Children - Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

More Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance Books
Staff Pick Badge
Sulwe Cover Image
By Lupita Nyong'o, Vashti Harrison (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534425361
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - October 15th, 2019

A New York Times bestseller!

From Academy Award–winning actress Lupita Nyong’o comes a powerful, moving picture book about colorism, self-esteem, and learning that true beauty comes from within.

Sulwe has skin the color of midnight. She is darker than everyone in her family. She is darker than anyone in her school.


Parker Looks Up: An Extraordinary Moment Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534451865
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Aladdin - October 15th, 2019

A New York Times bestseller!

A visit to Washington, DC’s National Portrait Gallery forever alters Parker Curry’s young life when she views First Lady Michelle Obama’s portrait.

When Parker Curry came face-to-face with Amy Sherald’s transcendent portrait of First Lady Michelle Obama at the National Portrait Gallery, she didn’t just s


Just In Case You Want to Fly Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823443444
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Neal Porter Books - October 8th, 2019

A perfect book to share with the little ones you love, from bestselling author Julie Fogliano and Christian Robinson, Caldecott Honoree and author-illustrator of Another.

just in case you want to fly
here's some wind
and here's the sky


Project Middle School (Alyssa Milano's Hope #1) Cover Image
By Alyssa Milano, Debbie Rigaud, Eric S. Keyes (Illustrator), Eric S. Keyes (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338329407
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scholastic Inc. - October 15th, 2019

From actor and lifelong activist Alyssa Milano comes Hope Roberts, a girl who's determined to change the world.

Hope is eleven years old, and she wants to be an astrophysicist. She loves swimming, Galaxy Girl comic books, her best friend Sam, and her two rescue dogs.


Dear Sweet Pea Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062473073
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 1st, 2019

The first middle grade novel from Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’ (now a popular Netflix film), is a funny, heartwarming story perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead, Ali Benjamin, and Holly Goldberg Sloan.


Why?: (Funny ChildrenÂ’s Books, Preschool Books, Early Elementary School Stories) Cover Image
By Adam Rex, Claire Keane (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781452168630
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Chronicle Books - October 1st, 2019

"[Adam] Rex delivers a storytime home run—hilarious, heartfelt, instructive, and interactive." Booklist, starred review


Return of the Temujai (The Brotherband Chronicles #8) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524741440
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Philomel Books - October 1st, 2019

The Herons take to the high seas in the action-packed eighth installment of the Brotherband Chronicles, Brotherband: Return of the Temujai from John Flanagan, author of the internationally bestselling Ranger's Apprentice series!


Elbow Grease vs. Motozilla Cover Image
By John Cena, Howard McWilliam (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524773533
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - October 8th, 2019

Superstar entertainer John Cena's second picture book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series features a high-octane story--starring the truck who never gives up, Elbow Grease!


Three Cheers for Kid McGear!: (Family Read Aloud Books, Construction Books for Kids, Children's New Experiences Books, Stories in Verse) Cover Image
By Sherri Duskey Rinker, AG Ford (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781452155821
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Chronicle Books - September 24th, 2019

From the New York Times bestselling author that brought you Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Mighty, Mighty Construction Site comes a heartwarming and inspiring tale featuring the first female character to join the core construction crew!


Staff Pick Badge
Dasher: How a Brave Little Doe Changed Christmas Forever Cover Image
By Matt Tavares, Matt Tavares (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536201376
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Candlewick - September 10th, 2019

From the celebrated creator of Red and Lulu comes the story of a brave little doe who meets Santa and changes Christmas forever.


Staff Pick Badge
Lalani of the Distant Sea Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062747273
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 3rd, 2019

“Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read.”—Kirkus (starred review)

“A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.”—Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal–winning author of When You Reach Me


Momentous Events in the Life of a Cactus Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781454933298
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Sterling Children's Books - September 17th, 2019

"High School. Two words that struck fear into the heart of every armless middle schooler I knew. Which was me. And like two people online."

The sequel to the critically acclaimed Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus follows Aven Green as she confronts yet another challenge: high school.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs