Travel

Steeple Chasing: Around Britain by Church by Peter Ross - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Steeple Chasing: Around Britain by Church By Peter Ross Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781472281920
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Headline - October 31st, 2023

There is such beauty and eloquence in this book that it may stop you for a moment just to reflect on a sentence or a paragraph, though it might be the often revelatory places themselves that stop you. This is a beautiful poetic treasury of sacred spaces that are well known and forgotten. In the chapter "Fen " the church of St. Agnes; up on the beams, high above the nave Angels hold the roof aloft and maybe the spirit too. Ross reveals these 6 ft tall wooden carved "Roof Angels '' (12th -14th century) wondering where their mythic origins come from and how they managed to survive not only the wrath of Henry VIII's Dissolution but Cromwell's Revolution. Ross finds solace, sustenance and mystery in not just the Churches across Britain but the people who sustain them. ~ Reviewed by Maeve Noonan


Steeple Chasing: Around Britain by Church by Peter Ross - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Steeple Chasing: Around Britain by Church By Peter Ross Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781472281920
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Headline - October 31st, 2023

An absolute delight of a book, written with such an evocative narrative charm. Ross takes us on a tour of architecture, folklore, history and the human experience through some of the country's most interesting churches. At a time when many are being abandoned, repurposed and often destroyed, Ross reminds us of the enormous wealth of history and beauty they can contain, and the special places they really are, having soaked up sometimes centuries of human focus, desire and intention. Whether religious or not, these are places worth saving, visiting and rejoicing in. Outstanding! ~ Reviewed by Becky Doherty


Landlines: The Remarkable Story of a Thousand-Mile Journey Across Britain by Raynor Winn - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Landlines: The Remarkable Story of a Thousand-Mile Journey Across Britain By Raynor Winn Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781639364930
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Pegasus Books - September 5th, 2023

A must read author for me, and she does not disappoint with her latest! Winn and her husband, Moth, set out on what they hope will be a healing walk for him, and somehow just keep going. They eventually walk an epic thousand miles down the island from Scotland to back home in Cornwall. We are brought along for the highs, the brutal lows, the spiritual nature of walking, and the often transformative effect it has on their reality. Believe me, it’s a journey you’ll want to experience. ~ Reviewed by Becky Doherty


Riverman: An American Odyssey by Ben McGrath - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Riverman: An American Odyssey By Ben McGrath Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780451494009
Availability: Special Order
Published: Knopf - April 5th, 2022

This is a fascinating and beautiful work of nonfiction. Dicky Conant spent twenty years solo canoeing long distances along America's rivers and canals, making indelible impressions on people he met along the way. Then, in 2014, he disappeared while en-route from Canada to Florida along the east coast. Journalist Ben McGrath uses Conant's journals to piece together the story of his unconventional, troubled, and beautiful life. I was riveted. ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


Clanlands: Whisky, Warfare, and a Scottish Adventure Like No Other by Sam Heughan - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Clanlands: Whisky, Warfare, and a Scottish Adventure Like No Other By Sam Heughan, Graham McTavish Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781529342000
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Quercus - November 3rd, 2020

“Clanlands” follows actors Sam Heughan and Graham McTavish as they explore Scotland’s culture, cuisine, warfare, and whisky fueled past. Perfect for fans of Outlander, the book is rich in details about castles, clans, wars, and even the infamous Lochness Monster. Filled also with amusing banter between both actors, I thoroughly enjoyed this nonfiction read and highly recommend it. Slàinte Mhath! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Humans by Brandon Stanton - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Humans By Brandon Stanton Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781250114297
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - October 6th, 2020

The photographer who produced the blockbuster, Humans of New York, broadens his mission to a global scale. Images and stories from over forty countries create a rich and rewarding monograph to dip into when you need a little perspective. These simple pictures of average people, aka humans, from all over the world is a welcome and heartening reminder of what we all have in common. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Travel