Fiction Books - Alternative History - Bestsellers

Bestsellers
 
More Alternative History Books
A Secret History of Witches Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316508582
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Redhook - May 1st, 2018

Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters, and the power of witchcraft - perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman.

Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mère Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her.


The Man in the High Castle Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780547572482
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Mariner Books - January 24th, 2012

“The single most resonant and carefully imagined book of Dick’s career.” —New York Times
 
It’s America in 1962. Slavery is legal once again. The few Jews who still survive hide under assumed names. In San Francisco, the I Ching is as common as the Yellow Pages.


Staff Pick Logo
11/22/63: A Novel Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781451627299
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Gallery Books - July 24th, 2012

Winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Best Mystery/Thriller—now a limited series on Hulu starring James Franco!

WINNER OF THE 2012 LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE

In Stephen King’s “most ambitious and accomplished” (NPR) and “extraordinary” (USA TODAY) #1 New York Times bestselling novel, time travel has never been so believable


American Hippo: River of Teeth, Taste of Marrow, and New Stories Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250176431
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Tor.com - May 22nd, 2018

In 2017 Sarah Gailey made her debut with River of Teeth and Taste of Marrow, two action-packed novellas that introduced readers to an alternate America in which hippos rule the colossal swamp that was once the Mississippi River. Now readers have the chance to own both novellas in American Hippo, a single, beautiful volume.


Faces in the Crowd Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781566893541
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Coffee House Press - May 13th, 2014

Electric Literature 25 Best Novels of 2014
Largehearted Boy Favorite Novels of 2014

"An extraordinary new literary talent."--The Daily Telegraph


Once There Was a Way: What If the Beatles Stayed Together? (Breakpoint #2) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781682303214
Availability: Special Order
Published: Diversion Books - December 5th, 2017

The next novel from author Bryce Zabel, whose debut, Surrounded by Enemies: What if Kennedy Survived Dallas? won the coveted Sidewise Award for Alternate History.


Witchy Winter Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781481483148
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Baen - April 3rd, 2018

SEQUEL TO WITCHY EYE. Next in series, which debuted with the stunningly reviewed Witchy Eye. Butler delivers another brilliant Americana flintlock fantasy novel.

TOIL AND TROUBLE

Sarah Calhoun paid a hard price for her entry onto the stage of the Empire’s politics, but she survived.


Pym: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812981766
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Spiegel & Grau - September 4th, 2012

“THE SHARPEST AND MOST UNUSUAL STORY I READ LAST YEAR . . . [Mat] Johnson’s satirical vision roves as freely as Kurt Vonnegut’s and is colored with the same sort of passionate humanitarianism.”—Maud Newton, New York Times Magazine


The Trial (Dover Thrift Editions) Cover Image
By Franz Kafka, David Wyllie (Translator)
$5.00
ISBN: 9780486470610
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dover Publications - July 1st, 2009

"Someone must have been telling lies about Josef K., he knew he had done nothing wrong but, one morning, he was arrested." From its gripping first sentence onward, this novel exemplifies the term ""Kafkaesque." Its darkly humorous narrative recounts a bank clerk's entrapment -- based on an undisclosed charge -- in a maze of nonsensical rules and bureaucratic roadblocks.


Ss-GB Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780008166151
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: HarperCollins - January 23rd, 2018

A special edition of Deighton's classic thriller, the first and certainly greatest 'what-if?' novel about the Second World War, to tie in with the new major BBC series starring Sam Riley and adapted by the writers of Skyfall and Spectre.

In February 1941 British Command surrendered to the Nazis. Churchill has been executed, the King is in the Tower and the SS are in Whitehall...


Black Chamber (A Novel of an Alternate World War #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399586231
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ace - July 3rd, 2018

The first novel in a brand-new alternate history series where Teddy Roosevelt is president for a second time right before WWI breaks out, and on his side is the Black Chamber, a secret spy network watching America's back.


Animal Farm and 1984 Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780151010264
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - June 1st, 2003

This edition features George Orwell's best known novels – 1984 and Animal Farm – with an introduction by Christopher Hitchens.

In 1984, London is a grim city where Big Brother is always watching you and the Thought Police can practically read your mind.  Winston Smith joins a secret revolutionary organization called The Brotherhood, dedica


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs