Mystery

Every Vow You Break: A Novel by Peter Swanson - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Every Vow You Break: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062980038
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: William Morrow - March 23rd, 2021

A slow burn domesticated thriller about a newlywed couple embarking on their dream honeymoon, only for a man from wife Abigail’s past to crash their getaway. Every character, even Abigail, was flawed and complicated, making it difficult to pinpoint who was the true antagonist. I felt as though I was holding my breath nearly the entire book, only for the major plot twist to knock the air out of me in one, terrified gasp. The same claustrophobia Abigail felt on her honeymoon island consumed me, and yet, unlike her, I never wanted to leave. ~ Reviewed by Kirstin Swartz


Never Saw Me Coming by Vera Kurian - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Never Saw Me Coming Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780778311553
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Park Row - September 7th, 2021

Walk in the shoes of a psychopath this fall and pick up a copy of Never Saw Me Coming. This campus-set novel was full of psychological thrills, unreliable narrators and twisty plots; I never wanted to put the book down! The main antiheroine, Chloe Sevre--a diagnosed psychopath and social chameleon with vengeful intentions--was addicting to follow. I rooted for her and was terrified of her at the same time. Aside from Chloe, the other narrators in this book were thoroughly enjoyable. I couldn’t trust any of them, which was delightful for a hardcore mystery fan like myself. Highly recommend this debut for fans of Dexter or Jessica Jones. ~ Reviewed by Kirstin Swartz


Girl A: A Novel by Abigail Dean - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Girl A: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593295847
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Viking - February 2nd, 2021

Lex Gracie is Girl A, the eldest daughter that escaped her parents’ “House of Horrors,” in England in order to save herself and her siblings from abuse and starvation. Now a successful New York lawyer, Lex is made executor of her mother’s will after she dies in prison, and this forces her to confront her siblings, the home that held her captive, and the trauma she buried deep. Girl A is a stunning thriller that focuses on the effects of child abuse long after surviving it. Mentally prepare yourself, this is not a book for the faint of heart. ~ Reviewed by Kirstin Swartz


The Survivors: A Novel by Jane Harper - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Survivors: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250232427
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Flatiron Books - February 2nd, 2021

A gloomy murder mystery set on the shores of Evelyn Bay in Tasmania, narrated by new father Kieran as he comes to terms with his guilt, grief and realizations while a young woman is murdered on the beach--the same week he returns home for the first time in twelve years. You’ll be captivated by the mysteries of the present and past, told exquisitely through Harper’s writing. The atmospheric plot that will keep you guessing until the very end. ~ Reviewed by Kirstin Swartz


While Justice Sleeps by Stacey Abrams - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
While Justice Sleeps Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780385546577
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Doubleday Books - May 11th, 2021

Stacey Abrams has written a fabulously exciting legal thriller full of twists, turns, puzzles and suspense. A Supreme Court Justice lies in a coma and his law clerk finds herself with power of attorney over him - and a life-threatening mystery to solve. ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


The House on Vesper Sands by Paraic O'Donnell - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The House on Vesper Sands Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781951142247
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Tin House Books - January 12th, 2021

House on Vesper Sands gives nothing short of a champion's performance in Gothic storytelling.
Set in the seamy streets of 19th century London, a collective of eccentric investigators try to crack the mystery of a sinister string of deaths. This is a shimmering dark caper marked by hilarious banter creating an irresistible story of intrigue and a unique contrast between the dark and the light. Such fun! Such wit! Great style! ~ Reviewed by Nancy Scheemaker


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Mystery
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs