Fiction Books - Historical - Bestsellers Page 2

The German Girl Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501121234
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Washington Square Press - August 8th, 2017

A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this "powerful and affecting" (Kirkus Reviews) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, All the Light We Cannot See, and Schindler's List.


Schindler's List Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780671880316
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Touchstone Books - December 1st, 1993

The acclaimed bestselling classic of Holocaust literature, winner of the Booker Prize and the Los Angeles Times Book Award for Fiction, and the inspiration for the classic film--"a masterful account of the growth of the human soul" (Los Angeles Times Book Review).


Staff Pick Logo
Rules of Civility Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143121169
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Penguin Books - June 26th, 2012

From the New York Times-bestselling author of A Gentleman in Moscow, a "sharply stylish" (Boston Globe) novel of a young woman in post-Depression era New York who suddenly finds herself thrust into high society.


The Thorn Birds Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780380018178
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Avon Books - May 27th, 2003

"Beautiful....Compelling entertainment."
--New York Times

"A heart-rending epic...truly marvelous."
--Chicago Tribune


Written in My Own Heart's Blood Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781101884249
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Dell - May 31st, 2016

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKLIST


The Chilbury Ladies' Choir Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101906774
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Broadway Books - September 5th, 2017

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"A delightful debut."--People

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.


Staff Pick Logo
The Snow Child Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780316175661
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Reagan Arthur Books - November 6th, 2012

Alaska, 1920: a brutal place to homestead, and especially tough for recent arrivals Jack and Mabel. Childless, they are drifting apart--he breaking under the weight of the work of the farm; she crumbling from loneliness and despair. In a moment of levity during the season's first snowfall, they build a child out of snow.


Staff Pick Logo
We Were the Lucky Ones Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399563089
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - February 14th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Inspired by the incredible true story of one Jewish family separated at the start of World War II, determined to survive--and to reunite--We Were the Lucky Ones is a tribute to the triumph of hope and love against all odds

"Love in the face of global adversity? It couldn't be more timely." --Glamour


An Echo in the Bone Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780440245681
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Dell - May 24th, 2011

Diana Gabaldon's brilliant storytelling has captivated millions of readers in her bestselling and award-winning Outlander saga. In An Echo in the Bone, the seventh volume, Gabaldon continues the extraordinary story of the eighteenth-century Scotsman Jamie Fraser and his twentieth-century time-traveling wife, Claire Randall.


A Fall of Marigolds Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780451419910
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - February 4th, 2014

A beautiful scarf connects two women touched by tragedy in this compelling, emotional novel from the author of A Bridge Across the Ocean.


The Fiery Cross Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780440221661
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Dell - August 30th, 2005

The dazzling fifth volume of Diana Gabaldon's extraordinary Outlander saga, featuring 18th-century Scotsman James Fraser and his 20th-century time-traveling wife, Claire Randall.

The year is 1771, and war is coming. Jamie Fraser's wife tells him so. Little as he wishes to, he must believe it, for hers is a gift of dreadful prophecy--a time-traveler's certain knowledge.


Staff Pick Logo
The Orphan's Tale Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780778319818
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Mira Books - February 21st, 2017

A New York Times bestseller
"Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " --Library Journal

"Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion.... I read this novel in a headlong rush." --Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs