Mystery

Rescue by Christopher Dant - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Rescue Cover Image
$14.50
ISBN: 9781605714257
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Shirespress - June 28th, 2018

A thrilling, touching adventure that follows one remarkable dog's journey back to her beloved owner. War veteran Dirck Hansen suffers from severe PTSD and is on the verge of self-destruction when he meets Chauncey, a service dog who eases his anxiety and offers him the potential for healing. With Chauncey by his side, Dirck's life regains normalcy, but a fateful day at the park alters the course of their bond. As Dirck begins a desperate search for his lost dog, Chauncey sets out on her own adventure through New England wilderness and cold city streets. Beautifully written and powerfully told, this story speaks to the unshakeable, enduring bond between man and dog. Fans of The Call of the Wild and The Incredible Journey will love this book! ~ Reviewed by Cathy Taylor


Her Pretty Face by Robyn Harding - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Her Pretty Face Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501174247
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - July 10th, 2018

An awkward, overweight, guilt-ridden mom is befriended by a cultured, beautiful mom at their kids' tony school. Both moms have deadly secrets. As their friendship deepens, will their families escape their scarred histories? And, are the deadly instincts still there? ~ Reviewed by Mike Hare


Hope Never Dies: An Obama Biden Mystery by Andrew Shaffer - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Hope Never Dies: An Obama Biden Mystery Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781683690399
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Quirk Books - July 10th, 2018

Hope Never Dies starts with the protagonist lamenting not being in contact with his best friend of eight years, then that friend showing up one night, telling him that another of his good friends died under mysterious circumstances. They team up, try to patch their friendship while investigating, always asking questions and getting more questions than answers in return.

It just so happens that the protagonist is former Vice President Joe Biden, and his best friend is the Forty-Fourth President of the United States of America, Barack Obama.

Through his investigation, Joe reflects on the friends he’s fallen out of touch with, with the life he once led, and on his successes and failures over time. There’s serious reflection on dealing with grief and a close look at how America’s opioid epidemic impacts his home town. And at one point there’s Obama, recovering from a moment of doubt, looking at Biden with renewed determination and saying, “Yes we can.”

With plenty of references to the eight years they spent in office together and their time on the campaign trail before that, “Hope Never Dies” draws you in with the prospect of a madcap caper as Joe and Barack, amateur detectives, bumble their way around blue-collar America, but the meat of the book – estranged friendships, an ever-deepening web of seemingly-disconnected evidence, and a vibrant cast of characters – is what keeps you invested, from the first page to the last. Recommended reading for anyone wanting to spend just a few more hours with America’s favorite bromance. ~ Reviewed by Andrew Bugenis


The Collector's Apprentice by B. A. Shapiro - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Collector's Apprentice Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781616203580
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Algonquin Books - October 16th, 2018

Shapiro's new heroine Paulien/Vivienne is a wealthy sophisticate; confronted by her own naivete and its consequences as she braves the harsh realities of life outside her confined yet brilliantly-hued youth. Surrounded by the demigods and devils of the 1920's Paris Art Scene, this is Shapiro's most complex and satisfying novel yet. Rich & lusciously drawn, it is a story of the vivid, rapacious characters and canvases of artists like Matisse, Picasso and a milieu of collectors and con men that makes for a sensuous Prussian Blue mystery! ~ Reviewed by Maeve Noonan


I'm Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
I'm Thinking of Ending Things: A Book Club Recommendation! Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781501126949
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - March 21st, 2017

A young woman is certain that her relationship with an introverted scientist is destined for failure after meeting his parents at their isolated farm. During the trip back home, as a snowstorm increases in ferocity, she finds herself abandoned in a school where the sole occupant seems to be a tall, thin man who doesn't look at all friendly. This compact, cerebral thriller has a sly way of delving into the deepest of the reader's fears. ~ Reviewed by Alden Graves


Pieces of Her: A Novel by Karin Slaughter - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Pieces of Her: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062430274
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: William Morrow - August 21st, 2018

What if the person you thought you knew best turns out to be someone you never knew at all? The author explores this concept with the story of a mother and her adult daughter in the aftermath of a shooting, which sends the daughter into hiding and onto a search to discover her mother’s hidden past. Not only does she come to realize her mother is not what she seemed, but she in turn finds her true self. I have loved the author’s Will Trent and Grant County series, and her new stand-alone mystery does not disappoint! A great read. ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Mystery
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-9pm Fri-Sat 10am-10pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs