Fiction Books - Alternative History - Bestsellers

Bestsellers
 
More Alternative History Books
The Secret Wife of Aaron Burr Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781496719188
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Kensington - September 24th, 2019

Inspired by a woman and events forgotten by history, bestselling author Susan Holloway Scott weaves together carefully researched fact and fiction to tell the story of Mary Emmons, and the place she held in the life—and the heart—of the notorious Aaron Burr.
 


Soldiers of Salamis Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781984899897
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - January 14th, 2020

A novel of the Spanish Civil War—a modern classic, an international bestseller, and a searing exploration of the unknowability of history. 


Staff Pick Badge
Tell Them of Battles, Kings, and Elephants Cover Image
By Mathias Énard, Charlotte Mandell (Translated by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9780811228947
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: New Directions - October 29th, 2019

Michelangelo’s adventure in Constantinople, from the “mesmerizing” (New Yorker) and “masterful” (Washington Post) author of Compass


The Sky-Blue Wolves (A Novel of the Change #15) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780451490704
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ace - September 24th, 2019

S. M. Stirling presents the stunning and epic conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Change series, now in paperback. Many years ago, when advanced technology failed and humanity found itself in a turbulent, postapocalyptic world, extraordinary men and women birthed a new society from the ashes.


Staff Pick Badge
The Electric State Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781501181412
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Skybound Books - September 25th, 2018

NPR Best Books of 2018

A teen girl and her robot embark on a cross-country mission in this illustrated science fiction story, perfect for fans of Ready Player One and Black Mirror.


Staff Pick Badge
11/22/63: A Novel Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781451627299
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Gallery Books - July 24th, 2012

One of the Ten Best Books of The New York Times Book Review
Winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize
Now a miniseries from Hulu starring James Franco


ON NOVEMBER 22, 1963, THREE SHOTS RANG OUT IN DALLAS, PRESIDENT KENNEDY DIED, AND THE WORLD CHANGED.


A Secret History of Witches: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316508582
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Redhook - May 1st, 2018

A sweeping historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters -- witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift.

Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mère Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her.


The Calculating Stars: A Lady Astronaut Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780765378385
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - July 3rd, 2018

Mary Robinette Kowal's science fiction debut, 2019 Winner of the Hugo and Nebula Award for best novel, The Calculating Stars, explores the premise behind her award-winning "Lady Astronaut of Mars."

Winner 2018 Nebula Award for Best Novel
Winner 2019 Locus Award for Best Novel
Winner 2019 Hugo Award for Best Novel


The Man in the High Castle Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780547572482
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Mariner Books - January 24th, 2012

The basis for the Amazon Original series
 
It’s America in 1962. Slavery is legal once again. The few Jews who still survive hide under assumed names. In San Francisco, the I Ching is as common as the Yellow Pages.


American Hippo: River of Teeth, Taste of Marrow, and New Stories Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250176431
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor.com - May 22nd, 2018

In 2017 Sarah Gailey made her debut with River of Teeth and Taste of Marrow, two action-packed novellas that introduced readers to an alternate America in which hippos rule the colossal swamp that was once the Mississippi River. Now readers have the chance to own both novellas in American Hippo, a single, beautiful volume.


The Fated Sky: A Lady Astronaut Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780765398949
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - August 21st, 2018

Mary Robinette Kowal continues the grand sweep of alternate history begun in The Calculating Stars, The Fated Sky looks forward to 1961, when mankind is well-established on the moon and looking forward to its next step: journeying to, and eventually colonizing, Mars.

The Verge—Best SFF Books for August 2018


Faces in the Crowd Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566893541
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Coffee House Press - May 13th, 2014

Electric Literature 25 Best Novels of 2014
Largehearted Boy Favorite Novels of 2014

"An extraordinary new literary talent."--The Daily Telegraph


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 12pm-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990

Directions to Saratoga Springs