Northshire Manchester: Brian O’Hare - Surrender

In person at our VT location!
Event date: 
Friday, June 2, 2023 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
4869 Main St
Manchester Center, VT 05255

 

We are delighted to welcome you back to this in person event at our Manchester, VT store!

The author will join us to discuss his rich collection of coming-of-age stories, a journey into the heart of the American hero myth, from the Friday night football fields of Western Pennsylvania to a battalion of Marines in the Persian Gulf and beyond. 

In the tradition of Tim O'Brien's The Things They Carried, Brian O'Hare's Surrender is a rich collection of coming-of-age stories, a journey into the heart of the American hero myth, from the Friday night football fields of Western Pennsylvania to a battalion of Marines in the Persian Gulf and beyond. But what happens when the crowds stop cheering and the welcome home parades are over? Guilt, fear, and brutality collide with love and acceptance as a diverse cast of characters struggle to reconcile mythology with reality, and to find meaning in a uniquely American chaos.

In bittersweet stories with surprising humor, the characters grapple with the choices they've made and a country they no longer understand. Written in spare and unsentimental prose, yet with a startling emotional punch, these stories, and the unforgettable characters who tell them, will live long in the reader's imagination.

Brian O'Hare is a graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy and former U.S. Marine Corps officer. Currently, he's an award-winning writer and filmmaker living in Los Angeles. His work has appeared in War, Literature and the Arts, Santa Fe Writers Project, and Hobart, and has been nominated for two Pushcart Prizes. He was recently named a Writing Fellow at the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts.

If you have questions about this or any other event, please write us at events@northshire.com

Surrender By Brian O'Hare Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780815611509
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Syracuse University Press - November 1st, 2022

Event Category: