Megha Majumdar, author of A Burning, in conversation

Join us from home for literary conversation!
Event date: 
Tuesday, August 11, 2020 - 5:00pm
Event address: 

 

Northshire Bookstore is taking its motto of building community one book at a time to heart in this time of pandemic. Beginning Thursday, April 2nd, Northshire Bookstore event managers Rachel Person & Dafydd Wood will host a weekly Northshire Live virtual meetup every Thursday at 5pm. These Northshire Live virtual events will feature weekly author guests via Zoom, as well as a chance to connect with other readers and book lovers. 

Please Note: To support Northshire's event program, Northshire Live events are now ticketed on a pay-what-you-can basis. Tickets are non-refundable. Tickets are free for those who purchase either event book from Northshire Bookstore, and for those who cannot pay at this time. Both free and paid tickets must be purchased via eventbrite. 

We are thrilled to welcome Megha Majumdar author of the instant New York Times Bestseller, Northshire staff favorite, and the "it" book of the summer A Burning in conversation with Nothshire events manager Dafydd Wood. For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise--to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies--and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE TICKETS!

"This remarkable debut novel follows the lives of three people in Bengal. Jivan is a young Muslim who is imprisoned for the firebombing of a crowded train. Lovely is an aspiring actress whose dreams of stardom in the movies are threatened by her public insistence that Jivan is innocent of the terrible crime. PT Sir, a morally pliable gym teacher, also understands that his ambitions to ascend the political ladder will be compromised if he doesn't accede to the government's demand that someone be punished for the terrorist attack. Beautifully written, A Burning is a powerful and ultimately moving look at the politics, the religions, the customs, and the social disparity between the rich and the poor in a culturally vibrant, but little known part of the world. Easily one of the year's most impressive works of fiction." Reviewed by Alden Graves

"Riveting...This is a novel of our pandemic times, an exploration of precarity in all its forms...Majumdar excels at depicting the workings of power on the powerless... Fate has rarely been so many-faced, so muscular, so mercurial, or so mesmerizing as it is in A Burning."
—The New York Times Book Review [cover]

"Powerful... propulsive...This is a book to relish for its details, for the caress of the writer’s gaze against the world... The interplay of choice and circumstance has always been the playing field of great fiction, and on this terrain, a powerful new writer stakes her claim."
—Parul Sehgal, The New York Times

"Immersive...masterly... the elements of a thriller are transmuted into prismatic portraiture... A Burning has a similar urgency of appeal [to Faulkner's As I Lay Dying.] Its characters are at the very front of the stage, and we can feel their breath... Her spare plot moves with arrowlike determination...I can’t remember when I last read a novel that so quickly dismantled the ordinary skepticism that attends the reading of made-up stories. Early Naipaul comes to mind as a precursor, and perhaps Akhil Sharma’s stupendously vivid novel Family Life.... It’s only at the end of this brief, brave novel that one becomes fully aware of how broad its judgments have been, how fierce and absolute its condemnations. Through the gaps that open up among and behind these three characters, a large Indian panoply emerges."
—James Wood, The New Yorker

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE A TICKET FOR THIS EVENT!

Staff Pick Badge
A Burning: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525658696
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Knopf - June 2nd, 2020

Event Category: 
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs