Mystery

The Sentence Is Death: A Novel by Anthony Horowitz - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Sentence Is Death: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062676832
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Harper - May 28th, 2019

Anthony is a busy man: a husband, father, and an author with deadlines on novels and hit TV scripts. But when PI Hawthorne appears on the scene, he can't resist - there's been a murder that might make a good book...
Anthony Horowitz is back with another funny, 4th wall breaking book. He's a great writer, and an even better main character, and I hope his (fictional) writing partnership with the rude ex-copper brings us many more mysteries! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Triumph of the Spider Monkey by Joyce Carol Oates - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Triumph of the Spider Monkey Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781785656774
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Hard Case Crime - July 16th, 2019

A crazed guitarist, lust for fame, a gleaming machete, threats, blood: the Spider Monkey spits out his life. His blade penetrates, twists, and turns, and survivors are left to wash away the stain. ~ Reviewed by Mike Hare


Keep You Close: A Novel by Karen Cleveland - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Keep You Close: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781524797058
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ballantine Books - May 28th, 2019

Just how well do you really know the person you live with? Single parent and FBI agent Steph Maddox thought she knew Zach, her 17-year old son, very well.
When she found a loaded handgun hidden in his closet on the same day one of her FBI colleagues from the Domestic Terrorism Squad came to her and said that Zach was under investigation, she started to wonder.
Determined to clear his name they find themselves in an intense conspiracy that could destroy both of them. ~ Reviewed by Suzanne Rice


Lives Laid Away (An August Snow Novel #2) by Stephen Mack Jones - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Lives Laid Away (An August Snow Novel #2) Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616959593
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Soho Crime - January 8th, 2019

In this first sequel to the rollicking August Snow Detroit’s favorite ex-cop, along with an assortment of friends and allies, comes to the aid of his beloved Mexicantown which is caught up in a human trafficking conspiracy. Add in hackers, military grade weapons, drugs, biker bars, hip-hop recording studios, both seedy and swanky nightclubs, and you have one wild ride to find answers and ultimately, justice. Fans of Chandler, Mosley or Hammett will love this new hero of the downtrodden. ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


I'm Thinking of Ending Things: A Book Club Recommendation! by Iain Reid - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
I'm Thinking of Ending Things: A Book Club Recommendation! Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781501126949
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - March 21st, 2017

A young woman travels with her new boyfriend to his parents' farm. It's in the middle of nowhere. It's the middle of winter. She wants to know him a little better. Because, if she likes him better, nothing has to end. ~ Reviewed by Mike Hare


The Escape Room: A Novel by Megan Goldin - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Escape Room: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250219657
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - July 30th, 2019

An absolutely addictive read. Welcome to the world of Wall Street finance where everything is think big, get rich, die trying. Ambitions are high, stakes are higher, and tensions are mounting as four coworkers all attend an obligatory escape room challenge. They think it's meant to be a team building exercise, but what happens when they find they're really trapped, and why does one of them have a gun? This story unravels like a perfect mystery and thriller combo to its readers. ~ Reviewed by Hanna Yost


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Mystery
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs