Fiction Books - African American - Page 4

More African American Books
What Napoleon Could Not Do: A Novel By DK Nnuro Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593420348
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Riverhead Books - February 7th, 2023

America is seen through the eyes and ambitions of three characters with ties to Africa in this gripping novel

When siblings Jacob and Belinda Nti were growing up in Ghana, their goal was simple: to move to America. For them, the United States was both an opportunity and a struggle, a goal and an obstacle.
 


Soul of a Killer (A Books & Biscuits Mystery #2) By Abby Collette Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593336205
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Berkley - October 4th, 2022

In this mouthwatering cozy mystery series, fraternal twins Keaton and Koby are trying to run their combined soul food café and bookstore, but they find themselves searching for a cold-hearted killer.


Where it Rains in Color By Denise Crittendon Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781915202123
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Angry Robot - December 6th, 2022

Lileala has just been named the Rare Indigo – beauty among beauties – and is about to embrace her stardom, until something threatens to change her whole lifestyle and turn the planet of Swazembi upside down.
--


Staff Pick Badge
The Days of Afrekete: A Novel By Asali Solomon Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250858832
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Picador - October 18th, 2022

From the award-winning author Asali Solomon, The Days of Afrekete is a tender, surprising novel of two women at midlife who rediscover themselves—and perhaps each other—inspired by Mrs. Dalloway, Sula, and Audre Lorde’s Zami.

“I didn’t feel like I was reading this novel—I felt like I was living it.” —Ann Patchett, author of The Dutch House


Look for Me and I'll Be Gone: Stories By John Edgar Wideman Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982148959
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Scribner - November 22nd, 2022

*A Wall Street Journal Top 10 Best Book of the Year*

From John Edgar Wideman, a modern “master of language” (The New York Times Book Review), comes a stunning story collection that spans a range of topics from Michael Jordan to Emmett Till, from childhood memories to the final day in a prison cell.

In Look For Me and I’ll Be Gone,


The Union By Leah Vernon Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781662500350
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: 47north - December 1st, 2022

From author and body-positive activist Leah Vernon comes a daring dystopian novel that explores the power of friendship in a future society built on violence and division.

A thousand years in the future, a Black elite class reigns. The lower classes toil in the fields or scrape by in blighted cities, serving their rulers in a cruel, divided world.


Folly Park By Heidi Hackford Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781647422714
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: She Writes Press - November 15th, 2022

Fans of Surviving Savannah by Patti Callahan, The Book of Lost Friends by Lisa Wingate, and Almost Sisters by Joshilyn Jackson will enjoy Folly Park.

Are we ever able to escape the past? Should we be allowed to?


Long Live the Queen By Saundra Cover Image
By Saundra
$16.95
ISBN: 9781496738790
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Dafina - November 29th, 2022

In this sensational follow-up to urban lit star Saundra’s explosive tale of hustling in the city of Angels - A Hustler's Queen: Reloaded - a good girl-turned Cali drug Queenpin goes nationwide, where the success is explosive, the new conspiracies brutal—and the betrayals could finally take her down for the count…


Standalone: A Dickie Cornish Mystery By Christopher Chambers Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781953103239
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Three Rooms Press - October 18th, 2022

"Chambers makes the smell and harrowing vibe of the mean streets of the nation's capital come alive." --Publishers Weekly

Crime Reads Most Anticipated Crime Books of Fall 2022


Staff Pick Badge
The Perishing: A Novel By Natashia Deón Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781640095601
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Counterpoint - November 1st, 2022

A Black immortal in 1930's Los Angeles must recover the memory of her past in order to discover who she truly is in this extraordinarily affecting novel for readers of N. K. Jemisin and Octavia E. Butler.


Black Empire By George S. Schuyler, Brooks E. Hefner (Editor), Brooks E. Hefner (Introduction by), Brooks E. Hefner (Notes by) Cover Image
By George S. Schuyler, Brooks E. Hefner (Editor), Brooks E. Hefner (Introduction by), Brooks E. Hefner (Notes by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143137078
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Penguin Classics - January 31st, 2023

A pioneering work of Afrofuturism and antiracist fiction by the author of Black No More, about a Black scientist who masterminds a worldwide conspiracy to take back the African continent from imperial powers

A Penguin Classic


Every Man a King: A King Oliver Novel By Walter Mosley Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316474214
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Mulholland Books - February 21st, 2023

In this highly anticipated sequel to the Edgar award winner Down the River Unto the Sea, Joe King Oliver is entangled in a dangerous case when he's asked to investigate whether a white nationalist is being unjustly set up.

When friend of the family and multi-billionaire Roger Ferris comes to Joe with an assignment, he’s got no choice but to accept, even if the cas