Fiction Books - Alternative History - Bestsellers - Page 3 | Northshire Bookstore

Fiction Books - Alternative History - Bestsellers - Page 3

Bestsellers
 
More Alternative History Books
The 2084 Report: A Novel of the Great Warming Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982151188
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Atria Books - July 20th, 2021

For fans of The Drowned World and World War Z, this “sobering and scary (and fascinating) novel—a look at where we’re going if we don’t quickly get our act together” (Bill McKibben, New York Times bestselling author) regarding climate change—unveils our potential terrifying future.

2084


Things From the Flood Cover Image
$39.99
ISBN: 9781982150716
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Skybound Books - July 7th, 2020

The basis for the new Amazon Prime Original Series!

From the author of the imaginative and “awe-inspiring” (New York Journal of Books) narrative art book The Electric State comes the haunting sequel to his remarkable Tales from the Loop.

Welcome back to the Loop.

In 1954, the Swedish government ordered the construction of the


Machines Like Me: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525567035
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Anchor - March 3rd, 2020

From Ian McEwan, Booker Prize winner and international bestselling author of Atonement and The Children Act 

"Moving. . . . Masterly . . . provocative." —The New York Times Book Review

"A feat of literary sorcery." —O, The Oprah Magazine


The Theory of Flight Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781946395412
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Catalyst Press - January 12th, 2021

This transcendent and powerful testament to the indomitable human spirit is not to be missed. -- Publishers Weekly, starred review


Everfair: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780765338068
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Tor Books - September 26th, 2017

From noted short story writer Nisi Shawl comes a brilliant alternate-history novel set in the Belgian Congo.

What if the African natives developed steam power ahead of their colonial oppressors? What might have come of Belgium's disastrous colonization of the Congo if the native populations had learned about steam technology a bit earlier?


Black Powder War (Temeraire #3) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780345481306
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Del Rey - May 30th, 2006

In the third novel of the New York Times bestselling Temeraire series, Captain Will Laurence and his dragon transport precious cargo while fending off enemies on all sides.

“A splendid series.”—Anne McCaffrey


Staff Pick Badge
The Plot Against America (Vintage International) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781400079490
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Vintage - September 27th, 2005

Philip Roth's bestselling alternate history novel--the chilling story of what happens to one family when America elects a charismatic, isolationist president--is soon to be an HBO limited series.


Victory of Eagles (Temeraire #5) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780345512253
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Del Rey - May 19th, 2009

From the New York Times bestselling author of A Deadly Education comes the fifth volume of the Temeraire series, as Will Laurence and Temeraire struggle to reunite and face the Napoleonic army on London's doorstep.

“A story about friendship that transcends not only time and class, but species.”—NPR


Wild Life Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781534414990
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - February 5th, 2019

In 1905, a cigar-smoking, feminist writer of popular adventure novels for women encounters Bigfoot in Molly Gloss’s best loved novel—­­“never has there been a more authentic, persuasive, or moving evocation of this elusive legend: a masterpiece” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).

Set among lava sinkholes and logging camps at the fringe of the N


1637: Dr. Gribbleflotz and the Soul of Stoner (Ring of Fire #33) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781982125608
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Baen - September 28th, 2021

A 17th-century alchemist confronts modern science with unintended and amusing results. Another sparkling addition to the multiple New York Times best-selling Ring of Fire alternate history series created by Eric Flint.

SCIENCE AND MEDICINE VS.


The Dragon Waiting Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250269010
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Tor Books - September 29th, 2020

“The best mingling of history with historical magic that I have ever seen.”—Gene Wolfe

In a snowbound inn high in the Alps, four people meet who will alter fate.

A noble Byzantine mercenary . . .

A female Florentine physician . . .

An ageless Welsh wizard . . .

And Sforza, the uncanny duke.


Radio Free Albemuth Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780358449034
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper Voyager - October 13th, 2020

A philosophical science fiction novel from Hugo Award–winning author Philip K.