Romance

The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches by Sangu Mandanna - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593439357
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Berkley - August 23rd, 2022

This sweet gentle fantasy romance of found family and witchcraft is like a gentle hug. Mika Moon has lived alone almost her entire life - the fate of most witches like her. A mysterious DM leads her to a tutoring job, teaching magic to three orphaned witches - and clashing deliciously with their grumpy librarian guardian. ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


Nora Goes Off Script by Annabel Monaghan - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Nora Goes Off Script Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593420034
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - June 7th, 2022

Romance is a "hot" genre right now and the reason is simple: more and more, we all need some heartwarming stories these days. Nora is a "Romance Channel" writer with two kids, nursing the wounds of being left by her layabout husband. Until her latest, auto-biographical, script is arranged to be filmed on location in her backyard "Teahouse " and Hollywood heartthrob Leo stays over, begins to share the family's daily sunrise routine, and proceeds to win over the variously challenged hearts of Nora and the kids. Kind of too good to be true, right? But when Leo leaves to do a huge movie project and suddenly "ghosts" them all, how in the world will this one end up with a happy ending? There's only one way to find out. ~ Reviewed by Jon Fine


The Perfect Crimes of Marian Hayes: A Novel by Cat Sebastian - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Perfect Crimes of Marian Hayes: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063026254
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Avon - June 7th, 2022

Come for the cheerful blackmail, stay for the found family, the rescued cat and the completely delightful romance. Everything about this gleeful historical romance romp is a joyful silly delight - even the murder (of a dastardly Duke) that sets it all in motion. ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


You Made a Fool of Death with Your Beauty: A Novel by Akwaeke Emezi - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
You Made a Fool of Death with Your Beauty: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982188702
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Atria Books - May 24th, 2022

This was a vividly written tale of love and loss from one of contemporary fiction’s newest leading voices. Our story follows Feyi: a woman trying to find herself again after losing the love of her life in a tragic accident. After an impromptu hookup with a man she meets at a party, a series of unexpected and challenging events take place as Feyi rediscovers what it means to live, love, and hope in an often cruel and unjust world. ~ Reviewed by Madison Gallup


Acts of Service: A Novel by Lillian Fishman - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Acts of Service: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593243763
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Hogarth - May 3rd, 2022

Acts of Service is a novel that consists of layers upon layers and brings up uncomfortable questions about morality and desire. Eve is a young lesbian who finds solace in her queerness and sexuality. After posting a nude photo of herself online, she finds herself entangled within the complicated and often disturbing sexual dynamics of Olivia and Nathan. Fishman takes her readers on a journey like no other with her razor-sharp prose and multidimensional characters who will both infuriate and fascinate; the story is mostly unraveled through Eve’s complex and intellectually stimulating internal dialogue as she struggles with a familiar question: what if what we should want and do want, don’t add up? This is the perfect new release for readers of Sally Rooney and Ottessa Moshfegh- I loved it. ~ Reviewed by Madison Gallup


Book Lovers by Emily Henry - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Book Lovers Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593334836
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Berkley - May 3rd, 2022

Emily Henry once again has delivered a PEAK romance novel, overthrowing her two previous books to make Book Lovers my favorite of hers to date. A poke at go-to romance tropes, this novel perfectly balances making fun of the usual Hallmark plots and changing–more like leveling up–the tropes. We’ve got a steamy enemies-to-lovers workplace romance, a sprinkle of drama and comedy here and there, and lots of lots of book talk. Nora and Charlie were perfect couple goals, but the real love story is with Nora and her extroverted pregnant little sister, Libby. Wholesome, hilarious, wonderful, heart wrenching. Emily can do no wrong. ~ Reviewed by Kirstin Swartz


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Romance