Nature

Common Ground: Encounters with Nature at the Edges of Life by Rob Cowen - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Common Ground: Encounters with Nature at the Edges of Life Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780226424262
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of Chicago Press - November 2nd, 2016

“Our connection to the world is always two things at once: instinctive and augmented.”
An absolutely beautiful book, about the place between our cities and the wild, known as the edge-land. It’s a place mostly forgotten, but one if you choose to, will ease you back into the rhythms of nature, and bring you closer to the wildlife that walk through it everyday. A deeply personal, poetic book about the wild natural places that live beside us, there is no need to hike into wilderness’ or climb mountains to find what is right on our doorstep. ~ Reviewed by Becky Doherty


On Trails: An Exploration by Robert Moor - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
On Trails: An Exploration Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781476739236
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon & Schuster - July 4th, 2017

Are you as fascinated and intrigued as I am by intellectual journeys that are brave enough to explore connections across traditionally insulated intellectual domains of the arts and sciences? Moor takes us on a fascinating trans-disciplinary journey of physical and metaphorical "trails" that taken together help us reconcile and plumb the depths of our narrative, philosophical and scientific understandings of the world.

Recommended book pairing:
The Wander Society by Keri Smith (author of Wreck this Journal)
Art & Physics: Parallel Visions in Space, Time and Light by Leonard Shlain
~ Reviewed by Sam Baker


The Living Forest: A Visual Journey Into the Heart of the Woods by Robert Llewellyn - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Living Forest: A Visual Journey Into the Heart of the Woods Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781604697124
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Timber Press (OR) - October 4th, 2017

For readers of The Hidden Life of Trees, or simply people who love trees, an immersive journey into the life of the woods. Water, soil, animals, and every part of the tree are explored in readable scientific prose and extraordinary images. An eye-popping, mind-expanding gift. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


American Wolf: A True Story of Survival and Obsession in the West by Nate Blakeslee - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
American Wolf: A True Story of Survival and Obsession in the West Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781101902783
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - October 17th, 2017

This is the story of Yellowstone's most famous Wolf , number 832AF, or more affectionately known as "06" for the year she was born. Observed, tracked and photographed by novices and biologists alike, 06 was internationally revered for her majestic stature, merciful leadership, tender parenting and fierce hunting skill. Her legendary reign as the granddaughter of one of the first Canadian wolves brought to repopulate the park in 1995 is both fascinating and magical. Yet American Wolf is a much larger and critical story. It illuminates the inherent tensions of contemporary life in the American West and begs a number of important questions. What do we value? What are we willing to sacrifice to preserve our precious wild places? ~ Reviewed by Nancy Scheemaker


Landmarks by Robert MacFarlane - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Landmarks Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780241967874
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Penguin Books - August 2nd, 2016

This is a marvelous book about language and landscape and the love of place. Macfarlane investigates the history of names and nomenclature in the local vernacular and the loss of words being reflected in our era of digitization. This is one of the most important books I've red this year and sits on my shelf next to Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Kimmerer. Positively lyrical! ~ Reviewed by Maeve Noonan


Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Braiding Sweetgrass Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781571313560
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Milkweed Editions - September 1st, 2014

My favorite book of 2017! The beauty of this book is that it touches on so may things; Art, Poetry,History, Plant Biology; all told through personal stories & reflections within Kimmerer's very busy life. Someone told her she could not be a poet and a scientist thank goodness she did not listen! These essays are to be savored. I keep her at my bedside right next to Yeats. ~ Reviewed by Maeve Noonan


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Nature
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs