Nature

The Living Forest: A Visual Journey Into the Heart of the Woods by Robert Llewellyn - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Living Forest: A Visual Journey Into the Heart of the Woods Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781604697124
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Timber Press (OR) - October 4th, 2017

For readers of The Hidden Life of Trees, or simply people who love trees, an immersive journey into the life of the woods. Water, soil, animals, and every part of the tree are explored in readable scientific prose and extraordinary images. An eye-popping, mind-expanding gift. ~ Reviewed by Stan Hynds


American Wolf: A True Story of Survival and Obsession in the West by Nate Blakeslee - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
American Wolf: A True Story of Survival and Obsession in the West Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781101902783
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - October 17th, 2017

This is the story of Yellowstone's most famous Wolf , number 832AF, or more affectionately known as "06" for the year she was born. Observed, tracked and photographed by novices and biologists alike, 06 was internationally revered for her majestic stature, merciful leadership, tender parenting and fierce hunting skill. Her legendary reign as the granddaughter of one of the first Canadian wolves brought to repopulate the park in 1995 is both fascinating and magical. Yet American Wolf is a much larger and critical story. It illuminates the inherent tensions of contemporary life in the American West and begs a number of important questions. What do we value? What are we willing to sacrifice to preserve our precious wild places? ~ Reviewed by Nancy Scheemaker


Landmarks by Robert MacFarlane - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Landmarks Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780241967874
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Penguin Books - August 2nd, 2016

This is a marvelous book about language and landscape and the love of place. Macfarlane investigates the history of names and nomenclature in the local vernacular and the loss of words being reflected in our era of digitization. This is one of the most important books I've red this year and sits on my shelf next to Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Kimmerer. Positively lyrical! ~ Reviewed by Maeve Noonan


Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Braiding Sweetgrass Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781571313560
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Milkweed Editions - September 1st, 2014

My favorite book of 2017! The beauty of this book is that it touches on so may things; Art, Poetry,History, Plant Biology; all told through personal stories & reflections within Kimmerer's very busy life. Someone told her she could not be a poet and a scientist thank goodness she did not listen! These essays are to be savored. I keep her at my bedside right next to Yeats. ~ Reviewed by Maeve Noonan


Will's Red Coat: The Story of One Old Dog Who Chose to Live Again by Tom Ryan - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Will's Red Coat: The Story of One Old Dog Who Chose to Live Again Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062444981
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: William Morrow & Company - April 25th, 2017

A story about an old dog named Will and how one person chooses to give him a home where he could die with dignity only to have Will surprise everyone when he chooses to live again. This book is for anyone who has loved their dogs unconditionally and wanted to give them the dignity they deserve in old age. From one dog lover to another, this story grabs your heart. ~ Reviewed by Suzanne Rice


Gizelle's Bucket List: My Life with a Very Large Dog by Lauren Fern Watt - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Gizelle's Bucket List: My Life with a Very Large Dog Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781501123658
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 7th, 2017

Gizelle is the kind of dog we all want: interesting, loving, loyal. And she is a cherished member of the family. Gizelle and "Fernie" grow together and share such a connection that her subsequent illness inspired a bucket list. A tearjerker! ~ Reviewed by Shirley Cagle


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Nature
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs