Northshire Live: Emily Layden presents ALL GIRLS in a conversation with Ellie Eaton author of THE DIVINES | Northshire Bookstore

Northshire Live: Emily Layden presents ALL GIRLS in a conversation with Ellie Eaton author of THE DIVINES

Join us from home for literary conversation!
Event date: 
Tuesday, February 16, 2021 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
Live on Zoom - link available upon Eventbrite registration

 

Join Northshire Bookstore for the launch of the "riveting," "innovative" "striking debut" ALL GIRLS by Emily Layden in a wide-ranging literary conversation with Ellie Eaton author of THE DIVINES!

Emily Layden's All Girls is a keenly perceptive coming of age novel for fans of Sally Rooney, Curtis Sittenfeld, and J. Courtney Sullivan, that follows nine young women as they navigate their ambitions and fears at a prestigious New England prep school, all pitched against the backdrop of a scandal the administration wants silenced.

With the emotional power of Normal People and the reflective haze of The Girls, Ellie Eaton's The Divines is a magnetic novel that moves between present-day Los Angeles and a British boarding school in the 1990s, exploring the destructive relationships between teenage girls. 

Tickets Available Here!

About ALL GIRLS:

As the months unfold, and the school's efforts to control the ensuing crisis fall short, these extraordinary girls are forced to discover their voices, and their power. A tender and unflinching portrait of modern adolescence told through the shifting perspectives of an unforgettable cast of female students, All Girls explores what it means to grow up in a place that promises you the world––when the world still isn't yours for the taking. You grow to love a place... and then you grow up.

EMILY LAYDEN is a graduate of Stanford University, and has taught at several girls' schools nationwide. Her writing has appeared in the New York Times, Marie Claire, The Billfold, and Runner's World. All Girls is her first novel.

 

About THE DIVINES:

The girls of St John the Divine, an elite English boarding school, were notorious for flipping their hair, harassing teachers, chasing boys, and chain-smoking cigarettes. They were fiercely loyal, sharp-tongued, and cuttingly humorous in the way that only teenage girls can be. For Josephine, now in her thirties, the years at St John were a lifetime ago. She hasn’t spoken to another Divine in fifteen years, not since the day the school shuttered its doors in disgrace.

Yet now Josephine inexplicably finds herself returning to her old stomping grounds. The visit provokes blurry recollections of those doomed final weeks that rocked the community. Ruminating on the past, Josephine becomes obsessed with her teenage identity and the forgotten girls of her one-time orbit. With each memory that resurfaces, she circles closer to the violent secret at the heart of the school’s scandal. But the more Josephine recalls, the further her life unravels, derailing not just her marriage and career, but her entire sense of self. 

Suspenseful, provocative, and compulsively readable, The Divines is a scorching examination of the power of adolescent sexuality, female identity, and the destructive class divide. Exposing the tension between the lives we lead as adults and the experiences that form us, Eaton probes us to consider how our memories as adults compel us to reexamine our pasts.

Born and raised in England, ELLIE EATON lives in Los Angeles with her family. Former writer-in-residence at a men’s prison in the United Kingdom, she holds an M.A. in creative writing from Royal Holloway, University of London. The Divines is her first novel.

All Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250270894
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - February 16th, 2021

The Divines: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063012196
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - January 19th, 2021

Event Category: 
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs