Children - MidChild | Northshire Bookstore

Children - MidChild

24 Hours in Nowhere by Dusti Bowling - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
24 Hours in Nowhere Cover Image
$7.95
ISBN: 9781454940166
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Sterling Children's Books - March 3rd, 2020

The meanest kid in Nowhere, Arizona steals Gus's friend's motorbike and won't give it back unless Gus brings him a piece of gold from Dead Frenchman's Mine. After all, it's common knowledge that there's treasure hidden there. The only problem? Every person who has gone into the mine to search for it has died trying. Armed with nothing but a couple of bologna sandwiches, Gus and his motley crew of friends must survive a cave-in, a gunshot wound, and an underground lake full of creepy skeletons and somehow even creepier shrimp on their quest to find gold. I loved this survival-story-meets-mystery so much that I immediately devoured all of Bowling's other books. This one is the best of the bunch! Great for fans of Louis Sachar and Leslie Connor. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


A Whale of the Wild by Rosanne Parry - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Whale of the Wild Cover Image
By Rosanne Parry, Lindsay Moore (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062995926
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 1st, 2020

A sister and brother Orca whale gets separated from their pod, and must use what little knowledge they have of the outer ocean to find their way back home.
A wonderful companion to A Wolf Called Wander, this novel explores the important issues of not only family, but global warming, climate change, and the damaging effects it has on our environment and animals. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


The Ship We Built by Lexie Bean - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Ship We Built Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780525554837
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Dial Books - May 26th, 2020

Man, this one is a real heart-wringer. Fifth-grader Rowan (or maybe...Paul? Or Kevin?) is trying to navigate school after his popular-girl friend group ditches him. To make things even tougher, he's just starting to realize that he's a boy, even though everyone else sees him as a girl. This book is made up of the letters Rowan writes each week, ties to balloons, and releases in hope that they'll be read by someone more understanding than the people he's surrounded with. I love this book for Rowan's beautiful voice, the authentic 90's-childhood feel, the sadness that is intense yet so hopeful, the nice teacher we meet just when it matters most, the racial injustice awakening in a ten-year-old...all of it!! This is a great book to hand to the trans or questioning kid in your life, but any child will see themselves reflected in Rowan's friendship struggles and fears about not being ready to grow up. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


Caravan to the North: Misael's Long Walk by Jorge Argueta - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Caravan to the North: Misael's Long Walk Cover Image
By Jorge Argueta, Manuel Monroy (Illustrator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781773063294
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Groundwood Books - October 1st, 2019

An almost unbelievably sparse novel-in-verse. Misael and his family join a caravan of refugees traveling by foot, bus, train - anything - from El Salvador to the United States. The book has very few details about the journey itself, and instead focuses its plot on how the hopes and fears of the refugees evolve as they travel. An unusual book with a beautifully haunting ending. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


Efrén Divided by Ernesto Cisneros - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Efrén Divided Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062881687
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Quill Tree Books - March 31st, 2020

Efren already has enough on his plate, with two crazy younger siblings and a class president election in which he's torn between supporting his goofy best friend or a smart girl who might actually be right for the job. Then his world is upended when his mother is suddenly deported from their town in Southern California. Since his father is also undocumented, Efren must cross the border alone to bring his Ama the money she needs to pay coyotes to sneak her back into the States. This is a book of big choices: who to trust, what to risk, and whether to stand up for what's right. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


Fighting Words by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Fighting Words Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984815682
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Dial Books - August 11th, 2020

In the current wave of middle-grade books about childhood sexual assault, this book stands out in a big way. It doesn't just hint at the subject, but rather makes it the focus of the book, crafting its plotlines around acceptance, recovery, and defensive action. For those who may doubt that this is appropriate for a child reader, please remember that Bradley's bestselling Newbery Honor book, The War That Saved My Life, is intensely joyful despite its topics of childhood domestic violence and PTSD. Bradley is a master of taking care of her reader while introducing them to difficult subject matter and infusing a deep sense of hope within her books. Fighting Words is an empowering call to action and should be read by every child, girl or boy. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children - MidChild
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs