Children - MidChild

Bloom (The Overthrow #1) by Kenneth Oppel - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Bloom (The Overthrow #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524773007
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - March 10th, 2020

It came in the rain...
Bloom is a fantastic, alien survival adventure series that is creepy, thrilling, and an instant favorite! This novel is packed full of action and adventure that’ll leave you dangling precariously from its deadly vines, eager for the next book in the trilogy. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Chirp by Kate Messner - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Chirp Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547602810
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - February 4th, 2020

An honest and powerful book that should be in every bookstore and school library. The parallels between the cricket farm and a woman's experience in this male dominated world were unexpected but worked for the story. Kate Messner does an excellent job of creating an engaging story, while also sharing words of wisdom that the intended audience (Middle-grade) can understand. ~ Reviewed by Cassidy Washburn


Chirp by Kate Messner - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Chirp Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547602810
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - February 4th, 2020

When Mia moves to VT, she's still mentally - and physically - recovering from a broken arm and a past she'd rather much forget. Bouncing between making new friends, convincing people to introduce crickets into their palates, and unraveling the mystery behind her grandmother's cricket farm sabotage, will Mia be able to overcome her fear, and muster enough courage to speak up?
A compelling story about friendship, family, and finding your voice, Chirp is full of heart, honesty and the courage to do what is right. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


96 Miles by J. L. Esplin - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
96 Miles Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250192301
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Starscape - February 11th, 2020

Two brothers embark on a perilous journey across 96 miles of desert toward their only hope: the Ranch - a safe place - after a worldwide blackout leaves them homeless, and stripped of the survival stockpile their father once had set aside for them. Can the two squabbling brothers overcome their differences and survive? Or will it be the very thing that tears them apart?

Perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen's Hatchet, 96 Miles is a story of survival, adventure and the resilient, sometimes unstable bonds we share with the ones we hold most dear to us. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Song for a Whale by Lynne Kelly - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Song for a Whale Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524770235
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - February 5th, 2019

Iris, a young tech genius who happens to be the only deaf girl in her school, often feels lonely and unheard. When she's not buried arm deep in repairing old radios, she's struggling to find connections with the people around her... until she learns of Blue 55, a whale whose obstacles are similar to hers. Soon, Iris becomes obsessed with finding Blue 55, and will stop at nothing to make sure he "hears" her, and she "hears" him.
Heartwarming and inspiring, Song for a Whale is a moving story that will show you how one simple act can lead to something much bigger than anything you could have ever imagined. A purely enjoyable read! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Will Byers: Secret Files (Stranger Things) by Matthew J. Gilbert - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Will Byers: Secret Files (Stranger Things) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984894502
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 24th, 2019

Every Stranger Things fan needs this binder full of all sorts of fun memorabilia. Inside you will find photos, drawings, letters, and newspaper clippings, as well as notes written by Will. Sure to be a hit this holiday season. ~ Reviewed by Lori Stalcup


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children - MidChild
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs