Travel

Riverman: An American Odyssey by Ben McGrath - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Riverman: An American Odyssey Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780451494009
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Knopf - April 5th, 2022

This is a fascinating and beautiful work of nonfiction. Dicky Conant spent twenty years solo canoeing long distances along America's rivers and canals, making indelible impressions on people he met along the way. Then, in 2014, he disappeared while en-route from Canada to Florida along the east coast. Journalist Ben McGrath uses Conant's journals to piece together the story of his unconventional, troubled, and beautiful life. I was riveted. ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


Clanlands: Whisky, Warfare, and a Scottish Adventure Like No Other by Sam Heughan - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Clanlands: Whisky, Warfare, and a Scottish Adventure Like No Other Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781529342000
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Quercus - November 3rd, 2020

“Clanlands” follows actors Sam Heughan and Graham McTavish as they explore Scotland’s culture, cuisine, warfare, and whisky fueled past. Perfect for fans of Outlander, the book is rich in details about castles, clans, wars, and even the infamous Lochness Monster. Filled also with amusing banter between both actors, I thoroughly enjoyed this nonfiction read and highly recommend it. Slàinte Mhath! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Humans by Brandon Stanton - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Humans Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781250114297
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: St. Martin's Press - October 6th, 2020

The photographer who produced the blockbuster, Humans of New York, broadens his mission to a global scale. Images and stories from over forty countries create a rich and rewarding monograph to dip into when you need a little perspective. These simple pictures of average people, aka humans, from all over the world is a welcome and heartening reminder of what we all have in common. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


A Geek in Japan: Discovering the Land of Manga, Anime, Zen, and the Tea Ceremony (Revised and Expanded with New Topics) by Hector Garcia - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Geek in Japan: Discovering the Land of Manga, Anime, Zen, and the Tea Ceremony (Revised and Expanded with New Topics) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9784805313916
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Tuttle Publishing - June 25th, 2019

A fun and casual look at the modern "geek culture" of Japan. Featuring plenty of photos, and easy to read passages, this is accessible to everyone who has ever wanted to visit. Every facet of geekdom is celebrated here, along with tips for travelers hoping to experience these wonders on their own. A perfect companion to more traditional travel guides. ~ Reviewed by Chris Linendoll


A Pilgrimage to Eternity: From Canterbury to Rome in Search of a Faith by Timothy Egan - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Pilgrimage to Eternity: From Canterbury to Rome in Search of a Faith Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735225237
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Viking - October 15th, 2019

Just as every wine has its own story, Timothy Egan realizes near the end of his historical travel log, A Pilgrimage to Eternity, every body has a tale to tell. Crossing Chaucer with Bunyan, Egan sojourns in search of those tales, progressing along the Via Francigena, from Canterbury to Rome, a spiritual journey along which he hears narratives on and about the men who have ruled Christian Europe for centuries, and the women whose ministrations have uplifted hearts with their faith. Yet even as the tales diminish his own religious beliefs, Egan remains hopeful the entire path that he will gain audience with Pope Francis in Vatican City, whose namesake saint's only performed miracles were acts of compassion and love, faith by which Egan is touched to the very soul of Christian lore. ~ Reviewed by Ray Marsocci


Blue Highways: A Journey into America by William Least Heat-Moon - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Blue Highways: A Journey into America Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316353298
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Back Bay Books - October 19th, 1999

After losing his job and separating from his wife, Heat-Moon departs on an extended, meditative road trip around the United States in a van he’s named Ghost Dancing, an allusion to his Osage ancestry. Equipped with a bunk, a camping stove, and copies of Leaves of Grass and Black Elk Speaks, he vows to avoid cities and the traffic-jammed interstates, taking only backroads—the rural “blue highways” marked in his trusty Rand McNally. Memorable small town conversations and cultural histories pepper his journey. A deliberate, reflective travelogue. ~ Reviewed by Joe Michon-Huneau


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Travel