Children - Young Adult

I Think I Love You (Underlined Paperbacks) by Auriane Desombre - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
I Think I Love You (Underlined Paperbacks) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780593179765
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Underlined - March 2nd, 2021

A gay retelling of Much Ado About Nothing with a sprinkling of Emma. Need I say more? If so, there's also a film festival, gritty competition, manipulation and sabotage, and a cat named Lady Catulet. This enemies-to-lovers rom-com is so funny that I found myself laughing out loud every few pages, yet it's also a deeply-felt rumination on what falling in love really means - and whether it's worth the risk. I loved that this book gives grace to how scary it can be to have real feelings for someone as a teenager, especially if, like both main characters in the book, you come from a complicated family. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Lost in the Never Woods Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250313973
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Swoon Reads - March 23rd, 2021

Aiden does a wonderful job retelling his favorite childhood story, Peter Pan, in a way that can be enjoyed by anyone from preteen years to middle aged.The attention to detail and excellent use of intense mystery elements breathe new life into a classic tale. Like his first work, Cemetery Boys, Thomas also sprinkles in some mild horror in this reimagining. I strongly recommend this book to anyone looking for a fresh author with great potential ahead. ~ Reviewed by Jules Wagner


Firekeeper's Daughter by Angeline Boulley - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Firekeeper's Daughter Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250766564
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 16th, 2021

I am so excited about this book! Set in a contemporary Ojibwe Reservation on the northern border with Canada, this book is about living in many worlds and crossing all kinds of borders. A mystery within a novel that also deals with critical issues and cultural biases of acculturation and prejudice. Appropriate for young adult readers and written in the tradition of Louise Erdrich or Tommy Orange, this novel is an intricate, multi-faceted debut by Boulley (member of the Ojibwe tribe herself) that had me waking up in the middle of the night to read another chapter. ~ Reviewed by Maeve Noonan


Burn by Patrick Ness - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Burn Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062869494
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Quill Tree Books - June 2nd, 2020

A strange and twisting tale of yearning, struggle, and dragons. Set in the majestic Pacific Northwest during the height of Cold War paranoia, this alternate history tale blends historical fiction, fantasy, and sci-fi with surprising ease. This book is a must-read for all dragon lovers. ~ Reviewed by Claire Bennet


Of Wicked Blood by Olivia Wildenstein - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Of Wicked Blood Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781948463331
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Twig Publishing - March 2nd, 2021

By the 20% mark of this story, everything clicked together for me and I was totally hooked. It follows the main character, Slate, as he travels to the bizarre, magic-worshiping college town of Brume where he learns that he has long lost roots- and a good sum of inheritance. Slate's years in the system shaped him into a sassy-pants of a self-started and a hell of a big brother. So when he's called to Brume, he only has two plans in mind: get the money and loot the old man that knew he was alive and kept him in the system, anyway. Needless to say, Slate seals his own fate when he robs the wrong item from the family crypt and is plunged into a magical do-or-die scenario. Slate and his team must reinstate magic by putting all the pieces of the mythical Quatrefoil back together and face their elemental demons before Slate's time is up. I'm a sucker for a loudmouth, bad boy, antihero that ends up only hurting himself through his bad boy ways. This is the highly entertaining first book in the new "Quatrefoil Chronicles."
I definitely recommend this series to fans of upper YA, urban fantasy. ~ Reviewed by Mia Nassivera


The Electric Kingdom by David Arnold - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Electric Kingdom Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593202227
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - February 9th, 2021

In this masterful post-apocalyptic tale, a Fly Flu has decimated the human population, leaving only a few young stragglers alive. Connected in ways that stretch beyond mere survival, this eccentric cast of memorable characters try their best to find hope and love in a world gone dark and cold. ⁣ ⁣
I absolutely enjoyed this remarkable story, and the philosophical questions it raises about survival, love, grief, death, and moving on. A tear jerker, for sure, and a journey that’s wholly unforgettable! I highly recommend this gem! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children - Young Adult
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs