Children - Arts & Recreation Books - Music | Northshire Bookstore

Children - Arts & Recreation Books - Music

King of Ragtime: The Story of Scott Joplin Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534410367
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - September 14th, 2021

A stunning, rhythmic picture book biography of African American composer Scott Joplin, whose ragtime music paved the way for jazz.

There was something special about Scott Joplin…
This quiet kid could make a piano laugh out loud.

Scott, the son of a man who had been enslaved,
became a king—the King of Ragtime.

This celebration of Scot


Playing at the Border: A Story of Yo-Yo Ma Cover Image
By Joanna Ho, Teresa Martinez (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062994547
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: HarperCollins - September 28th, 2021

The New York Times bestselling author of Eyes That Kiss in the Corners, Joanna Ho, delivers a poignant picture book biography about the musician Yo-Yo Ma, immigration, and using music to build bridges.


Sonny Rollins Plays the Bridge Cover Image
By Gary Golio, James Ransome (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984813664
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - October 19th, 2021

James Ransome's glorious art celebrates jazz icon Sonny Rollins and how he found an inspired spot to practice his saxophone when his neighbors complained.


Gizmos, Gadgets, and Guitars: The Story of Leo Fender Cover Image
By Michael Mahin, Steven Salerno (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250251862
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - September 7th, 2021

The picture book biography of ingenious American inventor Leo Fender, creator of the world’s most iconic Fender electric guitars. For readers who love Iggy Peck, Architect.


¡Mambo Mucho Mambo! The Dance That Crossed Color Lines Cover Image
By Dean Robbins, Eric Velasquez (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536206081
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Candlewick - November 23rd, 2021

New York City’s desegregated Palladium Ballroom springs to life with a diverse 1940s cast in this jazzy picture-book tribute to the history of mambo and Latin jazz.


Who Was David Bowie? (Who Was?) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9781524787561
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - November 9th, 2021

Find out how this English singer-songwriter and actor who constantly reinvented his look and sound became one of the most influential musicians of the twentieth century in this new book from the #1 New York Times bestselling series.


A History of Music for Children Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780500652473
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Thames & Hudson - September 21st, 2021

A global history of music for children, celebrating how and why we make music.


Baby Mozart: A Classical Music Sound Book (With 6 Magical Melodies) (Baby Classical Music Sound Books) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781953344304
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Little Genius Books - October 26th, 2021

The Classical Music Sound Book series introduces the youngest music lovers to famous composers with whimsical illustrations and 6 magical sound buttons to experience the joy of their music!

Babies and toddlers will love discovering the wonderful world of classical music with this series that features a sound button on every spread! 

A caterpillar plays Piano Sonata No.


The Science of Song: How and Why We Make Music Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781771387873
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Kids Can Press - September 7th, 2021

What is music? How is it made? And what's changed --- and what hasn't --- about how we listen to it?


She Raised Her Voice!: 50 Black Women Who Sang Their Way Into Music History Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780762475162
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Running Press Kids - December 28th, 2021

A fully illustrated middle-grade anthology celebrating Black women singers throughout history in a first-of-its-kind collection.

From jazz and blues, hip hop and R&B, pop, punk, and opera, Black women have made major contributions to the history and formation of musical genres for more than a century.


Rock Legends Who Changed the World Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781641705530
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Familius - October 26th, 2021

From the deep tones of the “King” of rock ’n’ roll, to the guitar solos of Jimi Hendrix, to the distinctive voice and poetic lyrics of Stevie Nicks, each of these rock stars upset the status quo, changing the genre forever.


The Rock Box!: A Who HQ Collection (Who Was?) Cover Image
By Who HQ
$59.90
ISBN: 9780593519370
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Workshop - November 2nd, 2021

A ten-book box set dedicated to some of the most famous rock-and-roll artists of all time, from the creators of the #1 New York Times Best-Selling Who Was? series.