Fiction Books - African American

More African American Books
Memphis: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593230480
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: The Dial Press - April 5th, 2022

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • READ WITH JENNA BOOK CLUB PICK AS FEATURED ON TODAY • A spellbinding debut novel tracing three generations of a Southern Black family and one daughter’s discovery that she has the power to change her family’s legacy.

“A rhapsodic hymn to Black women.”—The New York Times Book Review


Staff Pick Badge
The Memory Librarian: And Other Stories of Dirty Computer Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780063070875
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper Voyager - April 19th, 2022

New York Times bestseller!


Take My Hand Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593337691
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Berkley - April 12th, 2022

“Deeply empathetic yet unflinching in its gaze…an unforgettable exploration of responsibility and redemption.” —Celeste Ng
 
“Highlights the horrific discrepancies in our healthcare system and illustrates their heartbreaking consequences.” —Essence

 


Staff Pick Badge
You Made a Fool of Death with Your Beauty: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982188702
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Atria Books - May 24th, 2022

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2022 by The Washington Post, Oprah Daily, Vulture, Harper’s Bazaar, Thrillist, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Glamour, Marie Claire, Parade, Bustle, BuzzFeed, Refinery29, Busin


Staff Pick Badge
Hope and Glory: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063080577
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: William Morrow - April 19th, 2022

One of the year’s most anticipated by Marie Claire, Essence, Debutiful, & Goodreads

A brilliant debut by a British-Nigerian author—a heartfelt family drama that will delight book club readers and fans of books like The Girl with the Louding Voice and Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows.


Staff Pick Badge
One-Shot Harry Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781641292917
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Soho Crime - April 12th, 2022

Race and civil rights in 1963 Los Angeles provide a powerful backdrop in Gary Phillips’s riveting historical crime novel about an African American forensic photographer seeking justice for a friend—perfect for fans of Walter Mosley, James Ellroy, and George Pelecanos.


Theatre Of Marvels: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780358627913
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper - April 12th, 2022

Behind the spectacle, there are always secrets.


Black Cake: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593358337
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Ballantine Books - February 1st, 2022

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • READ WITH JENNA BOOK CLUB PICK AS FEATURED ON TODAY • Two estranged siblings delve into their mother’s hidden past—and how it all connects to her traditional Caribbean black cake—in this immersive family saga, “a character-driven, multigenerational story that’s meant to be savored” (Time).


Staff Pick Badge
Moon Witch, Spider King (The Dark Star Trilogy #2) Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780735220201
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Riverhead Books - February 15th, 2022

“Masterfully flips the first installment on its head... James makes the mythic tantalizingly real.’” —Esquire
 
"Even more brilliant than the first.” —Buzzfeed

An Instant New York Times Bestseller

 


Staff Pick Badge
The Violin Conspiracy Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593315415
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Anchor - February 1st, 2022

GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK! • Ray McMillian is a Black classical musician on the rise—undeterred by the pressure and prejudice of the classical music worldwhen a shocking theft sends him on a desperate quest to recover his great-great-grandfather’s heirloom violin on the eve of the most prestigious musical competition in the world.


Recitatif: A Story Cover Image
By Toni Morrison, Zadie Smith (Introduction by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593315033
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Knopf - February 1st, 2022

NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER A beautiful, arresting story about race and the relationships that shape us through life by the legendary Nobel Prize winner—for the first time in a beautifully produced stand-alone edition, with an introduction by Zadie Smith
 


Savvy Sheldon Feels Good as Hell: A Romance Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780778311843
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Mira Books - March 22nd, 2022

A sexy romance about a plus-size sweetheart who gets a full-life makeover after a brutal breakup and falls for the incredibly hot contractor renovating her home.