Children - Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - Prejudice & Racism - Bestsellers - Page 4

More Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - Prejudice & Racism
The Cyclops Witch and the Heebie-Jeebies Cover Image
By Kyle Sullivan, Derek Sullivan (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781948931007
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hazy Dell Press - April 9th, 2019

A timely tale of fear, prejudice and misunderstanding, The Cyclops Witch and the Heebie-Jeebies is the story of the world's bravest witch coming face-to-face with her greatest fear...and it's not what you're expecting.


Melody: No Ordinary Sound Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781683371403
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: American Girl Publishing Inc - August 27th, 2019

Intersectionallies: We Make Room for All Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781948340083
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dottir Press - July 23rd, 2019

A] celebration of solidarity, allyship, and community...A welcoming resource for conversations about equality and social justice that shows readers how identities are made up of myriad influences.--PUBLISHERS WEEKLY


The Usual Suspects Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062796318
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 21st, 2019

Fans of Jason Reynolds and Sharon M. Draper will love this oh-so-honest middle grade novel from writer and educator Maurice Broaddus.


Something Happened in Our Town: A Child's Story about Racial Injustice Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781433828546
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Magination Press - March 1st, 2018

A Little Free Library Action Book Club Selection

National Parenting Product Award Winner (NAPPA)

Emma and Josh heard that something happened in their town. A Black man was shot by the police.

"Why did the police shoot that man?"

"Can police go to jail?"


The Legend of Buddy Bush Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781534451452
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - July 16th, 2019

Celebrate the fifteenth anniversary of Shelia P.


Staff Pick Badge
A Step from Heaven Cover Image
By An Na
$10.99
ISBN: 9781481442367
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - July 26th, 2016

From master storyteller An Na comes the Printz Award–winning novel about a Korean girl who tells her firsthand account of trying to find her place and identity in America from the day she leaves Korea as a child to her rocky journey through the teenage years.

At age four, Young Ju moves with her parents from Korea to Southern California.


I Am Not a Number Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781927583944
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Second Story Press - October 4th, 2016

When Irene is removed from her First Nations family to live in a residential school, she is confused, frightened and terribly homesick. She tries to remember who she is and where she came from despite being told to do otherwise. When she goes home for summer holidays, her parents decide never to send her away again, but where will she hide and what will happen when her parents disobey the law?


X: A Novel Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780763690922
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - August 2nd, 2016

"A completely absorbing novel. . . . Readers for whom pre-civil rights America is ancient history will find this poetic interpretation eye-opening and riveting." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)


The Gold Cadillac Cover Image
By Mildred D. Taylor, Max Ginsberg (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780140389630
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - February 1st, 1998

Another powerful story in the Logan Family Saga and companion to Mildred D. Taylor's Newbery Award-winning Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry.

A drive South becomes dangerous for ‘lois and her family. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Liberation of Gabriel King Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780142407660
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - March 1st, 2007

Gabriel King was a born chicken. He’s afraid of spiders, corpses, loose cows, and just about everything related to the fifth grade. Gabe’s best friend, Frita Wilson, thinks Gabe needs some liberating from his fears. Frita knows something about being brave— she’s the only black kid in school in a town with an active Ku Klux Klan.


The Treasure Box Cover Image
By Margaret Wild, Freya Blackwood (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763690847
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - April 25th, 2017

A moving and ultimately hopeful look at what we hold most dear — and carry with us — when we are forced to flee our homes because of war.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs