Fiction Books - Historical - Bestsellers

Staff Pick Logo
Rules of Civility Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143121169
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Penguin Books - June 26th, 2012

From the New York Times-bestselling author of A Gentleman in Moscow, a "sharply stylish" (Boston Globe) novel of a young woman in post-Depression era New York who suddenly finds herself thrust into high society.


Staff Pick Logo
All the Light We Cannot See Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501173219
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Scribner Book Company - April 4th, 2017

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, a New York Times Book Review Top Ten Book, National Book Award finalist, more than two and a half years on the New York Times bestseller list


Staff Pick Logo
Lilac Girls Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101883082
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Ballantine Books - February 28th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah's Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.


Staff Pick Logo
The Nightingale Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250080400
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - April 25th, 2017

A #1 New York Times bestseller, Wall Street Journal Best Book of the Year, and soon to be a major motion picture, this unforgettable novel of love and strength in the face of war has enthralled a generation.


Staff Pick Logo
The Lake House Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781451649352
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Washington Square Press - June 7th, 2016

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Secret Keeper comes a "moody, suspenseful page-turner" (People, Best Book Pick) filled with mystery and spellbinding secrets.

Living on her family's idyllic lakeside estate in Cornwall, England, Alice Edevane is a bright, inquisitive, and precociously talented sixteen-year-old who loves to write stories.


Staff Pick Logo
Life After Life Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780316176491
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Back Bay Books - January 7th, 2014

"One of the best novels I've read this century. Kate Atkinson is a marvel. There aren't enough breathless adjectives to describe LIFE AFTER LIFE: Dazzling, witty, moving, joyful, mournful, profound."--Gillian Flynn, author of Gone Girl What if you could live again and again, until you got it right?


Staff Pick Logo
Caleb's Crossing Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143121077
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Penguin Books - April 24th, 2012

A bestselling tale of passion and belief, magic and adventure from the author of The Secret Chord and of March, winner of the Pulitzer Prize.


Everyone Brave Is Forgiven Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501124389
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 7th, 2017

The instant New York Times bestseller from Chris Cleave--the unforgettable novel about three lives entangled during World War II, told "with dazzling prose, sharp English wit, and compassion...a powerful portrait of war's effects on those who fight and those left behind" (People, Book of the Week).


Staff Pick Logo
The Marriage of Opposites Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781451693607
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 7th, 2016

"A luminous, Marquez-esque tale" (O, The Oprah Magazine) from the New York Times bestselling author of The Museum of Extraordinary Things a forbidden love story set on a tropical island about the extraordinary woman who gave birth to painter Camille Pissarro--the Father of Impressionism.


Staff Pick Logo
The Snow Child Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780316175661
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Reagan Arthur Books - November 6th, 2012

Alaska, 1920: a brutal place to homestead, and especially tough for recent arrivals Jack and Mabel. Childless, they are drifting apart--he breaking under the weight of the work of the farm; she crumbling from loneliness and despair. In a moment of levity during the season's first snowfall, they build a child out of snow.


Staff Pick Logo
Gone with the Wind Cover Image
By Margaret Mitchell, Pat Conroy (Preface by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781451635621
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Scribner Book Company - May 3rd, 2011

Since its original publication in 1936, Gone With the Wind--winner of the Pulitzer Prize and one of the bestselling novels of all time--has been heralded by readers everywhere as The Great American Novel.


Staff Pick Logo
A Gentleman in Moscow Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9780670026197
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Viking - September 6th, 2016

"The book is like a salve. I think the world feels disordered right now. The count's refinement and genteel nature are exactly what we're longing for." - Ann Patchett

"How delightful that in an era as crude as ours this finely composed novel stretches out with old-World elegance." --The Washington Post

He can't leave his hotel. You won't want to.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs