Susannah Marren

A Palm Beach Wife
Event date: 
Friday, May 31, 2019 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
4869 Main St
Manchester Center, VT 05255

 

Join us for an evening with Susannah Marren, the pen name of gender and relationship expert Susan Shapiro Barash, as she presents her new novel--a riveting portrait of spousal loyalty, female rivalry and the complicated mother-daughter bond.

For readers of Elin Hilderbrand, Susannah Marren's A Palm Beach Wife is a delicious and irresistible commercial novel set among the high society galas and gossip of Palm Beach.

Amid the glamour and galas and parties of Palm Beach, Faith knows that image often counts as much if not more than reality. She glides effortlessly among the highest of the high society so perfectly that you would never suspect she wasn’t born to this. But it wasn’t always so; though she hides it well, Faith has fought hard for the wonderful life she has, for her loving, successful husband, for her daughter’s future.

In this town of secrets and gossip and rumors, Faith has kept a desperate grip on everything she holds so dear, built from so little. And yet even she—the only one who knows just how far she has to fall—never suspects from which direction, or how many directions all at once, betrayal will come.

SUSANNAH MARREN is the author of Between the Tides and A Palm Beach Wife and a pseudonym for Susan Shapiro Barash, who has written more than a dozen nonfiction books including Tripping the Prom Queen and Toxic Friends. She lives in New York City and teaches gender studies in the Writing Department at Marymount Manhattan College.

Praise for Susannah Marren:

"The mystery and intrigue will keep readers holding on until the shocking ending they won’t see coming." — Publishers Weekly

“[A] fast-paced first novel.” —The New York Post

“This contemporary novel…is lovingly tinged with the myth of the selkie…some engaging characters and vivid settings indicate Marren’s promise.”—Booklist

“A page-turning, commanding novel.”—Holly Peterson, New York Times bestselling author of The Manny and The Idea of Him

“On the surface, Lainie Smith Morris is completely content with her life in a wealthy suburb of New York City, but her picture-perfect world is shattered by betrayal. Susannah Marren's Between the Tides explores the intricacies of marriage, family, and friendship.” —Popsugar

“The novel is moody and despairing, the writing poetic and abstract, the women cleareyed yet complacent…With characters as unreliable as these, everything is left in question.” —Kirkus Review

“The hauntingly beautiful prose is what readers will admire most from this debit author. Her way with words is exceptional. The characters are not predictable at all—they’re quite surprising at times—and the actions match the personas of these well-developed stars perfectly. This thrilling tale surrounding the move from the city to suburbia will make you questions your instincts and who your real friends are.” —RT Reviews

A Palm Beach Wife: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250198402
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - April 9th, 2019

Event Category: 
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs