Jerry Craft

New Kid
Event date: 
Thursday, February 28, 2019 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866

Jerry Craft Event

Northshire Bookstore in partnership with WMHT presents Jerry Craft, author of New Kid, a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real on Thursday, February 28th at 6:00 p.m.

For fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, this full-color, contemporary graphic novel about a twelve-year-old kid from Washington Heights who starts the seventh grade at a new posh private school, where diversity is low and expectations are high.

With humor, heart, and honesty, cartoonist Jerry Craft shines a spotlight on the experience of being a black student in a predominantly white school, tackling tough topics like racism and microaggressions. This full-color graphic novel will also speak to any kid who’s dealt with the challenges of middle school.

Jerry Craft is an author-illustrator who has worked on numerous books for young readers. Jerry created "Mama’s Boyz," an award-winning comic strip. He has won five African American Literary Awards and cofounded the Black Comic Book Festival. He received his BFA from the School of Visual Arts and lives in Connecticut.

Staff Pick Badge
New Kid Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062691194
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: HarperCollins - February 5th, 2019

Event Category: 
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs