Travel Literature

The Hidden Ways: Scotland's Forgotten Roads by Alistair Moffat - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Hidden Ways: Scotland's Forgotten Roads By Alistair Moffat Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781786891037
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Canongate Books - July 6th, 2021

In Moffat's work, "Walking through History" takes on a very literal meaning. Here in the Hidden Ways Moffat takes the reader with him as though they are carried in the breast pocket of Moffat's coat through the different paths history has made through Scotland. Weather roads might be water, tarmac or just tracks you become engrossed and then enamored with Moffat's ability to track down ancient Picts, Roman Centurions, kings, playwrights and plow wrights among curlews and rain making poetry, nature and history a pleasurable blended read. This is my second Moffat and I look forward to a third. ~ Reviewed by Maeve Noonan


Riverman: An American Odyssey by Ben McGrath - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Riverman: An American Odyssey By Ben McGrath Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780451494009
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Knopf - April 5th, 2022

This is a fascinating and beautiful work of nonfiction. Dicky Conant spent twenty years solo canoeing long distances along America's rivers and canals, making indelible impressions on people he met along the way. Then, in 2014, he disappeared while en-route from Canada to Florida along the east coast. Journalist Ben McGrath uses Conant's journals to piece together the story of his unconventional, troubled, and beautiful life. I was riveted. ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


Gastro Obscura: A Food Adventurer's Guide (Atlas Obscura) by Cecily Wong - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Gastro Obscura: A Food Adventurer's Guide (Atlas Obscura) By Cecily Wong, Dylan Thuras, Atlas Obscura Cover Image
$42.50
ISBN: 9781523502196
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Workman Publishing Company - October 12th, 2021

My favorite coffee table/gift book of the year! With every entry sumptuously illustrated and enormously fascinating, Gastro Obscura is the ideal gift for anyone interested in the lunatic fringe of food the world-over. From jam-stuffed camel spleen to maggot pecorino, and from carved-lard sculptures to caribou fat ice cream, this is a book to savor. ~ Reviewed by Dafydd Wood


Clanlands: Whisky, Warfare, and a Scottish Adventure Like No Other by Sam Heughan - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Clanlands: Whisky, Warfare, and a Scottish Adventure Like No Other By Sam Heughan, Graham McTavish Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781529342000
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Quercus - November 3rd, 2020

“Clanlands” follows actors Sam Heughan and Graham McTavish as they explore Scotland’s culture, cuisine, warfare, and whisky fueled past. Perfect for fans of Outlander, the book is rich in details about castles, clans, wars, and even the infamous Lochness Monster. Filled also with amusing banter between both actors, I thoroughly enjoyed this nonfiction read and highly recommend it. Slàinte Mhath! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Lost Japan: Last Glimpse of Beautiful Japan by Alex Kerr - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Lost Japan: Last Glimpse of Beautiful Japan By Alex Kerr Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780141979748
Availability: Special Order
Published: Penguin - June 1st, 2016

This is absolutely a masterpiece. Alex Kerr is considered one of the premier Japanologists in the world today and it is easy to see why. Kerr frames each chapter around an important part of his life in Japan, and then expands to include history, cultural studies, and personal reflections of each subject. While lifting up and celebrating the myriad treasures of Japanese history, Kerr is not shy about lamenting the loss of the important cultural artifacts that is currently happening in the modern world. Lost Japan provides a deeper look at Japanese life than most American books cover, forsaking the oft-discussed big cities and salary-man culture in reverence of a more traditional, mindful way of living that is quickly evaporating. A must-read. ~ Reviewed by Chris Linendoll


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Travel Literature