Fiction Books - Alternative History - Bestsellers

Bestsellers
 
More Alternative History Books
Staff Pick Badge
The Electric State Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781501181412
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Skybound Books - September 25th, 2018

NPR Best Books of 2018

A teen girl and her robot embark on a cross-country mission in this illustrated science fiction story, perfect for fans of Ready Player One and Black Mirror.


The Man in the High Castle Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780547572482
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Mariner Books - January 24th, 2012

Now an Amazon Original series
 
Winner of the Hugo Award

“The single most resonant and carefully imagined book of Dick’s career.” —New York Times
 
It’s America in 1962. Slavery is legal once again. The few Jews who still survive hide under assumed names.


Animal Farm and 1984 Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780151010264
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - June 1st, 2003

This edition features George Orwell's best known novels – 1984 and Animal Farm – with an introduction by Christopher Hitchens.

In 1984, London is a grim city where Big Brother is always watching you and the Thought Police can practically read your mind.  Winston Smith joins a secret revolutionary organization called The Brotherhood, dedica


Staff Pick Badge
11/22/63: A Novel Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781451627299
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Gallery Books - July 24th, 2012

One of the Ten Best Books of The New York Times Book Review
Winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize
Now a miniseries from Hulu starring James Franco


ON NOVEMBER 22, 1963, THREE SHOTS RANG OUT IN DALLAS, PRESIDENT KENNEDY DIED, AND THE WORLD CHANGED.


The Calculating Stars: A Lady Astronaut Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780765378385
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - July 3rd, 2018

Mary Robinette Kowal's science fiction debut, 2019 Winner of the Hugo and Nebula Award for best novel, The Calculating Stars, explores the premise behind her award-winning "Lady Astronaut of Mars."

Winner 2018 Nebula Award for Best Novel
Winner 2019 Locus Award for Best Novel
Winner 2019 Hugo Award for Best Novel


A Secret History of Witches: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316508582
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Redhook - May 1st, 2018

A sweeping historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters -- witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift.

Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mère Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her.


Staff Pick Badge
Tell Them of Battles, Kings, and Elephants Cover Image
By Mathias Énard, Charlotte Mandell (Translated by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9780811228947
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: New Directions - October 29th, 2019

Michelangelo’s adventure in Constantinople, from the “mesmerizing” (New Yorker) and “masterful” (Washington Post) author of Compass


The Secret Wife of Aaron Burr Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781496719188
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Kensington - September 24th, 2019

Inspired by a woman and events forgotten by history, bestselling author Susan Holloway Scott weaves together carefully researched fact and fiction to tell the story of Mary Emmons, and the place she held in the life—and the heart—of the notorious Aaron Burr.
 


Machines Like Me: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385545112
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Nan A. Talese - April 23rd, 2019

New from Ian McEwan, Booker Prize winner and international bestselling author of Atonement and The Children Act


The Violent Century Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616963163
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Tachyon Publications - July 23rd, 2019

"A torrid tour de force." --James Ellroy
"Like Watchmen on crack."--io9
"If John le Carre wrote a superhero novel about the Cold War, it might be this good." --Charles Stross


The Fated Sky: A Lady Astronaut Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780765398949
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Tor Books - August 21st, 2018

Mary Robinette Kowal continues the grand sweep of alternate history begun in The Calculating Stars, The Fated Sky looks forward to 1961, when mankind is well-established on the moon and looking forward to its next step: journeying to, and eventually colonizing, Mars.

The Verge—Best SFF Books for August 2018


The Trial (Dover Thrift Editions) Cover Image
By Franz Kafka, David Wyllie (Translator)
$5.00
ISBN: 9780486470610
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dover Publications - July 1st, 2009

"Someone must have been telling lies about Josef K., he knew he had done nothing wrong but, one morning, he was arrested." From its gripping first sentence onward, this novel exemplifies the term ""Kafkaesque." Its darkly humorous narrative recounts a bank clerk's entrapment -- based on an undisclosed charge -- in a maze of nonsensical rules and bureaucratic roadblocks.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs