Northshire Saratoga: Joint Book Launch for Nicolas DiDomizio The Gay Best Friend and Steven Salvatore No Perfect Places

In person at our NY location!
Event date: 
Wednesday, May 31, 2023 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866

 

 

We are delighted to welcome you back to this in person event at our Saratoga Springs, NY store!

Two authors will join us to celebrate the release of their new novels! In DiDomizio’s The Gay Best Friend, he's always been the token gay best friend. Now, stuck between a warring bride and groom hurtling toward their one perfect day, he's finally ready to focus on something new: himself. Steven Salvatore’s No Perfect Places is a moving YA novel about twins whose incarcerated father dies and leaves behind a life-changing secret.

 

Nicolas DiDomizio's The Gay Best Friend:

"This comedy follows a gay best man through the gendered shenanigans of his straight best friends' wedding summer. Both laugh-out-loud funny and gently romantic, this book made me smile." — Rachel Person

He's always been the token gay best friend. Now, stuck between a warring bride and groom hurtling toward their one perfect day, he's finally ready to focus on something new: himself.

Domenic Marino has become an expert at code-switching between the hypermasculine and ultrafeminine worlds of his two soon-to-be-wed best friends. But this summer—reeling from his own failed engagement and tasked with attending their bachelor and bachelorette parties—he's anxious over having to play both sides.

The pressure is on. The bride wants Dom to keep things clean. The groom wants Dom to "let loose" with the guys. And Dom just wants to get out of this whole mess with his friendships intact.

But once the rowdy groomsmen show up at the beach house—including a surprise visit from the groom's old frat brother, handsome and charming PGA star Bucky Graham—chaos (and unexpected romance) quickly ensues. By the time Dom returns for the bachelorette party, he's accumulated a laundry list of secrets that threaten to destroy everything—from the wedding, to Bucky's career, to the one thing Dom hasn't been paying nearly enough attention to lately: his own life.

Nicolas DiDomizio holds a bachelor’s degree from Western Connecticut State University and a master’s degree from NYU. His debut novel, Burn It All Down, was published in 2021 and praised as “unforgettable” by James Patterson. He lives in upstate New York with his partner Graig and their shmooshy bulldog Rocco. The Gay Best Friend is his second novel.

 

Steven Salvatore’s No Perfect Places:

From lauded author Steven Salvatore comes a moving YA novel about twins whose incarcerated father dies and leaves behind a life-changing secret, perfect for fans of I'll Give You the Sun and Euphoria.

When their father went to prison last year for embezzlement, twins Alex and Olly Brucke lost everything: their house, their college funds, most of their friends, and even their mother, who's so focused on making ends meet that she's never around anymore. The only thing they can count on lately is each other.

But after their father dies unexpectedly in prison, the twins start to fracture. Alex is spiraling, skipping classes to spend all of her time drunk or high. And Olly is struggling with a secret his dad ordered him to keep: they have a secret half-brother named Tyler.

When Tyler shows up in their lakeside town for the summer, hoping to get to know his siblings, Olly hides the truth from Alex. But as Alex and Tyler start to form a friendship, the lies become harder to juggle. If they can't confront their father's past and fix their relationship, Olly and Alex each risk losing two siblings forever.

No Perfect Places is a thought-provoking novel about grief, family secrets, and figuring out how to belong against the odds.

Steven Salvatore is a gay, genderqueer author, writing professor, Mariah Carey lamb, and Star Wars fanatic with an MFA in Creative Writing from The New School. They are the founder and CEO of Queerative Writers, a virtual creative workshop series for LGBTQ+ aspiring writers. They are the author of AND THEY LIVED…, CAN'T TAKE THAT AWAY, and NO PERFECT PLACES: A Novel, and are represented by Jess Regel of Helm Literary Agency. As a native New Yorker, their heart belongs to the Adirondacks.
stevensalvatore.com | Twitter: @StevenSSWrites | Instagram: @StevenSalvatoreBooks

If you have questions about this or any other Northshire event, please e-mail us at events@northshire.com.

Staff Pick Badge
The Gay Best Friend By Nicolas DiDomizio Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728270296
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Sourcebooks Casablanca - May 30th, 2023

No Perfect Places By Steven Salvatore Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781547611072
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Bloomsbury YA - May 30th, 2023

Event Category: