Children - Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - Prejudice & Racism

More Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - Prejudice & Racism
Antiracist Baby Picture Book Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593110508
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Kokila - July 14th, 2020

A #1 New York Times Bestseller!

From the National Book Award-winning author of Stamped from the Beginning and How to Be an Antiracist comes a new 9x9 picture book that empowers parents and children to uproot racism in our society and in ourselves, now with added discussion prompts to help readers recognize and reflect on bias in their daily lives.


Antiracist Baby Board Book Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593110416
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Kokila - June 16th, 2020

From the National Book Award-winning author of Stamped from the Beginning and How to Be an Antiracist comes a fresh new board book that empowers parents and children to uproot racism in our society and in ourselves.

Take your first steps with Antiracist Baby! Or rather, follow Antiracist Baby's nine easy steps for building a more equitable world.


Something to Say Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062836717
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - July 14th, 2020

From the author of A Good Kind of Trouble, a Walter Dean Myers Honor Book, comes another unforgettable story about finding your voice—and finding your people. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds.


My Life as an Ice Cream Sandwich Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780399187360
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Puffin Books - July 7th, 2020

National Book Award-finalist Ibi Zoboi makes her middle-grade debut with a moving story of a girl finding her place in a world that's changing at warp speed.


Genesis Begins Again Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781481465816
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - August 18th, 2020

“Reminiscent of Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye.” —The New York Times
“One of the best books I have ever read…will live in the hearts of readers for the rest of their lives.” —Colby Sharp, founder of Nerdy Book Club
“An emotional, painful, yet still hopeful adolescent journey…one that needed telling


A Place Inside of Me: A Poem to Heal the Heart Cover Image
By Zetta Elliott, Noa Denmon (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374307417
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - July 21st, 2020

In this powerful, affirming poem by award-winning author Zetta Elliott, a Black child explores his shifting emotions throughout the year.

There is a place inside of me
a space deep down inside of me
where all my feelings hide.


Not Your All-American Girl Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338037760
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - July 7th, 2020

A multicultural story full of heart and hilarity about what it means to be all-American.


American as Paneer Pie Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534439382
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Aladdin - June 9th, 2020

An Indian American girl navigates prejudice in her small town and learns the power of her own voice in this brilliant gem of a middle grade novel full of humor and heart, perfect for fans of Front Desk and Amina’s Voice.

As the only Indian American kid in her small town, Lekha Divekar feels like she has two versions of herself: Home Lekha, who loves watching Bolly


You Don't Know Everything, Jilly P! (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545956253
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - May 5th, 2020


Alex Gino, the Lambda Literary Award-winning author of George, is back with another sensitive tale based on increasingly relevant social justice issues.


A Ceiling Made of Eggshells Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062878199
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 12th, 2020

In A Ceiling Made of Eggshells, Newbery Honor-winning author Gail Carson Levine tells a moving and ambitious story set during the expulsion of Jews from Spain, about a young Jewish girl full of heart who must play her own role in her people’s epic history—no matter the sacrifice.


Lulu the One and Only Cover Image
By Lynnette Mawhinney, Jennie Poh (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781433831591
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Magination Press - June 9th, 2020

Lulu loves her family, but people are always asking

What are you?

Lulu hates that question. Her brother inspires her to come up with a power phrase so she can easily express who she is, not what she is.


Three Keys (A Front Desk Novel) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338591385
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 15th, 2020

The story of Mia and her family and friends at the Calivista Motel continues in this powerful, hilarious, and resonant sequel to the award-winning novel Front Desk.

Mia Tang thinks she's going to have the best year ever.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs