Children - MidChild

96 Miles by J. L. Esplin - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
96 Miles Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250192301
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Starscape - February 11th, 2020

Two brothers embark on a perilous journey across 96 miles of desert toward their only hope: the Ranch - a safe place - after a worldwide blackout leaves them homeless, and stripped of the survival stockpile their father once had set aside for them. Can the two squabbling brothers overcome their differences and survive? Or will it be the very thing that tears them apart?

Perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen's Hatchet, 96 Miles is a story of survival, adventure and the resilient, sometimes unstable bonds we share with the ones we hold most dear to us. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Song for a Whale by Lynne Kelly - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Song for a Whale Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524770235
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - February 5th, 2019

Iris, a young tech genius who happens to be the only deaf girl in her school, often feels lonely and unheard. When she's not buried arm deep in repairing old radios, she's struggling to find connections with the people around her... until she learns of Blue 55, a whale whose obstacles are similar to hers. Soon, Iris becomes obsessed with finding Blue 55, and will stop at nothing to make sure he "hears" her, and she "hears" him.
Heartwarming and inspiring, Song for a Whale is a moving story that will show you how one simple act can lead to something much bigger than anything you could have ever imagined. A purely enjoyable read! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Will Byers: Secret Files (Stranger Things) by Matthew J. Gilbert - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Will Byers: Secret Files (Stranger Things) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984894502
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 24th, 2019

Every Stranger Things fan needs this binder full of all sorts of fun memorabilia. Inside you will find photos, drawings, letters, and newspaper clippings, as well as notes written by Will. Sure to be a hit this holiday season. ~ Reviewed by Lori Stalcup


Look Both Ways: A Tale Told in Ten Blocks by Jason Reynolds - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Look Both Ways: A Tale Told in Ten Blocks Cover Image
By Jason Reynolds, Alexander Nabaum (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481438285
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - October 8th, 2019

Friends, foes, family, strangers, school buses, skateboards, bullies, and boogers. In his unique voice, Reynolds tells 10 different stories about what happens on the way home from school. With a brilliant balance of humor and gravity, this book tackles some pretty heavy topics with solid respect. ~ Reviewed by Linda Then


Words on Fire by Jennifer A. Nielsen - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Words on Fire Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338275476
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Scholastic Press - October 1st, 2019

Words on Fire is an exciting historical fiction journey full of adventure, friendship, and harrowing escapes. Set during the Russian occupation of Lithuania, this story tells the tale of preserving one’s culture and language. As character Lucas states, “...our weapons today are cleverness, and courage, and words.” These words can easily be applied in the 21st century. They show that passion for a cause can make an impact. ~ Reviewed by Wendy Marie


Chirp by Kate Messner - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Chirp Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547602810
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - February 4th, 2020

Mia and her parents move back to Vermont after several years living in Boston to help her grandmother with the family farm. Only this is not your typical farm. It is a cricket farm. And Mia’s parents think it is time for Grandmother to sell, especially after her recent stroke. But Mia is devastated to think anything is wrong with her beloved grandmother, but when odd coincidences start happening, Grandma thinks sabotage. Has she lost her mind or is there something afoot? Mia and her new friends start to sleuth about to find out who is responsible. Can Mia help her grandmother before it is too late? And can Mia be any real help when she is hiding her own secrets? (Ages 10 14, some mature themes, but handled respectfully and accessible to all readers.) ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children - MidChild
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs