Fiction Books - Alternative History

New Releases
 
More Alternative History Books
The Obsoletes: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501198335
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Skybound Books - May 14th, 2019

The Obsoletes is a thought-provoking coming-of-age novel about two human-like teen robots navigating high school, basketball, and potentially life-threatening consequences if their true origins are discovered by the inhabitants of their intolerant 1980s Michigan hometown.

Fraternal twin brothers Darryl and Kanga are just like any other teenagers trying to make it


Witchy Winter Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481483797
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Baen - January 29th, 2019

SEQUEL TO WITCHY EYE. Next in series, which debuted with the stunningly reviewed Witchy Eye. Butler delivers another brilliant Americana flintlock fantasy novel.

TOIL AND TROUBLE

Sarah Calhoun paid a hard price for her entry onto the stage of the Empire’s politics, but she survived.


Nest of the Monarch (A Dark Talents Novel) Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781534429734
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - April 16th, 2019

Kim Tavistock, undercover in Berlin as the wife of a British diplomat, uncovers a massive conspiracy that could change the course of the war—and she’s the only one in position to stop it in the electrifying conclusion to the Dark Talents series.

November, 1936. Kim Tavistock is in Berlin on her first Continental mission for SIS, the British intelligence service.


The Smoke Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781785659225
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Titan Books - January 29th, 2019

Simon Ings' The Smoke is about love, loss and loneliness in an incomprehensible world.

Humanity has been split into three different species. Mutual incomprehension has fractured the globe. As humans race to be the first of their kind to reach the stars, another Great War looms.


Famous Men Who Never Lived Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781947793248
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Tin House Books - March 5th, 2019


For readers of Station Eleven and Exit West, Famous Men Who Never Lived explores the effects of displacement on our identities, the communities that come together through circumstance, and the power of art to save us.


1637: The Polish Maelstrom (Ring of Fire #26) Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781481483896
Availability: Backordered
Published: Baen - April 2nd, 2019

NEW SOLO NOVEL BY ERIC FLINT IN THE BEST-SELLING RING OF FIRE SERIES!

The Ottoman Empire has captured Vienna and is now laying siege to the Austrian government-in-exile established in the city of Linz.


Machines Like Me: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385545112
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Nan A. Talese - April 23rd, 2019

New from Ian McEwan, Booker Prize winner and international bestselling author of Atonement and The Children Act


Wild Country (World of the Others, The #2) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399587276
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ace - March 5th, 2019

In this New York Times bestselling powerful and exciting fantasy set in the world of the Others series, humans and the shape-shifting Others will see whether they can live side by side...without destroying one another.

There are ghost towns in the world—places where the humans were annihilated in retaliation for the slaughter of the shape-shifting Others.


Wild Life Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781534414990
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - February 5th, 2019

In 1905, a cigar-smoking, feminist writer of popular adventure novels for women encounters Bigfoot in Molly Gloss’s best loved novel—­­“never has there been a more authentic, persuasive, or moving evocation of this elusive legend: a masterpiece” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).

Set among lava sinkholes and logging camps at the fringe of the N


Lent Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765379061
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Tor Books - May 28th, 2019

From Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy Award-winning Jo Walton comes Lent, a magical re-imagining of the man who remade fifteenth-century Florence—in all its astonishing strangeness

Young Girolamo’s life is a series of miracles.


Genesis Dimension Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781948169080
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mad Goat Press - February 18th, 2019

..". The portal-based world-hopping should appeal to the general sci-fi crowd, and the book's themes--which take a critical view of the greed and power of international corporations--lend a deep relevance to Quentin's quest. A fast-paced portal adventure with some well-integrated social commentary." - Kirkus Reviews


Theater of Spies (A Novel of an Alternate World War #2) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780399586255
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ace - May 7th, 2019

The second novel in an alternate history series where Teddy Roosevelt is president once more right before WWI breaks out, and on his side is the Black Chamber, a secret spy network watching America's back.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs