Fiction Books - Gothic - Bestsellers

More Gothic Books
Plain Bad Heroines: A Novel Cover Image
By Emily M. Danforth, Sara Lautman (Illustrator)
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062942852
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: William Morrow - October 20th, 2020

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

“A delectable brew of gothic horror and Hollywood satire . . . [and] what makes all this so much fun is Danforth’s deliciously ghoulish voice . . . exquisite." —Ron Charles, THE WASHINGTON POST


The Whispering House Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781951142360
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Tin House Books - March 16th, 2021

"Eerie and addictive. . . . Like Wuthering Heights, The Whispering House is a melancholy novel, its characters filled with dark longings." — The New York Times Book Review

From the acclaimed author of The Orphan of Salt Winds


The Wife Upstairs: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250245496
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: St. Martin's Press - January 5th, 2021

Instant New York Times and USA Today Bestseller

“Compulsively readable...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic.” ––EW


Staff Pick Badge
Imaginary Friend Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538731352
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Grand Central Publishing - October 6th, 2020

Instant New York Times Bestseller
One of Fall 2019's Best Books (People, EW, Lithub, Vox, Washington Post, and more)
A young boy is haunted by a voice in his head in this acclaimed epic of literary horror from the author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.


Staff Pick Badge
Things in Jars: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982121297
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Washington Square Press - September 29th, 2020

In this “miraculous and thrilling” (Diane Setterfield, #1 New York Times bestselling author) mystery for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation, Victorian London comes to life as an intrepid female sleuth wades through a murky world of collectors and criminals to recover a remarkable child.

Bridie Devine—flame-haired, pipe-smoking


Frankenstein Cover Image
By Mary Shelley, Harold Bloom (Afterword by), Douglas Clegg (Introduction by)
$5.95
ISBN: 9780451532244
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Signet - October 1st, 2013

More than 200 years after it was first published, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein has stood the test of time as a gothic masterpiece—a classic work of horror that blurs the line between man and monster.

“If I cannot inspire love, I will cause fear.”


Staff Pick Badge
Her Body and Other Parties: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977887
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Graywolf Press - October 3rd, 2017

Finalist for the National Book Award for Fiction

“[These stories] vibrate with originality, queerness, sensuality and the strange.”—Roxane Gay

“In these formally brilliant and emotionally charged tales, Machado gives literal shape to women’s memories and hunger and desire. I couldn’t put it down.”—Karen Russell


Staff Pick Badge
Jane Eyre Cover Image
By Charlotte Bronte, Stevie Davies (Editor), Stevie Davies (Introduction by), Stevie Davies (Notes by)
$9.00
ISBN: 9780141441146
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Classics - August 15th, 2006

Charlotte Brontë's moving masterpiece – the novel that has been "teaching true strength of character for generations" (The Guardian). Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read


Staff Pick Badge
We Have Always Lived in the Castle: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) Cover Image
By Shirley Jackson, Jonathan Lethem (Afterword by), Thomas Ott (Illustrator)
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143039976
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Classics - October 31st, 2006

Shirley Jackson's beloved gothic tale of a peculiar girl named Merricat and her family's dark secret


The Hellbound Heart: A Novel Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780061452888
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Harper Perennial - October 2nd, 2007

Frank Cotton's insatiable appetite for the dark pleasures of pain led him to the puzzle of Lemarchand's box, and from there, to a death only a sick-minded soul could invent. But his brother's love-crazed wife, Julia, has discovered a way to bring Frank back—though the price will be bloody and terrible . . . and there will certainly be hell to pay.


Staff Pick Badge
The Haunting of Hill House Cover Image
By Shirley Jackson, Laura Miller (Introduction by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143039983
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Classics - November 28th, 2006

The greatest haunted house story ever written, the inspiration for a 10-part Netflix series directed by Mike Flanagan and starring Michiel Huisman, Carla Gugino, and Timothy Hutton


Staff Pick Badge
Once Upon a River: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780743298087
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Atria/Emily Bestler Books - July 2nd, 2019

From the instant #1 New York Times bestselling author of the “eerie and fascinating” (USA TODAY) The Thirteenth Tale comes a “swift and entrancing, profound and beautiful” (Madeline Miller, internationally bestselling author of Circe) novel about how we explain the world to ourselves, ourselves to others, and the meaning of our lives in a univ