Fiction Books - African American - Bestsellers - Page 6 | Northshire Bookstore

Fiction Books - African American - Bestsellers - Page 6

More African American Books
We Cast a Shadow: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525509073
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: One World - February 4th, 2020

“An incisive and necessary” (Roxane Gay) debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty’s The Sellout, about a father’s obsessive quest to protect his son—even if it means turning him white


Romance in Marseille Cover Image
By Claude McKay, Gary Edward Holcomb (Editor), William J. Maxwell (Editor), Gary Edward Holcomb (Introduction by), William J. Maxwell (Introduction by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143134220
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Penguin Classics - February 11th, 2020

The pioneering novel of physical disability, transatlantic travel, and black international politics. A vital document of black modernism and one of the earliest overtly queer fictions in the African American tradition. Published for the first time.

A Penguin Classic

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice/Staff Pick


A Deadly Inside Scoop (An Ice Cream Parlor Mystery #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593099667
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - May 12th, 2020

This book kicks off a charming cozy mystery series set in an ice cream shop—with a fabulous cast of quirky characters.


In West Mills Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781635575286
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - June 16th, 2020

"A bighearted novel about family, migration, and the unbearable difficulties of love. Here's a cast of characters you won't soon forget." Ayana Mathis, author of The Twelve Tribes of Hattie


Corregidora (Celebrating Black Women Writers #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780807061091
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Beacon Press - January 29th, 2019

The new edition of an American masterpiece, this is the harrowing story of Ursa Corregidora, a blues singer in the early 20th century forced to confront the inherited trauma of slavery.


Trouble The Water Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781633938076
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Koehler Books - June 4th, 2019

The Cartel 6: The Demise Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250066992
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - July 26th, 2016

The Cartel series is back...and more deadly than ever.


A Moment of Silence: Midnight III (The Midnight Series #3) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781476765990
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria/Emily Bestler Books - October 4th, 2016

In this electrifying novel, New York Times bestselling author and “an important voice in American literature” (Jada Pinkett Smith) Sister Souljah returns to the story of her beloved character, Midnight.

Handsome, young, Muslim, and married to two women living in one house along with his mother, Umma, and sister, Naja: can Midnight manage all that he has on his plate?


The Other Side of the Pillow: A Novel Cover Image
By Zane
$16.00
ISBN: 9780743499323
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - July 28th, 2015

From the New York Times bestselling Queen of Erotica comes a novel about a testy love affair between a woman who’s had enough and a man who’s had it all.

Jemistry Daniels, the beautiful, intelligent, six-figures-a-year high school principal, suffered through one bad relationship after another.


Child Bride Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781684630387
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sparkpress - April 14th, 2020

In the segregated South of the mid-1900s, fourteen-year-old Nell bears witness to a world that embraces the oppression of women. Married off when she turns sixteen, she journeys from the South to the city of Boston, where she must quickly learn first how to be a wife to a controlling and emotionally abusive husband, and then a mother.


Home (Vintage International) Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780307740915
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Vintage - January 1st, 2013

In this emotional powerhouse of a novel, Frank Money is a modern Odysseus returning to a 1950s America mined with lethal pitfalls for an unwary black man. 


Staff Pick Badge
Speak No Evil: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780061284939
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harper Perennial - March 5th, 2019

Winner of the Gold Nautilus Award for Fiction | A Lambda Literary Award Finalist | A Barbara Gittings Literature Award Finalist | An Indie Next Pick | A Barnes and Noble Best Book of the Month | A Library Journal Best Book of the Year


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs