Northshire Presents: Rob Osler - Devil's Chew Toy - with Sara J. Henry | Northshire Bookstore

Northshire Presents: Rob Osler - Devil's Chew Toy - with Sara J. Henry

Join us from home for this virtual event!
Event date: 
Tuesday, February 15, 2022 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
Reserve a ticket on eventbrite to get the zoom link for this event!

 

Osler will share his new mystery - perfect for fans of Carl Hiaasen and Armistead Maupin. This light, LGBT mystery follows an unlucky in love—and life—teacher who unwittingly ends up the prime suspect in a disappearance. He will appear in conversation with noted local mystery writer Sara J. Henry who also edited the book.

 

 

Seattle teacher and part-time blogger Hayden McCall wakes sporting one hell of a shiner, with the police knocking at his door. It seems that his new crush, dancer Camilo Rodriguez, has gone missing and they suspect foul play. What happened the night before? And where is Camilo?
 
Determined to find answers, pint-sized, good-hearted Hayden seeks out two of Camilo’s friends—Hollister and Burley—both lesbians and both fiercely devoted to their friend. From them, Hayden learns that Camilo is a “Dreamer” whose parents had been deported years earlier, and whose sister, Daniela, is presumed to have returned to Venezuela with them. Convinced that the cops won’t take a brown boy’s disappearance seriously, the girls join Hayden’s hunt for Camilo. 

The first clues turn up at Barkingham Palace, a pet store where Camilo had taken a part-time job. The store’s owner, Della Rupert, claims ignorance, but Hayden knows something is up. And then there’s Camilo’s ex-boyfriend, Ryan, who’s suddenly grown inexplicably wealthy. When Hayden and Hollister follow Ryan to a secure airport warehouse, they make a shocking connection between him and Della—and uncover the twisted scheme that’s made both of them rich.
 
The trail of clues leads them to the grounds of a magnificent estate on an island in Puget Sound, where they’ll finally learn the truth about Camilo’s disappearance—and the fate of his family.

 

Aside from fiction writing, Rob Osler is a halfway decent tennis player, proficient at making chicken piccata and crab cakes, and threatens to restart playing bridge and the banjo—though not at the same time. He attended college in Washington, where he also earned a master’s degree in business. After many years of living in Seattle and San Francisco, he resides in southern California with his long-time partner and a tall, gray cat.

Sara J. Henry's first novel, Learning to Swim, won the Anthony, Agatha, and Mary Higgins Clark Awards, was a Target Emerging Author pick, and was named one of Best Books of 2011 by the Boston Globe. Her second novel, A Cold and Lonely Place, is an Anthony award nominee for Best Novel and was a Reader's Digest Select Books choice. She has written for PreventionAdirondack LifeBicyclingTriathlete, and other magazines, was an editor at Rodale Books and Women's Sports & Fitness magazine, and was a newspaper and magazine editor. A native of Oak Ridge, Tennessee, Sara lives in Vermont. Visit www.SaraJHenry.com.

If you have questions about this or any Northshire event, please e-mail us at events@northshire.com.

Devil's Chew Toy: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781643859439
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Crooked Lane Books - February 8th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
A Cold and Lonely Place: A Novel Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780307718426
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Crown - November 5th, 2013

Event Category: