Children - Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - Prejudice & Racism

More Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - Prejudice & Racism
The Proudest Blue: A Story of Hijab and Family Cover Image
By Ibtihaj Muhammad, Hatem Aly (Illustrator), S. K. Ali (With)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316519007
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 10th, 2019

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

A powerful, vibrantly illustrated story about the first day of school--and two sisters on one's first day of hijab--by Olympic medalist and social justice activist Ibtihaj Muhammad.


Staff Pick Badge
Ghost Boys Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316262262
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 10th, 2019

A heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a police officer, drawing connections through history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes.


Indian No More Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781620148396
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tu Books - September 24th, 2019

I Can Make This Promise Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062871992
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Quill Tree Books - October 1st, 2019

In her debut middle grade novel—inspired by her family’s history—Christine Day tells the story of a girl who uncovers her family’s secrets—and finds her own Native American identity.


Clean Getaway Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984892973
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present, perfect for Black History Month and for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds.

How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:


Child of Glass Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781592703036
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Enchanted Lion Books - December 3rd, 2019

A story about difference, exclusion, and ultimately self-acceptance, Child of Glass explores the interplay between inner and outer and the journey we have to go on to become ourselves.


Don't Tell the Nazis Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338310535
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scholastic Press - December 3rd, 2019

Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch (author of Making Bombs for Hitler) crafts a story of ultimate compassion and sacrifice based on true events during WWII.


Follow Chester!: A College Football Team Fights Racism and Makes History Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781580898355
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Charlesbridge - September 17th, 2019

A little known civil rights hero and college football MVP finally gets a voice in this fictional account detailing Chester Pierce's game-changing play as he became the first black college football player to compete south of the Mason-Dixon Line.


Wullows and the Wall Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9780578575872
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: I.G. Andrews - November 12th, 2019

This humanitarian children's book addresses inequality in ways young people can understand easily. It seeks to celebrate aspects of humanity that are shared across nations, races, ethnicities, and cultures.


Gaawin Gindaaswin Ndaawsii/I Am Not A Number Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781772600995
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Second Story Press - September 17th, 2019

Dual-language edition in Nishnaabemwin (Ojibwe) Nbisiing dialect and English. When eight-year-old Irene is removed from her First Nations family to live in a residential school, she is confused, frightened and terribly homesick.


Gaijin: American Prisoner of War Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781368054164
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 15th, 2019

San Francisco, 1941: America has just declared war on Japan.


The Rabbits' Rebellion Cover Image
By Ariel Dorfman, Chris Riddell (Illustrator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781609809379
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Triangle Square - January 14th, 2020

The story of a mean and narcissistic king, originally written in the 1970s is both uproariously funny and distressingly on point, will be enjoyed by children and their parents.

"Rabbits don't exist."


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs