Manchester Events

Northshire Live: Theo Padnos presents BLINDFOLD: A MEMOIR OF CAPTURE, TORTURE, and ENLIGHTENMENT

 

Join Northshire Bookstore to celebrate the publication of Woodstock, VT author and award-winning journalist Theo Padnos's revelatory memoir about war, human nature, and endurance Blindfold: A Memoir of Capture, Torture and Enlightenment, the searing, extraordinary account of being kidnapped and tortured in Syria by al Qaeda for two years. Joining us for this conversation is New Yorker staff writer and author John Seabrook.

Blindfold: A Memoir of Capture, Torture, and Enlightenment Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982120825
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scribner - February 16th, 2021

Event address: 
Live on Zoom - link available upon Eventbrite registration
Event date: 
Thursday, February 25, 2021 - 6:00pm

Northshire Live: Ali Benjamin presents THE SMASH-UP in a conversation with Steve Sheinkin

 

Join Northshire Bookstore to celebrate the publication of The Smash-Up, the debut adult novel from Northshire's longtime friend and staff favorite Ali Benjamin, author of the beloved award-winning children's novels The Thing About Jellyfish and The Next Great Paulie Fink. Ali Benjamin will discuss her new book with fellow author Steve Sheinkin.

Tickets Available Here!

Staff Pick Badge
The Smash-Up: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593229651
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Random House - February 23rd, 2021

Born to Fly: The First Women's Air Race Across America Cover Image
By Steve Sheinkin, Bijou Karman (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781626721302
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Roaring Brook Press - September 24th, 2019

Event address: 
Live on Zoom - link available upon Eventbrite registration
Event date: 
Tuesday, February 23, 2021 - 6:00pm

Northshire Live: Emily Layden presents ALL GIRLS in a conversation with Ellie Eaton author of THE DIVINES

 

Join Northshire Bookstore for the launch of the "riveting," "innovative" "striking debut" ALL GIRLS by Emily Layden in a wide-ranging literary conversation with Ellie Eaton author of THE DIVINES!

Emily Layden's All Girls is a keenly perceptive coming of age novel for fans of Sally Rooney, Curtis Sittenfeld, and J. Courtney Sullivan, that follows nine young women as they navigate their ambitions and fears at a prestigious New England prep school, all pitched against the backdrop of a scandal the administration wants silenced.

Staff Pick Badge
All Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250270894
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: St. Martin's Press - February 16th, 2021

The Divines: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063012196
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: William Morrow - January 19th, 2021

Event address: 
Live on Zoom - link available upon Eventbrite registration
Event date: 
Tuesday, February 16, 2021 - 6:00pm

Northshire Live: Ariel Lawhon Presents CODE NAME HÉLÈNE

 

We are thrilled to welcome to Northshire Live longtime friend of the bookstore, staff and customer favorite Ariel Lawhon to present the newest feat of historical fiction Code Name Hélène, based on the thrilling real-life store of socialite spy Nancy Wake, the astonishing woman who killed a Nazi with her bare hands and went on to become one of the most decorated women in WWII. She will discuss the book with fellow historical fiction author - and fellow Northshire staff favorite - Kim Van Alkemade.

Code Name Hélène: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525565499
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Anchor - February 2nd, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
Bachelor Girl: A Novel by the Author of Orphan #8 Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501173349
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Gallery Books - March 6th, 2018

Event address: 
Live on Zoom - link available upon Eventbrite registration
Event date: 
Wednesday, February 10, 2021 - 6:00pm

Publisher Rep Book Picks Night

 

Northshire Booksellers look forward all year to our visits with publishing sales representatives, as they tell us all about the best books from their lists. We’re bringing this visit virtual this year, and sharing it with you! These book professionals will share their favorite new books for adults and children - and help you find your next great read.

Event address: 
Event date: 
Tuesday, February 9, 2021 - 6:00pm

Northshire Live: Susan Conley Presents Landslide in a Conversation with Sarah Blake

 

Join us for the launch of Landslide a "spectacular" novel about a family on the brink from Susan Conley, the critically acclaimed author of Elsey Come Home. Joining us for this literary conversation is Northshire staff favorite Sarah Blake, author of The Guest Book.

Tickets Available through Eventbrite by Clicking Here!

Landslide: A novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525657132
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Knopf - February 2nd, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
The Guest Book: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250110275
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Flatiron Books - May 5th, 2020

Event address: 
Live on Zoom - link available upon Eventbrite registration
Event date: 
Thursday, February 4, 2021 - 6:00pm

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Manchester Events
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs