forests: “Barkskins is grand en


Staff Pick Badge
Of Mice and Men Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9780140177398
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Penguin Books - September 1st, 1993

A controversial tale of friendship and tragedy during the Great Depression
 
They are an unlikely pair: George is "small and quick and dark of face"; Lennie, a man of tremendous size, has the mind of a young child. Yet they have formed a "family," clinging together in the face of loneliness and alienation.


A Man Called Ove: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781476738024
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Washington Square Press - May 5th, 2015

Read the New York Times bestseller that has taken the world by storm!

In this “charming debut” (People) from one of Sweden’s most successful authors, a grumpy yet loveable man finds his solitary world turned on its head when a boisterous young family moves in next door.

Meet Ove.


Staff Pick Badge
My Brilliant Friend: Neapolitan Novels, Book One Cover Image
By Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein (Translated by)
$17.00
ISBN: 9781609450786
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Europa Editions - September 25th, 2012

Soon to be an HBO series, book one in the New York Times bestselling Neapolitan quartet about two friends growing up in post-war Italy is a rich, intense, and generous-hearted family epic by Italy’s most beloved and acclaimed writer, Elena Ferrante, “one of the great novelists of our time.” (Roxana Robinson, The New York Times)
 


Staff Pick Badge
Where'd You Go, Bernadette: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316204262
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Back Bay Books - April 2nd, 2013

A misanthropic matriarch leaves her eccentric family in crisis when she mysteriously disappears in this "whip-smart and divinely funny" novel that inspired the movie starring Cate Blanchett (New York Times).


Fleishman Is in Trouble: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525510871
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Random House - June 18th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NATIONAL BOOK AWARD LONGLIST • “A feminist jeremiad nested inside a brilliant comic novel—a book that makes you laugh so hard you don’t notice till later that your eyebrows have been singed off.”—Ron Charles, The Washington Post


Staff Pick Badge
1984 Cover Image
By George Orwell, Erich Fromm (Afterword by)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780451524935
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Signet -

Written more than 70 years ago, 1984 was George Orwell’s chilling prophecy about the future. And while 1984 has come and gone, his dystopian vision of a government that will do anything to control the narrative is timelier than ever...

• Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read •


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs