Northshire Manchester: Anna Hogeland - "The Long Answer" with Genevieve Plunkett

In person at our VT location!
Event date: 
Thursday, June 30, 2022 - 5:30pm
Event address: 
4869 Main St
Manchester Center, VT 05255

 

We are delighted to welcome you back to this in person event at our Manchester, VT store!

Vermont author Anna Hogeland will present her debut novel The Long Answer--a profound and provocative novel in which a woman considers pregnancy, motherhood, and the nature of female relationships--in conversation with Northshire Staff Favorite Genevieve Plunkett, author of Prepare Her.

 

Twelve weeks pregnant for the first time, Anna speaks to her sister on the other side of the country and learns she has just miscarried her second child. As this loss strains their bond and complications with Anna's own pregnancy emerge, her tenuous steps towards motherhood are shadowed and illuminated by the women she meets along the way, whose stories of the children they have had, or longed for, or lost, crowd in.
 
The Long Answer is a stunning novel of secrets kept, and secrets shared. Deeply empathetic and hugely absorbing, it unravels the intimate dynamics of female friendship, sisterhood, motherhood and grief, and the ways that women are bound together and pulled apart by their shared and contrasting experiences of pregnancy, abortion, miscarriage, and infertility.

“A compelling, often-heartbreaking tale of belonging, loss, and rebirth. Looking beyond pregnancy's physical transformations, Hogeland explores what it means to feel parental, to choose a life bigger than your own, or to lose a precious gift…The Long Answer is a heartfelt, finely wrought journey for fans of Suzanne Finnamore, Erica Jong, and Marian Keyes.” – Bookliststarred review

A brilliant debut, both coolly empathetic and searingly personal, a powerful bridge between fiction's two current modes. Anna Hogeland writes beautifully, with unwavering passion and insight, about the complexities of motherhood and female relationships.” – Jess Walter, New York Times-bestselling author of The Cold Millions

 

Anna Hogeland is a psychotherapist in private practice, with an MSW from Smith College School of Social Work and an MFA from UC Irvine. She lives in Vermont.

 

If you have questions about this or any other event, please write us at events@northshire.com

The Long Answer: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593418130
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Riverhead Books - June 21st, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Prepare Her: Stories Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781646220403
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Catapult - July 13th, 2021

Event Category: