POSTPONED: Northshire Manchester: Mystery Double Feature: Liv Andersson/Wendy Tyson (Little Red House) & Trish Esden (The Art of the Decoy)

In person at our VT location!
Event date: 
Friday, January 27, 2023 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
4869 Main St
Manchester Center, VT 05255

 

This event has been postponed to March 10, 2023. We apologize for any inconvenience

We are delighted to welcome you back to this in person event at our Manchester, VT store!

Two Vermont authors will present their new thrillers and have a conversation about mystery writing, featuring Trish Esden and Peru, VT author Wendy Tyson/Liv Andersson.

 

In Little Red House from Liv Andersson (Wendy Tyson), twenty years isn’t enough to erase the sins of the past—but the future is even more terrifying in this thrilling read perfect for fans of Megan Collins and Julia Heaberlin.

In 1997, Eve Foster’s daughter, Kelsey, runs away to New Mexico and vanishes without a trace. Eve is convinced that she’s the victim of a serial killer who’s been hunting women in the region—but Kelsey’s body is never found. Years later, Eve dies, leaving everything to her adopted twin daughters. The majority of the wealthy estate in Vermont goes to Lisa, the “good daughter,” while Connie inherits only a small stipend and a property in New Mexico. Connie, often the target of Eve's cruelty, suspects this was another of her mother's vindictive games. Connie arrives in New Mexico to find a small, dilapidated red house in the desert, and the home’s mysterious caretaker, Jet Montgomery, living in a shack on the property. She learns there's been a string of women murdered in the area—murders that no one will talk about.  Before Connie can get to the truth, her mother’s sadistic mind games come creeping back from the grave—and now the danger becomes all too real. With a serial killer on the loose and a trove of deadly secrets coming to the surface, Connie is in a desperate race to save herself and what little is left of her shattered family.

Tricia Esden's series debut The Art of the Decoy, perfect for fans of Jane K. Cleland and Connie Berry, is sure to please.

After her mother is sent to prison for art forgery, Edie Brown returns to Northern Vermont to rebuild her family’s fine art and antiques business. She’s certain she can do it now that her mother is gone. After all, butting heads with her mom over bad business practices was what drove Edie away three years ago, including a screwup that landed Edie on probation for selling stolen property. When Edie scores a job appraising a waterfowl decoy collection at a hoarder’s farmhouse, she’s determined to take advantage of the situation to rebuild the business’s tarnished reputation and dwindling coffers. In lieu of payment, Edie intends to cherry-pick an exceptional decoy carved by the client’s renowned Quebecoise folk artist ancestors. Only the tables turn when the collection vanishes. Accused of the theft, Edie’s terrified that the fallout will destroy the business and land her in prison next to her mom. Desperate, she digs into the underbelly of the local antiques and art world. When Edie uncovers a possible link between the decoy theft and a deadly robbery at a Quebec museum, she longs to ask her ex-probation officer, and ex-lover, for help. But she suspects his recent interest in rekindling their romance may hide a darker motive. With the help of her eccentric uncle Tuck and Kala, their enigmatic new employee, Edie must risk all she holds dear to expose the thieves and recover the decoys before the FBI’s Art Crime Team or the ruthless thieves themselves catch up with her.

Liv Andersson is an author, lawyer, and former therapist whose background has inspired her thrillers and mysteries. She and her husband live in the beautiful Green Mountains of Vermont with their sons and three dogs.

Trish Esden loves museums, gardens, wilderness, dogs and birds, in various order depending on the day. She lives in Northern Vermont where she deals antiques with her husband, a profession she’s been involved with since her teens. Don’t ask what her favorite type of antique is. She loves hunting down old bottles and rusty barn junk as much as she enjoys fine art and furnishings. 

If you have questions about this or any other event, please write us at events@northshire.com

Little Red House: A Novel By Liv Andersson Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781639102037
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Crooked Lane Books - December 6th, 2022

The Art of the Decoy (A Scandal Mountain Antiques Mystery) By Trish Esden Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781643859644
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Crooked Lane Books - April 5th, 2022

Event Category: