Fiction Books - African American

More African American Books
Staff Pick Logo
Black Leopard, Red Wolf (The Dark Star Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780735220171
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Riverhead Books - February 5th, 2019

The New York Times Bestseller
Wall Street Journal Bestseller
USA Today Bestseller

"A fantasy world as well-realized as anything Tolkien made." --Neil Gaiman

"Gripping, action-packed....The literary equivalent of a Marvel Comics universe." --Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times


Staff Pick Logo
An American Marriage (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616208684
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Algonquin Books - February 5th, 2019

A NEW YORK TIMES AND WASHINGTON POST NOTABLE BOOK

A 2018 BEST OF THE YEAR SELECTION OF NPR  * TIME  * BUSTLE  * O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE  * THE DALLAS MORNING NEWS  * AMAZON.COM

OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB 2018 SELECTION

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2018 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTION


The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781984802439
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Berkley - February 19th, 2019

“If you enjoyed An American Marriage by Tayari Jones, read The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls...an absorbing commentary on love, family and forgiveness.”—The Washington Post 
 


American Spy: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812998955
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Random House - February 12th, 2019

American Spy updates the espionage thriller with blazing originality.”—Entertainment Weekly
“Gutsy . . . challenging boundaries is what brave fiction does.”—The New York Times
“So much fun . . . Like the best of John le Carré, it’s extremely tough to put down.”—NPR


Staff Pick Logo
Heads of the Colored People: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501168000
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Atria / 37 INK - January 22nd, 2019

*PEN Open Book Award Winner*
*Longlisted for the 2018 National Book Award and Aspen Words Literary Prize*
*Nominated for the PEN/Robert W.


Staff Pick Logo
Queenie Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501196010
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - March 19th, 2019

NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2019 BY WOMAN’S DAY, NEWSDAY, PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, BUSTLE, AND BOOK RIOT!

“[B]rilliant, timely, funny, heartbreaking.” —Jojo Moyes, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You

Bridget Jones’s Diary meets Americanah in this


We Cast a Shadow: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525509066
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: One World - January 29th, 2019

“An incisive and necessary” (Roxane Gay) debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty’s The Sellout, about a father’s obsessive quest to protect his son—even if it means turning him white


Over the Fence (The Neighbors Series #2) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781496716149
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Dafina - March 26th, 2019

In this page-turning novel set in the Depression-era South, New York Times bestselling author Mary Monroe transports readers to a small Alabama town where home is not always a sanctuary, and two neighboring families let pleasantries mask increasing resentment. . .
 


The Last Thing You Surrender: A Novel of World War II Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781572842458
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Agate Bolden - February 5th, 2019

Could you find the courage to do what's right in a world on fire?

Pulitzer-winning journalist and bestselling novelist (Freeman) Leonard Pitts, Jr.'s new historical page-turner is a great American tale of race and war, following three characters from the Jim Crow South as they face the enormous changes World War II triggers in the United States.


Lawless Cover Image
By K'wan
$15.95
ISBN: 9781601621245
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Urban Books - January 29th, 2019

Bernadette "Bernie" Hunt prides herself on never settling. In school, she was always at the top of her class, and after graduating from Spellman with honors she landed a job at one of Atlanta's top marketing firms. She lives by her father's motto: the best of everything, or nothing at all.


Lot: Stories Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780525533672
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Riverhead Books - March 19th, 2019

"Phenomenal" --Justin Torres, author of We the Animals
"Brilliant" --Nicole Dennis-Benn, author of Here Comes the Sun

NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2019 BY Entertainment Weekly, Buzzfeed, Nylon, Huffington Post, AV Club, The Millions


Cane Cover Image
By Jean Toomer, George B. Hutchinson (Introduction by), Zinzi Clemmons (Foreword by)
$15.00
ISBN: 9780143133674
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Penguin Classics - January 8th, 2019

The Harlem Renaissance writer's innovative and groundbreaking novel depicting African American life in the South and North, with a foreword by National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 honoree Zinzi Clemmons


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs