Mystery

Black Diamond Fall by Joseph Olshan - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Black Diamond Fall Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781947993341
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Polis Books - September 18th, 2018

A young man disappears after a hockey game with friends on a local pond. Police suspect fowl play while his friends, including an older man he has a secret relationship with, have other ideas. Beautifully written with interesting characters, most of whom are provocatively suspect. Set in Vermont. ~ Reviewed by Sarah Knight


An Elderly Lady Is Up to No Good by Helene Tursten - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
An Elderly Lady Is Up to No Good Cover Image
By Helene Tursten, Marlaine Delargy (Translated by)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781641290111
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Soho Crime - November 6th, 2018

I hope that I am as feisty, but perhaps not as murderous, as Maud when I am in my 80s! This marvelous collection of dark yet hysterically funny short stories by the famed Swedish crime author, are about a curmudgeonly senior and how she deals with the problems in her life. It is just what one needs to curl up with (along with a strong cup of tea) at bedtime. You will love it! ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


The Word Is Murder: A Novel by Anthony Horowitz - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Word Is Murder: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062676788
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harper - June 5th, 2018

I can’t speak highly enough, of this extremely unique addition to the mystery genre. Horowitz is a clever, clever author, who in this novel, has given us a wonderful curmudgeon of a detective, but also himself, not to mention a who-dunnit that will keep you guessing. Do yourself a favor, and read it now! ~ Reviewed by Becky Doherty


Hope Never Dies: An Obama Biden Mystery (Obama Biden Mysteries #1) by Andrew Shaffer - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Hope Never Dies: An Obama Biden Mystery (Obama Biden Mysteries #1) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781683690399
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Quirk Books - July 10th, 2018

The beloved dynamic duo of Barack Obama (code name: Renegade) and "Uncle" Joe Biden reunite to solve the mysterious murder of an Amtrak conductor. Along the way, they are swept into the dark underworld of the opioid epidemic, and must outwit assailants at every turn. And yes, there is even a car chase. You might think "can a book with such an outlandish premise be a work of art?". Yes, yes it can. ~ Reviewed by Olivia McNeely


Rescue by Christopher Dant - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Rescue Cover Image
$14.50
ISBN: 9781605714257
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Shirespress - June 28th, 2018

A thrilling, touching adventure that follows one remarkable dog's journey back to her beloved owner. War veteran Dirck Hansen suffers from severe PTSD and is on the verge of self-destruction when he meets Chauncey, a service dog who eases his anxiety and offers him the potential for healing. With Chauncey by his side, Dirck's life regains normalcy, but a fateful day at the park alters the course of their bond. As Dirck begins a desperate search for his lost dog, Chauncey sets out on her own adventure through New England wilderness and cold city streets. Beautifully written and powerfully told, this story speaks to the unshakeable, enduring bond between man and dog. Fans of The Call of the Wild and The Incredible Journey will love this book! ~ Reviewed by Cathy Taylor


Her Pretty Face by Robyn Harding - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Her Pretty Face Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501174247
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - July 10th, 2018

An awkward, overweight, guilt-ridden mom is befriended by a cultured, beautiful mom at their kids' tony school. Both moms have deadly secrets. As their friendship deepens, will their families escape their scarred histories? And, are the deadly instincts still there? ~ Reviewed by Mike Hare


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Mystery
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs