Children - MidChild

Anne of Green Gables (Puffin Classics) by L. M. Montgomery - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Anne of Green Gables (Puffin Classics) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780141321592
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Puffin Books - September 11th, 2008

Anne Shirley was never meant to be adopted by siblings Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert. But her imaginative nature, contagious energy, and fierce love for her new home at Green Gables impact the lives of those around her in ways they never thought possible. ~ Reviewed by Hannah Odasz


The Mouse and the Motorcycle (Ralph S. Mouse #1) by Beverly Cleary - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Mouse and the Motorcycle (Ralph S. Mouse #1) Cover Image
By Beverly Cleary, Jacqueline Rogers (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780380709243
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: HarperCollins - June 15th, 2021

An action-packed story about a unique mouse who leads no ordinary life, this book has been and will be loved for generations. Ralph is a mouse who longs for adventure in his life at the Mountain View Inn. When a boy named Keith arrives and brings a mini motorcycle, Ralph decides that he has to ride it. Hold on to your handlebars! Ralph is in for some wild adventures.


Da Vinci's Cat by Catherine Gilbert Murdock - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Da Vinci's Cat Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063015258
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 25th, 2021

An unmissable, un-put-downable historical fantasy that imagines what might have happened if Leonardo DaVinci had been successful in his attempt to make a time machine, and if that machine became a bridge between 16th-century Italy and modern-day Brooklyn. Two children, separated by hundreds of years, must use the machine to solve an art mystery. This book feels like a mash-up of From The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler and Time Cat. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


Neverforgotten by Alejandra Algorta - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Neverforgotten Cover Image
By Alejandra Algorta, Aida Salazar (Translated by), Iván Rickenmann (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781646140947
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Levine Querido - October 26th, 2021

Fabio has forgotten how to ride a bike - something his parents have told him is impossible, something body memory is supposed to prevent. No longer able to deliver bread for his mother, he begins spending time with his elderly neighbor, Alicia, who tallies for him the many lies - and precious few truths - of her life. Lyrical and rich with symbolism, this novel is bracketed with narrative illustrations that feel reminiscent of the technique Brian Selznick debuted in Hugo Cabret. Algorta does a terrific job of trusting her child readers with challenging, high-level craft. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


Dark Waters by Katherine Arden - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Dark Waters Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593109151
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - August 10th, 2021

The stakes have never been higher in this third installment of the Small Spaces quartet by Katherine Arden. Dark Waters takes us to a seemingly inescapable deserted island that’s haunted by ghosts and monsters. Can Ollie, Coco, Brian, and their new friend Phil figure out a way out of the Smiling Man’s next terrifying game? Or will they find themselves and their parents trapped there forever? ⁣⁣ ⁣⁣
Chilling and tense, this next read is sure to get your skin crawling as the dark game continues... until next time. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Keeper of the Lost Cities by Shannon Messenger - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Keeper of the Lost Cities Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781442445949
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Aladdin - August 6th, 2013

Keeper of the Lost Cities is the action packed first book in Shannon Messenger's middle grade series of the same name. It is set in a modern day world filled with hidden cities, has an awesome magic system and lovable characters. Readers of all ages will devour this book. Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter. ~ Reviewed by Cassidy Washburn


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children - MidChild