Northshire Manchester: Rebecca Makkai - I Have Some Questions For You - with Megan Mayhew Bergman

In person at our VT location!
Event date: 
Saturday, July 29, 2023 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
4869 Main St
Manchester Center, VT 05255

 

We are delighted to welcome you back to this in person event at our Manchester, VT store!

Tickets for this event are available online until 4:30 pm on July 29. There will be limited additional tickets available at the door starting at 5:30 pm.

Rebecca Makkai, a Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award finalist for The Great Believers will join us to discuss her riveting bestselling new novel, a Northshire Staff Pick several times over and "part true-crime page-turner, part campus coming-of-age" - San Francisco Chronicle. She will talk about the book with fellow novelist Megan Mayhew Bergman, author of How Strange a Season.

“A twisty, immersive whodunit perfect for fans of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History.” —People

"Spellbinding." —The New York Times Book Review

"[An] irresistible literary page-turner." —The Boston Globe

A well-known podcaster and film professor returns to her high school to teach a two-week course. She is immediately drawn back into the events surrounding the murder of a classmate twenty years prior. Her strong suspicion that the wrong man was convicted sets in motion a re-examination of everything that happened on the night of the girl's murder and everyone who knew her. Engrossing, surprising and very smart, Makkai's latest is a showcase for her abundant skills as a storyteller and observer of cultural trends. Highly recommended. — Stan Hynds

I loved this deft, gripping novel about a woman who returns to her boarding school many years later and reconsiders her beliefs regarding her classmate's murder. Teaching a class on podcasting, she begins to raise questions about a case long considered solved. As she excavates the past with increasing urgency, we're pulled ever more deeply into an expertly constructed tale of sex, power, and agency. The most satisfying storytelling I've read in ages. — Cathy Taylor

Rebecca Makkai is the author of the novels I Have Some Questions for You, The Great Believers, The Hundred-Year House, and The Borrower, and the story collection Music for Wartime. A finalist for the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, The Great Believers received an American Library Association Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, among other honors, and was named one of the Ten Best Books of 2018 by The New York Times. A 2022 Guggenheim fellow, Makkai is on the MFA faculties of the University of Nevada, Reno at Lake Tahoe and Northwestern University, and is the artistic director of StoryStudio Chicago

If you have questions about this or any other event, please write us at events@northshire.com

Staff Pick Badge
I Have Some Questions for You: A Novel By Rebecca Makkai Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593490143
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Viking - February 21st, 2023

Staff Pick Badge
The Great Believers: A Novel By Rebecca Makkai Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780735223530
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Books - June 4th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
How Strange a Season: Fiction By Megan Mayhew Bergman Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781476713106
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Scribner - March 29th, 2022

Event Category: