Northshire Live Fiction: J. Peter Cobb "To Alice" & Peter Hogenkamp "The Vatican Secret"

In person at our VT location!
Event date: 
Friday, May 13, 2022 - 5:30pm
Event address: 
4869 Main St
Manchester Center, VT 05255

 

We are delighted to welcome you back to this in person event at our Manchester, VT store!

 

Join us in our Manchester store to celebrate the publication of these two recent books of fiction from Vermont authors J. Peter Cobb (To Alice) and Peter Hogenkamp (The Vatican Secret).

 

J. Peter Cobb's To Alice:

Alice Hammond is a troubled soul. She dropped out of medical school when one of her professors made it too stressful for her to stay. Now she works as a home health and hospice aide in Providence, Vermont. She is a wonderful aide, the quality of her work is high, and her patients love her. But Alice tends to become too involved with them. She has made their lives her life-a problem both for them and herself.

Peter Cobb has been retired since summer 2016. For 33 years he was the director of the VNAs of Vermont, the trade association that represents the Visiting Nurse Associations in Vermont. Prior to working for the VNAs, he worked with adults with autism for Washington County Mental Health, was a reporter for the Barre Vermont Time Argus and the Black River Tribune, administered a grant for the Black River Health Center in Proctorsville, Vermont and was a lobbyist for the Vermont Public Interest Research Group (VPIRG). In retirement, he works part-time for the Time Argus and Rutland Herald.

*

Peter Hogenkamp's The Vatican Secret:

 

There is a nuclear weapon in the hands of the Vatican City's deadliest enemy. And time is running out to stop an attack...

Marco Venetti, the only man the pope trusts, has tracked down the traitor who nearly succeeded in his mission to kill the pope. But the traitor holds a crucial piece of information: the name of the Russian mafioso in possession of a nuclear bomb.

Forced to work with a man he despises to prevent a deadly explosion, Marco sets a trap for the Russians. Inside the stone walls of an ancient castle in Portugal, surrounded by high mountains, he waits to ambush his target. But a double-cross ruins everything and he must flee, alone and without backup, leaving a trail of death and destruction behind.

All Marco knows is that the attack is imminent. And that to prevent it, he must enter a deadly game of cat-and-mouse that will take him across the continent, on land and by sea. With time running out, he will stop at nothing to uncover the truth. Because the secrets inside the Vatican may be the deadliest threat of all...

The Vatican Secret is an explosive thriller full of treachery, international conspiracy and non-stop action. Fans of Joel C. Rosenberg, Tom Clancy and Steven Konkoly will be completely gripped.

Peter Hogenkamp is a practicing physician, public speaker and author of medical fiction and thrillers living in Rutland, Vermont. Peter’s writing credits include The Intern (TouchPoint Press, April, 2020); The Vatican Conspiracy (Bookouture/HachetteUK, October, 2020), and Doubt (Bookouture/HachetteUK, April 2021.) He can be found on his author website, http://www.peterhogenkampbooks.com/, as well as his personal blog, PeterHogenkampWrites, http://phogenkampvt.blogspot.com/ where he writes about most anything. He is the founder and editor of The Book Stops Here, http://auniqueandportablemagic.blogspot.com/ a literary blog for readers and writers written by authors, agents, editors, publishers and poets. Peter is the creator, producer and host of Your Health Matters, a health information program, which airs on cable television, streams on YouTube and sounds off on podcast. Peter was a finalist for the prestigious 2019 Killer Nashville Claymore Award as well as a top finalist for the 2020 Vermont Writer’s Prize. He tweets—against the wishes of his wife, four children and feisty Cairn Terrier, Hermione—at @phogenkampvt. He can be reached at his Facebook page (facebook.com/peterhogenkampbooks) and at peterhogenkampbooks@gmail.com/

 

If you have questions about this or any other event, please feel free to reach out to us at events@northshire.com

The Vatican Secret: A totally gripping and explosive action thriller Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781838888459
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Bookouture - April 15th, 2021

Event Category: