Travel Literature | Northshire Bookstore

Travel Literature

Gastro Obscura: A Food Adventurer's Guide (Atlas Obscura) by Cecily Wong - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Gastro Obscura: A Food Adventurer's Guide (Atlas Obscura) Cover Image
$42.50
ISBN: 9781523502196
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Workman Publishing Company - October 12th, 2021

My favorite coffee table/gift book of the year! With every entry sumptuously illustrated and enormously fascinating, Gastro Obscura is the ideal gift for anyone interested in the lunatic fringe of food the world-over. From jam-stuffed camel spleen to maggot pecorino, and from carved-lard sculptures to caribou fat ice cream, this is a book to savor. ~ Reviewed by Dafydd Wood


Clanlands: Whisky, Warfare, and a Scottish Adventure Like No Other by Sam Heughan - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Clanlands: Whisky, Warfare, and a Scottish Adventure Like No Other Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781529342000
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Quercus - November 3rd, 2020

“Clanlands” follows actors Sam Heughan and Graham McTavish as they explore Scotland’s culture, cuisine, warfare, and whisky fueled past. Perfect for fans of Outlander, the book is rich in details about castles, clans, wars, and even the infamous Lochness Monster. Filled also with amusing banter between both actors, I thoroughly enjoyed this nonfiction read and highly recommend it. Slàinte Mhath! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Parking the Moose: One American's Epic Quest to Uncover His Incredible Canadian Roots by Dave Hill - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Parking the Moose: One American's Epic Quest to Uncover His Incredible Canadian Roots Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780385690041
Availability: Special Order
Published: Doubleday Canada - October 8th, 2019

Hill is a hoot as he traces his marginal Canadian heritage in a series of North of the Border jaunts. There's loads of Canadian characters, cold Canadian weather, Canadian souvenirs, Canadian heavy metal, and that tasty Canadian delicacy: poutine. ~ Reviewed by Mike Hare


Lost Japan: Last Glimpse of Beautiful Japan by Alex Kerr - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Lost Japan: Last Glimpse of Beautiful Japan Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780141979748
Availability: Backordered
Published: Penguin - June 1st, 2016

This is absolutely a masterpiece. Alex Kerr is considered one of the premier Japanologists in the world today and it is easy to see why. Kerr frames each chapter around an important part of his life in Japan, and then expands to include history, cultural studies, and personal reflections of each subject. While lifting up and celebrating the myriad treasures of Japanese history, Kerr is not shy about lamenting the loss of the important cultural artifacts that is currently happening in the modern world. Lost Japan provides a deeper look at Japanese life than most American books cover, forsaking the oft-discussed big cities and salary-man culture in reverence of a more traditional, mindful way of living that is quickly evaporating. A must-read. ~ Reviewed by Chris Linendoll


A Geek in Japan: Discovering the Land of Manga, Anime, Zen, and the Tea Ceremony (Revised and Expanded with New Topics) by Hector Garcia - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Geek in Japan: Discovering the Land of Manga, Anime, Zen, and the Tea Ceremony (Revised and Expanded with New Topics) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9784805313916
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Tuttle Publishing - June 25th, 2019

A fun and casual look at the modern "geek culture" of Japan. Featuring plenty of photos, and easy to read passages, this is accessible to everyone who has ever wanted to visit. Every facet of geekdom is celebrated here, along with tips for travelers hoping to experience these wonders on their own. A perfect companion to more traditional travel guides. ~ Reviewed by Chris Linendoll


A Pilgrimage to Eternity: From Canterbury to Rome in Search of a Faith by Timothy Egan - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Pilgrimage to Eternity: From Canterbury to Rome in Search of a Faith Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735225237
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Viking - October 15th, 2019

Just as every wine has its own story, Timothy Egan realizes near the end of his historical travel log, A Pilgrimage to Eternity, every body has a tale to tell. Crossing Chaucer with Bunyan, Egan sojourns in search of those tales, progressing along the Via Francigena, from Canterbury to Rome, a spiritual journey along which he hears narratives on and about the men who have ruled Christian Europe for centuries, and the women whose ministrations have uplifted hearts with their faith. Yet even as the tales diminish his own religious beliefs, Egan remains hopeful the entire path that he will gain audience with Pope Francis in Vatican City, whose namesake saint's only performed miracles were acts of compassion and love, faith by which Egan is touched to the very soul of Christian lore. ~ Reviewed by Ray Marsocci


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Travel Literature